Annotated Bibliography: Home

About this guide

This guide explains the purpose and process of writing annotated bibliographies, provides information on what constitutes an annotation and offers practical suggestions on how to write an annotation. 

The content of the guide was developed using the following resources:

American Psychological Association (2020). Publication manual of the American Psychological Association: The official guide to APA style (7th ed.). American Psychological Association.

King, J. (2010). How to write an annotated bibliography. Access, 24(4), 34-37. 

The Online Writing Lab (OWL) at Purdue University 

Learning Hubs

Learning Hubs: study advice & career guidance

Learning Hubs are welcoming, collaborative spaces where you can improve your study skills and receive career guidance.

Practical workshops and drop-in sessions are provided to all of our students, as well as after-hours online advice.

Use these links to:

What is an Annotated Bibliography?

An Annotated Bibliography is a list of sources on a particular topic. Sources may include books, journal articles, credible online documents and webpages. The usual format of an Annotated Bibliography is a citation presented in a specific referencing style followed by a concise annotation with information on the content, topic relevance, and quality of the cited source.

Related library guides

Referencing Style Guides: APA 7th ed., Harvard, Oxford, IEEE.

Evaluating Information: visit this guide for information on how to identify trustworthy and reliable sources for your bibliography.

Finding Resources: provides useful tips and advice on effective searching.

Literature Review: includes more information on how to find information and resources.

Research Consultation Request via Zoom

One-on-one librarian consultations are available Monday - Friday 10 am and 4 pm.

Email the Health & Biomedicine Librarians to book an appointment and please state your preferred time/day.

suzanne.poliness@vu.edu.au

iwona.janius@vu.edu.au

A librarian will reply with a confirmation of your appointment and a link to the Zoom meeting.

If you are unable to attend an appointment, please contact the librarian to reschedule your consultation session.

Contacts

Suzanne Poliness

College Librarian (Health and Biomedicine)

ph. 9919 8629

suzanne.poliness@vu.edu.au

 

Iwona Janius
Librarian (Health and Biomedicine)

ph. 9919 4229

iwona.janius@vu.edu.au

Ask the Library

Get help with accessing library resources

  • During HE semester
    • 9am-8pm (Mon-Thurs)
    • 9am-5pm (Fri)
    • 11am-3pm (Sat-Sun)
  • Outside of HE semester: 
    • 9am-5pm (Mon-Fri)
  • Chat is not available on public holidays or University closures.

Ask a library question