# This video explains how to use the Test & Measures field in PsycINFO to find articles which used particular tests.
# Consider adding to your search terms the following assessment keywords: methodology, research, qualitative, quantitative, "social surveys" , questionnaires, interviewing, experiments, "experimental design": e.g., in the PsycINFO database a search strategy might include something like this: depression AND (assessment OR interview OR inventory OR measur* OR questionnaire OR rating OR scale OR survey OR test OR tool).
# Consider adding to your search terms the following assessment keywords: methodology, research, qualitative, quantitative, "social surveys" , questionnaires, interviewing, experiments, "experimental design": e.g. depression AND (assessment OR interview OR inventory OR measur* OR questionnaire OR rating OR scale OR survey OR test OR tool).
# Consider adding to your search terms the following assessment keywords: methodology, research, qualitative, quantitative, "social surveys" , questionnaires, interviewing, experiments, "experimental design": e.g. depression AND (assessment OR interview OR inventory OR measur* OR questionnaire OR rating OR scale OR survey OR test OR tool).
# Consider adding to your search terms the following assessment keywords: methodology, research, qualitative, quantitative, "social surveys" , questionnaires, interviewing, experiments, "experimental design": e.g. depression AND (assessment OR interview OR inventory OR measur* OR questionnaire OR rating OR scale OR survey OR test OR tool).
# Consider adding to your search terms the following assessment keywords: methodology, research, qualitative, quantitative, "social surveys" , questionnaires, interviewing, experiments, "experimental design": e.g. depression AND (assessment OR interview OR inventory OR measur* OR questionnaire OR rating OR scale OR survey OR test OR tool).
Psychometrics and Psychological Assessment by
Psychometrics and Psychological Assessment: Principles and Applications reports on contemporary perspectives and models on psychological assessment and their corresponding measures. It highlights topics relevant to clinical and neuropsychological domains, including cognitive abilities, adaptive behavior, temperament, and psychopathology.Moreover, the book examines a series of standard as well as novel methods and instruments, along with their psychometric properties, recent meta-analytic studies, and their cross-cultural applications. Discusses psychometric issues and empirical studies that speak to same Explores the family context in relation to children's behavioral outcomes Features major personality measures as well as their cross cultural variations Identifies the importance of coping and resilience in assessing personality and psychopathology Examines precursors of aggression and violence for prediction and prevention
Assessment in Counseling by
The latest edition of this perennial bestseller instructs and updates students and clinicians on the basic principles of psychological assessment and measurement, recent changes in assessment procedures, and the most widely used tests in counseling practice today. Dr. Danica Hays guides counselors in the appropriate selection, interpretation, and communication of assessment results. This edition covers more than 100 assessment instruments used to evaluate substance abuse and other mental health disorders, intelligence, academic aptitude and achievement, career and life planning, personal interests and values, assessment of personality, and interpersonal relationships. In addition, a new chapter on future trends in assessment discusses the changing cultural landscape, globalization, and technology. Perfect for introductory classes, this text provides students and instructors with practical tools such as bolded key terminology; chapter pretests, summaries, and review questions; self-development and reflection activities; class and field activities; diverse client case examples; practitioner perspectives illustrating assessment in action; and resources for further reading. PowerPoint slides, a test bank, a sample syllabus, and chapter outlines to facilitate teaching are available to instructors by request to ACA. *Requests for digital versions from the ACA can be found on wiley.com. *To request print copies, please visit the ACA website here. *Reproduction requests for material from books published by ACA should be directed to permissions@counseling.org
Handbook of Psychological Assessment by
Organized according to the sequence mental health professionals follow when conducting an assessment, Groth-Marnat's Handbook of Psychological Assessment, Sixth Edition covers principles of assessment, evaluation, referral, treatment planning, and report writing. Written in a practical, skills-based manner, the Sixth Edition provides guidance on the most efficient methods for selecting and administering tests, interpreting assessment data, how to integrate test scores and develop treatment plans as well as instruction on ways to write effective, client-oriented psychological reports. This text provides through coverage of the most commonly used assessment instruments including the Wechsler Intelligence Scales, Wechsler Memory Scales, Minnesota Multiphasic Personality Inventory, Personality Assessment Inventory, Millon Clinical Multiaxial Inventory, NEO Personality, Rorschach, Thematic Apperception Test, and brief assessment instruments for treatment planning, monitoring, and outcome assessment.
Handbook of Psychological Assessment by
The fourth edition of the Handbook of Psychological Assessment, provides scholarly overviews of the major areas of psychological assessment, including test development, psychometrics, technology of testing, and commonly used assessment measures. Psychological assessment is included for all ages, with new coverage encompassing ethnic minorities and the elderly. Assessment methodology discussed includes formal testing, interviewing, and observation of behavior. The handbook also discusses assessment of personality and behavior, including intelligence, aptitude, interest, achievement, personality and psychopathology. New coverage includes use of assessments in forensic applications. Encompasses test development, psychometrics, and assessment measures Covers assessment for all age groups Includes formal testing, interviews, and behavioral observation as testing measures Details assessments for intelligence, aptitude, achievement, personality, and psychopathology New coverage of assessments used in forensic psychology New coverage on assessments with ethnic minorities
Ultimate Psychometric Tests by
The use of psychometric tests in job selection procedures is more prominent than ever and for unprepared candidates they represent a considerable challenge that can get in the way of them successfully landing a new job. The best-selling Ultimate Psychometric Tests, now in its third edition, is the biggest book of its kind, containing over 1000 practice test questions of a multitude of different types of tests with accompanying answers and explanations. Also including an overview of which companies employ which tests, including L'Oreal, Sony, HMV, Toyota and IKEA among others, it has plenty of advice on how to get test-wise and seriously improve scoring. Providing sample questions from all the major types of test, including verbal reasoning, numerical reasoning, personality questionnaires, non-verbal and diagrammatic reasoning, new tests also now include spatial recognition and visual estimation, situational awareness tests as well as quantities and conversion tests. From the popular Ultimate series, this is the definitive guide to acing any type of psychometric testing you encounter as well as keeping your mind sharp and active.
