The Pride Centre, Melbourne - Housing major and important LGBTIQ+ resident orginisations, while also providing flexible and multi-use spaces, a health service, training room, meeting rooms, a reflection room, café/bar, theatrette and gallery for use by smaller groups.
Pride Disability services - Pride Disability Services are a safe space for all LGBTQI+ individuals living with disability to fully express who they are and be celebrated, connecting them with other like-minded individuals and support workers as well as the greater LGBTQI+ community as a whole.
Respect Victoria – LGBTIQA+ - Watch stories from Victorian families and find resources on becoming an ally for your LGBTIQ+ family members on our Communities of Respect page.
Rainbow Network - Established in 1998, Rainbow Network began as an intimate peer support group of workers who would meet to discuss the shared challenges they faced when working towards meeting the needs of LGBTIQ+ young people.
Switchboard – older LGBTIQA+ Victorians - Switchboard Victoria is a community based not for profit organisation that provides a peer driven, support service for the lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender and gender diverse, intersex, queer, asexual (LGBTIQA+) communities and their allies, friends, support workers and families.
Thorne Harbour - Thorne Harbour serves the health needs of lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, and intersex (LGBTI) communities to ensure all gender, sex, and sexually diverse individuals are treated with dignity and can participate fully in society.
Seahorse Victoria - Seahorse Victoria Inc was formed in 1975 as a support and social group for the Victorian transgender community and is the longest running organization of its type in Australia.
Australian pride network - The Australian Pride Network exists to promote Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender and Intersex (LGBTI) Pride on a national level, encouraging diverse communities in Australia to hold and attend pride events, whilst increasing promotional and networking opportunities among Australian pride organisations.
Health in difference - Health in Difference is Australia’s premier conference on the health and wellbeing of lesbian, gay, bisexual, trans, intersex, queer and sexuality, gender, and bodily diverse people and communities throughout Australia.
LGBTIQ+ Health Australia - LGBTIQ+ Health Australia is the national peak health organisation in Australia for organisations and individuals that provide health-related programs, services and research focused on lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender and intersex people (LGBTIQ+) and other sexuality, gender, and bodily diverse people and communities.
Rainbows in Schools - Rainbows in Schools is a volunteer run association of parents and teachers who want to see greater support and inclusion of LGBTQI students and families in Australian school communities. It was started by LGBTQI and ally parents, who were looking for ways to improve the way their children's schools were responding to the increased homophobia and transphobia that resulted from the marriage equality postal survey in 2017.
GALE – the Global Alliance for LGBT education - The GALE Foundation, based in the Netherlands, supports the Global Alliance for LGBT Education (GALE), a global platform of more than 600 trainers and educators. The main tenant of GALE is that all LGBTIQ+ have a Right to Education that fulfils their academic and social needs. One of the prime concerns of GALE to develop a framework to create awareness and visibility of the extent to which the is implemented for LGBTIQ+ people worldwide.
Zoe Belle Gender Collective - Zoe Belle Gender Collective (ZBGC) is a trans and gender diverse led advocacy organisation based in Victoria, Australia. ZBGC’s goal is to improve the health and wellbeing of trans and gender diverse (TGD) people through education, advocacy, and empowering communities.
ACON Pride in diversity - Pride in Diversity is the national not-for-profit employer support program for LGBTQ workplace inclusion specialising in HR, organisational change and workplace diversity. Pride in Diversity publishes the Australian Workplace Equality Index (AWEI), Australia’s national benchmarking instrument for LGBTQ workplace inclusion.
Safe Schools program - The Safe Schools program It is a program for principals, teachers and school communities. It helps schools foster a safe environment that is supportive and inclusive of LGBTI students, recognising that this is a key component to tackling bullying and harassment, and preventing suicide and self-harm.
Queer Archives - The Australian Queer Archives (AQuA) collects, preserves and celebrates material from the lives and experiences of lesbian, gay, bisexual, trans and gender diverse, intersex, queer, Brotherboy and Sistergirl (LGBTIQ+) Australians. Established in 1978, AQuA holds the pre-eminent research collection for LGBTIQ+ histories in Australia.
GLCS Twenty 10 Resource library - Twenty 10 is a Sydney based service, providing a broad range of specialised services for LGBTIQ+ young people in NSW, including housing, mental health, counselling and social support. Their online Resource Library contains articles, research, youtube clips, posters and other resources for a range of audiences.
Lesbian Herstory Archives - The Lesbian Herstory Archives is home to the world's largest collection of materials by and about lesbians and their communities. The Lesbian Herstory Archives exists to gather and preserve records of Lesbian lives and activities.
JOY FM radio station - JOY is Australia’s LGBTIQA+ community media organisation, with the purpose of building a more inclusive society. Growing from our inception as a Community Radio Station 3JOY in 1993, JOY now provides content across multiple platforms to enable the voices of our community to be accessible to people of all abilities and locations.
IDAHOBIT - On May 17, 1990, the World Health Organization removed homosexuality from the Classification of Diseases and Related Health Problems. International Day Against Homophobia, Biphobia, Interphobia & Transphobia (IDAHOBIT) celebrates LGBTQIA+ people globally, and raises awareness for the work still needed to combat discrimination.
Wear it Purple - Wear it Purple was founded in 2010 in response to global stories young rainbow people taking their own lives following bullying and harassment resulting from the lack of acceptance of their sexuality or gender identity. Taking place annually on the last Friday of August, Wear it Purple has developed into an international movement, an expression of support and acceptance towards rainbow young people.
Transgender Day of Visibility (TDOV) - International Transgender Day of Visibility (TDOV) is an annual event on the 31st March, dedicated to raising awareness of discrimination faced by transgender people worldwide, as well as a celebration of their contributions to society.
Transgender Day of Remembrance (TDOR) - Transgender Day of Remembrance (TDOR) is an annual observance on November 20 that honors the memory of the transgender people whose lives were lost in acts of anti-transgender violence.
Rainbow Book Month - Celebrated in June, Rainbow Book Month is a celebration of the authors and writings that reflect the lives and experiences of the lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, pansexual, genderqueer, queer, intersex, agender, and asexual communities.
International Lesbian Day is held on October 8, is a day for lesbians the world over to come together to celebrate lesbian history, diversity and culture. This day gives an opportunity for women, families and friends to connect, celebrate and raise awareness about the importance of community. The first Australian event was held at the Collingwood Town Hall in Melbourne on October 13, 1990.
Australian parades and festivals - A list of LGBTIQA+ parades and festivals around Australia, hosted on the Australian Pride Network.