Library Guides
- Library
- Library Guides
- Master of Counselling
- Books & eBooks
Below is a selection of books, print and e-books about the core of counselling skills and ideas or different approaches to an issue when working with specific clients.
If you are looking for books on particular therapy styles or techniques, check the content of the Therapeutic Approaches: Videos & Books tab of this guide.
Use these to find the meaning of key terms.
[For resources in this box; Right-Click to open content in a new tab/window]
The Counseling Dictionary by
This authoritative reference book by one of the most distinguished leaders in the profession features 4,000 commonly used terms and abbreviations in counseling. This exceptional resource also highlights the professional contributions of prominent counselors, both historical and contemporary, and includes a current chronology of the evolution of counseling. Frequent cross-referencing of terms enhances the reader's understanding of more complex principles.
The SAGE Dictionary of Social Research Methods by
Bringing together the work of over eighty leading academics and researchers worldwide to produce the definitive reference and research tool for the social sciences, The SAGE Dictionary of Social Research Methods contains more than 230 entries providing the widest coverage of the all the main terms in the research process. It encompasses philosophies of science, research paradigms and designs, specific aspects of data collection, practical issues to be addressed when carrying out research, and the role of research in terms of function and context. Each entry includes: - A concise definition of the concept - A description of distinctive features: historical and disciplinary backgrounds; key writers; applications - A critical and reflective evaluation of the concept under consideration - Cross references to associated concepts within the dictionary - A list of key readings Written in a lively style, The SAGE Dictionary of Social Research Methods is an essential study guide for students and first-time researchers. It is a primary source of reference for advanced study, a necessary supplement to established textbooks, and a state-of-the-art reference guide to the specialized language of research across the social sciences.
The ACA Encyclopedia of Counseling by
This counseling reference book is ideal for students, educators, supervisors, researchers, and practitioners seeking to quickly refresh their knowledge of the most important topics in counseling. More than 400 entries span the 2009 CACREP core areas used in counselor preparation, continuing education, and accreditation of counseling degree programs, making this a perfect text for introductory counseling classes or for use as a study guide when preparing for the National Counselor Exam.
The SAGE Encyclopedia of Abnormal and Clinical Psychology by
Abnormal and clinical psychology courses are offered in psychology programs at universities worldwide, but the most recent major encyclopedia on the topic was published many years ago. Although general psychology handbooks and encyclopedias include essays on abnormal and clinical psychology, such works do not provide students with an accessible reference for understanding the full scope of the field. The SAGE Encyclopedia of Abnormal and Clinical Psychology, a 7-volume, A-Z work (print and electronic formats), will be such an authoritative work. Its more than 1,400 entries will provide information on fundamental approaches and theories, various mental health disorders, assessment tools and psychotherapeutic interventions, and the social, legal, and cultural frameworks that have contributed to debates in abnormal and clinical psychology. Key features include: 1,400 signed articles contained in 7 volumes and available in choice of print and/or electronic formats Although organized A-to-Z, front matter includes a Reader's Guide grouping related entries thematically Back matter includes a Chronology, Resource Guide, Bibliography, and detailed Index Entries conclude with References/Further Readings and Cross-References to related entries The Index, Reader's Guide themes, and Cross-References between and among entries all combine to provide robust search-and-browse features in the electronic version.
The SAGE Encyclopedia of Marriage, Family, and Couples Counseling by
The SAGE Encyclopedia of Marriage, Family and Couples Counseling this authoritative Encyclopedia provides readers with a fully comprehensive and accessible reference to aid in understanding the full scope and diversity of theories, approaches and techniques and how they address various life events within the unique dynamics of families, couples and related interpersonal relationships. Key topics include: Assessment Communication Coping Diversity Interventions and Techniques Life Events/Transitions Sexuality Work/Life Issues. Key features include: More than 500 signed articles written by key figures in the field. Front matter includes a Reader's Guide that groups related entries thematically Back matter include a Chronology on the development of the field, a Resource Guide to key associations, websites, journals, and classic publications, a full Bibliography and a detailed Index. All entries conclude with References/Further Readings and Cross References to related entries to aid the reader in their research journey.
