• Library Video Databases
• Multimedia on the Web

The Library subscribes to a number of streaming video databases with content related to particular aspects of counselling and psychology such as:

Academic Video Online (AVON) (from Alexander Street) covers the content on a wide range of topics on the best practice methods in the fields of counselling, mental health, and psychology.  Some of the many videos are presented in the following examples of collections.

[For resources listed below; Right-Click to open content in a new tab/window]

Counseling and Psychotherapy Transcripts, Client Narratives, and Reference Works (from Alexander Street)  is a searchable collection containing real transcripts of counselling and therapy sessions and first-person narratives illuminating the experience of mental illness and treatment. 

Counseling & Therapy (from Alexander Street) provides access to the latest research and best practice methods in the fields of counselling, mental health, and psychology through contemporary presentations, lectures, and workshops from renowned counsellors, psychologists, and practitioners.  Videos include counselling sessions and demonstrations, consultations, lectures, presentations, client narratives, and psychological experiments. Allows browsing by Titles, Disciplines, Therapists, Presenting Conditions, Therapeutic Approaches, Subjects, & Publishers

Kanopy is an online video streaming platform with popular and educational streaming videos. Films on Kanopy can be found by using search terms related to a topic, a film title or browsing by subject. 

Psychotherapy.net (from Kanopy) contains videos in the field of counselling, psychotherapy, addiction, and social work, and provides an opportunity to view real sessions and to hear leading experts discuss the thoughts behind their interventions. Videos also capture the critical non-verbal aspects of therapy, including body language, facial expression, tone of voice, and the rhythm of the therapist-client interaction.The collection is searchable by keyword, expert, therapeutic issue, and client population.

PsycTHERAPY "streaming video platform provides clinicians, counselors, instructors, and trainees the opportunity to sharpen their skills by observing candid, unscripted psychotherapy sessions featuring renowned therapists". Provides access to 600 videos covering 100 therapy approaches and over 245 topics.

Beck Institute for Cognitive Behavioral Therapy

Beck Institute is an international training and resource centre for health and mental health professionals, educators, and students (YouTube).

Counselling Channel

The Counselling Channel (YouTube) produces videos about self-help, counselling, psychotherapy and a range of other talking therapies. Sponsored by CPCAB.

The Counselling Tutor

The Counselling Tutor (YouTube) channel is dedicated to providing additional study support for learners undertaking counselling courses, qualified counsellors or anyone who has an interest in counselling theory and personal development.

Counseling and Psychotherapy Demonstration Videos

Professional website of DR.Joseph H. Hammer, an associate professor of counselling psychology at the University of Kentucky. Provides access to "a list of links to videos of a variety of mental health professionals using various theories and techniques to help clients with an array of presenting concerns and mental illnesses".

Psychotherapy.net

PsychotherapyNet offers a library of over 300 training videos featuring the leading practitioners of our field (YouTube).

Clips for Class Psych Collection

Video collections of various topics in psychology.

TED Talks - Psychology

TED talks on various topics related to psychology.

Google Videos

Search the video content freely available.