Library Guides
- Library
- Library Guides
- Bachelor of Nursing and Midwifery
- Books & eBooks
The Library collection includes both print and electronic books (e-books). Search for print books and e-books via Library Search. Print books can be requested from any campus of Victoria University Library.
The library provides access to electronic books (e-books) for VU students and staff. You can link through to these from the library website and read them online. You will also be able to download some books for a set time to read.
These e-books are accessed through different companies and each will have different restrictions about downloading and printing. Further information is available on the Library website and the Library's e-book guide
Smeltzer & Bare's textbook of medical-surgical nursing by 
Fundamentals of Nursing & Midwifery: A Person-Centred Approach to Care by 
Myles Textbook for Midwives by
Written by midwives for midwives, Myles Textbook for Midwives has been the seminal textbook of midwifery for over 60 years. It offers comprehensive coverage of topics fundamental to 21st midwifery practice. Co-edited for the second time, by internationally renowned midwife educationalists, Professor Jayne E Marshall and Maureen D Raynor from the United Kingdom with a team of contributors from across the midwifery community it retains its clear, accessible writing style. Most chapters provide useful case studies, websites of key organisations and charities for individuals to access further information. Reflective questions at the end of each chapter as well as annotated further reading aid reflective learning and stimulate discussions relating to continuing professional development. The book covers key frameworks that govern midwifery practice, exploring ethical and legal frameworks that are essential to every accountable, autonomous, professional midwife. Includes employer-led models of supervision, vital elements of leadership and clinical governance that supports the provision of high quality maternity services and standards of midwifery practice. The concept of resilience is introduced for the reader to contemplate their personal contribution in creating an environment that is conducive to protecting the wellbeing of themselves and colleagues within the workplace. The text covers the UN 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development, highlighting the importance of midwives as global citizens with common goals, and together they form a strong global community prepared to challenge social inequalities and take action to help end extreme poverty. Covers designing and implementing high quality midwifery care using evidence, policy and models of care. Highlights why a holistic and evidence-informed approach is necessary to achieve effective care for all. Working examples will help the reader to think critically about their own practice. For this edition several new chapters are introduced covering concealed pregnancy, fear of childbirth (tocophobia), care of the acutely unwell woman and end of life issues including rights of the fetus/neonate and ethical considerations.
Midwifery Preparation for Practice by
Now in its 5th edition Midwifery Preparation for Practice continues to present a global model of midwifery best practice that is supported by a range of examples from the Australian, New Zealand and international midwifery contexts. Endorsed by the Australian College of Midwives and the New Zealand College of Midwives the text continues to reinforce the established principles of midwifery philosophy and practice - that of midwives working in partnership with women, in woman-centred models or midwife-led care.
The Clinical Placement (2022)
