On this page is a selection of books on Psychology, both print and e-books. Books are a good source when you are looking for an introduction or overview of your topic.
You can find books and online book chapters on your topic by searching in the main search box on the VU Library homepage. Type in the title of the book or some words from the title. If your search results are not helpful, you might want to try searching with keywords.
# Watch this short video and find out how to get the most out of Library Search.
Use these to find the meaning of key terms in Psychology:
APA Concise Dictionary of Psychology by
An invaluable and reliable source, ""The APA Concise Dictionary of Psychology"" answers the needs of the ever-increasing number of thoughtful readers from all walks of life who are interested in the ways that psychological science and knowledge cast light on the issues of everyday living.This abridged version of the landmark, critically acclaimed ""APA Dictionary of Psychology"" maintains all the best features of the parent dictionary, including 10,000 entries offering clear and authoritative definitions - including many revised and updated from the parent dictionary; balanced coverage of over 90 subareas across the field of psychology - including clinical, experimental, neuropsychology, cognitive, personality, social, developmental, health, research methodology, and many others; and, thousands of incisive cross-references that deepen the user's understanding of related topics. This is a Quick Guide to Use that explains stylistic and formal features at a glance. It includes appendixes listing major figures in the history of psychology and psychological therapies and approaches.
A Dictionary of Psychology by
Including more than 11,000 definitions, this authoritative and up-to-date dictionary covers all branches of psychology. Clear, concise descriptions for each entry offer extensive coverage of key areas including cognition, sensation and perception, emotion and motivation, learning and skills,language, mental disorder, and research methods. The range of entries extends to related disciplines including psychoanalysis, psychiatry, the neurosciences, and statistics. Entries are extensively cross-referenced for ease of use, and cover word origins and derivations as well as definitions. Morethan 100 illustrations complement the text.This fourth edition has incorporated a large number of significant revisions and additions, many in response to the 2013 publication of the American Psychiatric Association's latest edition of Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, bringing the Dictionary fully up to date with themost recent literature of the subject.In addition to the alphabetical entries, the dictionary also includes appendices covering over 800 commonly used abbreviations and symbols, as well as a list of phobias and phobic stimuli, with definitions. Comprehensive and clearly written, this dictionary is an invaluable work of reference for students, lecturers, and the general reader with an interest in psychology.
Clinical Psychology by
Originally published in 1975, this book examines the various types of psychological disturbance, shows how they have come to be regarded as illnesses, and examines critically the notion of psychiatric diagnosis. It describes how clinical psychology has grown up within psychiatry to support a conceptual system antithetical to it. The author goes on to describe the theories and therapies that do not adhere particularly to the notion of mental illness. Today it can be enjoyed in its historical perspective.
Beyond the psychology industry: how else might we heal? by
Chapters focus on the role of cultural knowledge, including spiritual traditions, relational being, art, poetry, feminism and indigenous systems in promoting healing and on community-based-initiatives, including open dialogue, justice-based collaboration and social prescribing.
An Introduction to Contemporary Work Psychology by
This is the first comprehensive overview of work psychology, with coverage of classic models, current theories, and contemporary issues affecting the 21st-century worker. Examines the positive aspects of work-motivation, performance, creativity, and engagement--instead of focusing only on adverse effects Edited by leaders in the field with chapters written by a global team of experts from the US, UK, Europe, and Australia Discusses topics such as safety at work, technology, working times, work-family interaction, working in teams , recovery, job demands and job resources, and sickness absence Suitable for advanced courses focused on work psychology as a sub discipline of work and organizational psychology Didactic features include questions for discussion, boxes with practical applications, further reading sections, and a glossary
Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders - DSM-5 by
This new edition of Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM-5®), used by clinicians and researchers to diagnose and classify mental disorders, is the product of more than 10 years of effort by hundreds of international experts in all aspects of mental health. Their dedication and hard work have yielded an authoritative volume that defines and classifies mental disorders in order to improve diagnoses, treatment, and research. The criteria are concise and explicit, intended to facilitate an objective assessment of symptom presentations in a variety of clinical settings -- inpatient, outpatient, partial hospital, consultation-liaison, clinical, private practice, and primary care. New features and enhancements make DSM-5® easier to use across all settings: * The chapter organization reflects a lifespan approach, with disorders typically diagnosed in childhood (such as neurodevelopmental disorders) at the beginning of the manual, and those more typical of older adults (such as neurocognitive disorders) placed at the end. Also included are age-related factors specific to diagnosis. * The latest findings in neuroimaging and genetics have been integrated into each disorder along with gender and cultural considerations.* The revised organizational structure recognizes symptoms that span multiple diagnostic categories, providing new clinical insight in diagnosis. * Specific criteria have been streamlined, consolidated, or clarified to be consistent with clinical practice (including the consolidation of autism disorder, Asperger's syndrome, and pervasive developmental disorder into autism spectrum disorder; the streamlined classification of bipolar and depressive disorders; the restructuring of substance use disorders for consistency and clarity; and the enhanced specificity for major and mild neurocognitive disorders).* Dimensional assessments for research and validation of clinical results have been provided.* Both ICD-9-CM and ICD-10-CM codes are included for each disorder, and the organizational structure is consistent with the new ICD-11 in development. The Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, Fifth Edition, is the most comprehensive, current, and critical resource for clinical practice available to today's mental health clinicians and researchers of all orientations. The information contained in the manual is also valuable to other physicians and health professionals, including psychologists, counselors, nurses, and occupational and rehabilitation therapists, as well as social workers and forensic and legal specialists.