[For resources in this box; Right-Click to open content in a new tab/window]
Basic Personal Counselling : A Training Manual for Counsellors by
Basic Personal Counselling is an easy to read introduction to counselling that reflects current best practice. It teaches core interviewing skills and provides a framework of practical examples and training group exercises to enable students to progressively build a skill repertoire. The book is designed to prepare students for field placement and therefore has a strong vocational focus.• Introduces counselling skills in a logical sequence and provides practical examples of the skills in action• Discusses the process of change involved in counselling• Provides approaches for counselling people with specific problems such as anger, depression, grief, suicidal ideation• Discusses professional issues including confidentiality, ethics, record keeping
Counselling Skills for Social Workers by
This book provides a theoretically informed understanding of the core skills required to provide counselling interventions that work. It provides detailed discussion of three core skills which are identified as: talking and responding, listening and observing and thinking. Over 11 chapters these core skills are described in terms of what they mean, how they can be learned and developed, how they can be used and misused and, most importantly, how specific skills can be employed in a coherent and evidence-informed counselling approach. Loughran also looks in detail at the skills required to deliver interventions consistent with three approaches: Motivational Interviewing, Solution-Focused Work and Group work. Illustrative case examples and exercises offer further opportunities for reflection and exploration of self-awareness as well as for practising and enhancing skills development, thus making the book required reading for all social work students, professionals looking to develop their counselling skills and those working in the helping professions more generally. Terms such as social worker, therapist and counsellor will be included as they inform counselling skills in social work.
Innovating Counseling for Self- and Career Construction by
This book sets out to provide context for innovating counseling for self- and career construction. It gives readers insight into the theory underlying an innovative, integrative qualitative-quantitative approach to career counseling. Three key ideas recur throughout the book. First, the idea of not dispensing "advice" to people--instead, enabling them to advise themselves. Second, the idea of listening for instead of to peoples stories to help them choose and construct careers and themselves and shape their career identities. Third, the idea of helping people connect what they know about themselves consciously with what they are aware of subconsciously. The book confronts some of the main challenges posed by Work 4.0 on the workplace but also foreshadows the imminent advent of Work 5.0. It endeavors to promote career counselors ability to help people "thrive" at a time when many speculate that work itself is at risk, occupational contexts no longer "hold" workers in the way they used to, and the coronavirus pandemic is disrupting the workplace
The Skilled Helper by
THE SKILLED HELPER has taught thousands of students a proven, step-by-step counseling process that leads to increased confidence and competence. Internationally recognized for its successful approach to effective helping, the text emphasizes the collaborative nature of the therapist-client relationship and uses a practical, three-stage framework that drives client problem-managing and opportunity-developing action. This eleventh edition emphasizes the "power of basics," like decision-making skills, which are the key ingredients of successful therapy. You'll also gain a feeling for the complexity inherent in any helping relationship--but don't let that reality intimidate you. The authors show you how to adopt a helping process to the needs of your clients. You'll learn not just what you need to know and understand--but also what you need to DO to be an effective helper.
Theory and Practice of Counseling and Psychotherapy by
Incorporating the thinking, feeling, and behaving dimensions of human experience, the tenth edition of Corey's best-selling text helps you compare and contrast the therapeutic models expressed in counseling theories.
Corey introduces you to the major theories (psychoanalytic, Adlerian, existential, person-centered, Gestalt, reality, behavior, cognitive-behavior, family systems, feminist, postmodern, and integrative approaches) and demonstrates how each theory can be applied to two cases ('Stan' and 'Gwen'). He shows you how to apply theories in practice, and helps you learn to integrate the theories into an individualized counselling style.
Therapeutic Interviewing by
This newly updated introductory textbook is designed to help students of psychotherapy and counseling at all levels build the foundational strategies, skills, and tools essential for engaging clients in a therapeutic interview, developing a specialist understanding of the varying formats and diverse settings in which these interviews occur. In this second edition, Michael D. Reiter interweaves a new framework, the Issue Cycle, to help students build, from start to finish, a foundational template for engaging clients regardless of therapeutic model. With every chapter being revised, as well as including a new chapter on the ethical relationship that occurs in psychotherapy, the book begins with laying down the context of therapy, such as its definitions, motivations, and ethics, before moving on to developing students skills of therapy, including conversing, reflecting, goal-setting, terminating sessions, and how to avoid being an ineffective therapist. In Parts 3 and 4, chapters cover the contexts of clients and therapy, such as working with children, families, and groups, and includes a special revised focus on multicultural interviewing and effective online counseling. Including several interactive elements, such as case scenarios and application exercises, an instructor's manual with a sample syllabus, essay questions and more, students can uniquely see theory in action. Practical and accessible, this textbook shall be essential reading for students of psychotherapy and counseling, as well as training family therapists, social workers, and other mental health professionals who work directly with those dealing with psychological, behavioral, and emotional difficulties.
[For resources in this box; Right-Click to open content in a new tab/window]
Addressing Cultural Complexities in Practice : Assessment, Diagnosis, and Therapy by
Pamela Hays's ADDRESSING framework enables therapists to better recognize and understand cultural influences as a multidimensional combination of Age, Developmental and acquired Disabilities, Religion, Ethnicity, Socioeconomic status, Sexual orientation, Indigenous heritage, Native origin, and Gender. Unlike other books on therapy with diverse clients, which tend to focus on working with one particular ethnic group, Addressing Cultural Complexities in Practice presents a framework that can be used with a person of any cultural identity.
