Library Guides: International and Community Development: Databases & Journals

This page has lists of Databases and Journals organised in the subject areas of Community Development and International Development.

Databases

The list will be published soon.

Databases

Academic Search Elite	provides full text for over 4500 journals across all academic disciplines, useful for all social science topics
AGIS	provides 300 full text legal journals from Australia, New Zealand and the Asia-Pacific region dealing with legal issues in Australian society such as justice, mediation, refugees, and advocacy.
APA-FT	contains the fulltext of the top 200 Australian social science journals indexed in APAIS, the Australian Public Affairs Information Service.
Australia & New Zealand Newsstream	provides fulltext access to local, state & national Australian and New Zealand newspapers from the mid-1990s onwards.
Cambridge Journals Online
DOAJ	Directory of open access journals
Emerald Journals
Families & Society collection	content includes peer-reviewed journals from government and specialist associations tackling modern debates on topics including non-traditional families, parenting, marriage, divorce, division of labour, working mothers, birth rates and ageing.
HEIN online	An extensive collection of full-text Australian and overseas law journals
Humanities & social sciences collection	provides access to a range of Australian journals, books, reports, conference proceedings, research papers and reference materials. Covers sociology, counselling childcare, unemployment, family law, health, housing, and domestic violence.
International Monetary Fund
JSTOR Arts & Sciences Collection	provide full text back files of scholarly journals in the social sciences. Because of JSTOR's archival mission, there is a gap, typically from 1 to 5 years, between the most recently published journal issue and the content available in JSTOR.
Oxford Journals Online	Collection includes some of the world's most highly cited journals, in a broad range of subject disciplines, with enhanced searching, linking and alerting features, in all academic disciplines, including the sciences, humanities, and social sciences.
Proquest Central	Covers databases across all major subject areas, including Business, Health and Medical, Language and Literature, Social Sciences, Education, Science and Technology, as well as core titles in the Performing and Visual Arts, History, Religion, Philosophy, and includes thousands of full-text newspapers from around the world.
Taylor & Francis	covers the areas of science and technology, social sciences and humanities, and medicine.
Sage journals
ScienceDirect
Scopus
UNESCO
United Nations
World Development Indicators

Journals: Community Development

Journals: International Development

Related Databases

CINAHL - covers nursing, biomedicine, social work, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines.
CINCH – the Australian Criminology Database is a citation database that indexes and abstracts articles from published and unpublished material on all aspects of crime and criminal justice.
Contemporary Women's Isuues –covers topics ranging from domestic violence, employment and the workplace, gender and equity, family and reproductive health, and human rights.
Criminal Justice and Public Safety in Video - a collection of documentaries, training videos, and interviews illustrating the strategies, techniques, and experiences of professionals serving on the front lines of justice and public safety.
Filmakers Library - is a database of online documentaries and films. The subject coverage includes ethnic and gender studies, human rights, globalization and global studies, multiculturalism, international relations, criminal justice, the environment, bioethics, health, political science and current events, psychology, arts, literature, and more.
FloSse Research - is the Australian Government's Department of Families, Housing, Community Services and Indigenous Affairs (FaHCSIA's) Longitudinal Surveys Electronic (FLoSse) Research archive.
GreenFILE - indexes scholarly and general interest titles, as well as government documents and reports. This resource offers a unique perspective on the positive and negative ways humans affect the environment.
Health and Society in Video - explores medical progress in health and wellness issues and their impact on society, with hundreds of premium documentaries, profiles, reports, and interviews.
Health Collection - Informit's Health Collection (formerly called Meditext) is a full text online database which delivers cover-to-cover access to core content from the health sector in the Australasian region.
Historic Australian Newspapers 1803 - 1956 - great for researchers this database of digitized newspaper articles is provided by the National Library of Australia. It includes the Australian Womens Weekly until 1982.
Humanities International Complete - this database includes all data from the Humanities International Index (more than 2,100 journals and 2.47 million records) plus unique full text content, much of which is not found in other databases. Includes full text for more than 890 journals. Useful for the performing arts, religion, & philosophy.
Kanopy - is a hosting service for the online videos purchased by VU Library or created in-house at VU. These online videos can be found and accessed from the Library Catalogue but by searching the Kanopy link from the Library databases page you can browse by subject area what has been added by VU to Kanopy.
Literature & Culture Collection – a rich source of analysis of the fiction, poetry, cultural politics and the ideas that have helped define the unique Australian identity.
MEDLINE – is the world’s most comprehensive source of full text for health and medical journals.
NCJRS - the National Criminal Justice Reference Service Abstracts Database contains summaries of more than 150000 U.S. publications on criminal justice. Subject areas include corrections, courts, drugs and crime, law enforcement, juvenile justice, crime statistics, and victims of crime.
OECD iLibrary - is the online library of the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD) featuring its books, papers and statistics and is the gateway to OECD’s analysis and data. A great source of information for International & Community Development research.
Project MUSE - offers 250 full text, social science journal titles from 40 University Presses.
Religion and Philosophy Collection - is a comprehensive database covering such topics as world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy.
SAGE Research Methods Online (SRMO) - is a research methodology tool that contains over 600 books, dictionaries, encyclopedias and handbooks, including the entire "Little Green Book" and "Little Blue Book" SRMO also includes the ‘Methods Map’ feature to help you explore different methodologies.
Social Theory - this is an extensive selection of documents that explore the complexities and interpret the nature of social behaviour and organization. The current release features more than 122,000 pages.
Women and Social Movements International (WASI) - is a collection of primary documents including the writings of women activists, their personal letters and diaries, and conference proceedings.
World History in Video – is a wide-ranging collection of critically acclaimed documentaries that allow students and researchers to explore human history from the earliest civilizations to the late twentieth century.

Publisher-Based Databases

WILEY Online Library – A full-text database of science and social science journals.
Science Direct - provides full-text access to the last 4 years of all Elsevier journals.
Springer Link – a full text database providing access to Springer-Verlag titles. Includes Springer Reference Online.
Oxford University Press - includes almost 190 journals covering a broad range of subject disciplines.
SAGE Premier - SAGE publishes over 460 of the key research journals in the Humanities and Social Sciences.
Taylor & Francis Online - provides access to the full text of Social Sciences journals on this large publisher database. Includes Routledge, Curzon and Psychology Press journals.
OVID - Journals & eBooks - e-books on clinical practice and full text journals from Lippincott.
Oxford Reference Online – provides full-text access to 100 key dictionaries and reference works from Oxford University Press. Including the Oxford Dictionary of Sociology.