The Wiley Handbook of Psychometric Testing by
A must-have resource for researchers, practitioners, and advanced students interested or involved in psychometric testing Over the past hundred years, psychometric testing has proved to be a valuable tool for measuring personality, mental ability, attitudes, and much more. The word 'psychometrics' can be translated as 'mental measurement'; however, the implication that psychometrics as a field is confined to psychology is highly misleading. Scientists and practitioners from virtually every conceivable discipline now use and analyze data collected from questionnaires, scales, and tests developed from psychometric principles, and the field is vibrant with new and useful methods and approaches. This handbook brings together contributions from leading psychometricians in a diverse array of fields around the globe. Each provides accessible and practical information about their specialist area in a three-step format covering historical and standard approaches, innovative issues and techniques, and practical guidance on how to apply the methods discussed. Throughout, real-world examples help to illustrate and clarify key aspects of the topics covered. The aim is to fill a gap for information about psychometric testing that is neither too basic nor too technical and specialized, and will enable researchers, practitioners, and graduate students to expand their knowledge and skills in the area. Provides comprehensive coverage of the field of psychometric testing, from designing a test through writing items to constructing and evaluating scales Takes a practical approach, addressing real issues faced by practitioners and researchers Provides basic and accessible mathematical and statistical foundations of all psychometric techniques discussed Provides example software code to help readers implement the analyses discussed
Encyclopedia of Psychological Assessment by
′once you let a clinical psychologist lay hands on this book, it is quite difficult to get it back again′ - Martin Guha, Librarian, Institute of Psychiatry, London The Encyclopedia of Psychological Assessment is a landmark reference work and constitutes a definitive resource for academics, practitioners and students working in any field of applied psychological science. Psychological assessment is a key component of psychological work. Devices of scientific assessment are necessary for adequate describing, diagnosis, predicting, explaining or changing the behaviour of all subjects under examination. This double-volume collection offers complete coverage to facilitate action in each of these areas and will consequently be invaluable to psychologists in any applied setting. The two volumes of the Encyclopedia of Psychological Assessment contain a series of 235 entries, organized alphabetically, and covering a variety of fields. Each entry includes a general conceptual and methodological overview, a section on relevant assessment devices, followed by links to related concepts in the Encyclopedia and a list of references. The Encyclopedia of Psychological Assessment provides: - A comprehensive network for psychological assessment as a conceptual and methodological discipline, and as a professional activity - An overview of the complexity of assessment, which involves not only testing, but also a process of decision-making for answering relevant questions that arise in the different applied fields - A presentation of relevant issues from basic theory (theoretical perspectives, ethics) and methodology (validity, reliability, item response theory) to technology and modes of assessment (tests, instruments and equipment for measuring behavioral operations) - An attempt to unify this diverse field by offering full coverage of all areas from the most traditional, such as clinical, educational and work and organizational psychology, to the most recent applications linked to health, gerontology, neuropsychology, psychophysiology and environmental assessment. The Encyclopedia of Psychological Assessment offers a truly international perspective, both in terms of the selected authors and chosen entries. It aims to provide an integrated view of assessment, bringing together knowledge dispersed throughout several methodological and applied fields, but united in terms of its relevance for assessment. It is an essential purchase for any library with an existing collection or concern with the field of psychological science in general.
Positive Psychological Assessment by
Offering a primer for practitioners and researchers, this volume strives to incorporate assessment of human strengths, resources and fulfilments into their work. Contributors examine the scientific underpinnings and practical application of measures of hope, optimism, self-efficacy, problem-solving, locus of control, creativity, wisdom, courage, positive emotion, self-esteem, love, emotional intelligence, empathy, attachment, forgiveness, humour, gratitiude, faith, morality, coping, well-being and quality of life.
# Use Library Search to find more books on the topic. Try keywords such as "psychological assessment*", " psychological test*", (test* AND psychol*), or (measur* AND educat* AND test*).
Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders - DSM-5 by Psychological Assessment Tools For Mental Health
Collection of free practical therapeutic materials and worksheets for therapists and other mental health workers.
American Psychiatric Association Online Assessment Measures Library
The APA offers “emerging measures” in Section III of the DSM–5 and online. Areas of coverage include disorder-specific measures, disability measures, personality inventories, development and home environment measures, and more.
Database of standardised tests and research instruments in education.
Registry of Scales and Measures: Psychological Tests, Scales, Questionnaires and Checklists
"Includes over 400 clinical scales assessing disorders, such as ADHD, Anxiety, Cognitive Difficulties, Eating Disorders, Gambling, Sleep, Sexual Functioning, Substance Abuse, Suicide and Self Harm, as well as quality of life and medication side effects".