Counselling Adolescents by
Counselling adolescents examines various aspects of understanding adolescents including an extensive overview of adolescents as young persons and related theories. It includes definitions of counseling, proactive counseling and adolescent counseling. Provides the reader with insights into the development of understanding of counseling, so as to understand the adolescents mind, motivations, arguments, backgrounds and why some young individuals necessitate counseling.
Counselling Children by
The definitive guide to the skills and techniques used when working with children experiencing emotional problems, this book covers all you need to know about: The goals for counselling children and the child-counsellor relationship Practice frameworks for working effectively with children Play therapy and the use of different media and activities Building self-esteem and social skills through the use of worksheets. This fifth edition has been updated to include: A new chapter on technology; its influence on children and ways that technology can be used during counselling New content on issues of diversity and difference in counselling children The different contexts in which counselling children occur Discussion of concepts of wellbeing and resilience Updated references and research. The book is supported by a new companion website that provides training materials and handouts on a range of skills for counselling children including: helping the child to tell their story sand tray work, the use of miniature animals, the use of clay, and helping the child to change thoughts and behaviour. This highly practical guide is vital reading for counsellors, psychologists, social workers, occupational therapists, nurses and teachers working or training to work with children.
Counselling Skills for Working with Gender Diversity and Identity by
For any student or practitioner needing to gain a sound understanding of the complex fields of gender variance, gender identity and gender dysphoria, this book provides the ideal starting point for the knowledge and skills that you need. Emphasising the need for affirmative practice in gender care, it provides an overview of the subject areas and process issues which most commonly arise in counselling, combining theoretical with practical perspectives. It explores the diverse range of identities including masculinity, femininity, non-binary, gender dysphoria, trans and cisgender. It also addresses challenges which many clients experience in their daily lives - in the workplace, when coming out, when transitioning and in intimate relationships. The authors highlight the importance of education and reflection to enable good practice. They feature case studies, vignettes and reflective exercises throughout the text, making it a useful tool for professional development as well as suitable as a text for students.
Multicultural Responsiveness in Counselling and Psychology : Working with Australian Populations by
This textbook explores cultural responsiveness needed for working with diverse Australian communities in psychology and counselling settings, as well as in social science research. Key concepts essential for self-awareness and multicultural understanding are discussed in detail, encouraging readers to explore socialisation, discrimination and bias as well as effective principles for change. Topics covered include postcolonialism in relation to Indigenous Australians, racism, classism, sexism, cisgenderism and heterosexism, ageism, ableism, sizeism and religion. Over eleven chapters key concepts are discussed by experts in the field. Each topic covered includes a summary of relevant current affairs, followed by reflective essays from individuals sharing their own stories about their identities and experiences. Each chapter concludes with transformational learning activities to cultivate further insight, engagement and understanding of oppression and multicultural experiences.
Person-Centred Counselling for Trans and Gender Diverse People by
This book presents an approach that ensures psychological wellbeing and trust is built between counsellor and client. This person-centred, affirmative approach is based around unlearning assumptions about gender and destabilising professionals' ideas of 'knowing better' than, and judging the client, so that they can forge a relationship and connection that is on an equal footing. The book explores a range of topics such as the overlap of gender diversity and autism, sex and sexuality, intersectionality, unconscious bias and reflective practice.
A Practical Guide to Therapeutic Work with Asylum Seekers and Refugees by 
Stress, Trauma, and Posttraumatic Growth by
What happens in the trauma's aftermath? How do its effects manifest differently on the individual, family, and community-wide levels? Stress, Trauma, and Posttraumatic Growth: Social Context, Environment, and Identities explores the way traumatic events are defined, classified, and understood throughout the life cycle, placing special emphasis on the complex intersections of diverse affiliations and characteristics such as age, class, culture, disability, race and ethnicity, gender identity and expression, immigration status, political ideology, religion, sex, and sexual orientation. The book gives its readers a solid basis for understanding traumatic events and treating their effects and also shows the varied ways that trauma is conceptualized across cultures. Both new and seasoned clinicians will come away from Stress, Trauma, and Posttraumatic Growth with a deep understanding of the principles that guide successful trauma treatment.
Working With Kids Who Bully : New Perspectives on Prevention and Intervention by Below is a listing of a few e-books collections with content relevant to counselling. Many of the books in these collections will appear in search results when you search the Library Search, however, they may also be searched individually using the links provided. There are sometimes limits on the number of concurrent users for an eBook and often limits on how much you can print and copy. If you get a message saying the eBook is already in use, try accessing it later.
# See the E-books Guide for more information about reading, downloading and printing.