Library Guides: Bachelor of Nursing and Midwifery: Databases & journals

Journals and Databases Explained

You can search for journal articles on a topic via Library search or via Library databases. A Database is a search engine for journal articles. Key databases for searching psychology literature are listed on this page

The video below provides an introduction to scholarly and academic journals and explains the peer-review process.

Key nursing and midwifery databases

Academic Search Ultimate This scholarly collection offers access to journals from a broad range of areas including: nursing, midwifery, public health, social sciences, humanities, education, and medical sciences
CINAHL with Full Text CINAHL with Full Text is the key database for searching nursing literature.
Cochrane Library The Cochrane Library is a source of high quality systematic reviews published by the Cochrane Collaboration. Type your search terms in the advanced search box to retrieve Cochrane systematic reviews. A search of the Cochrane Library will also retrieve any RCT's available in the Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials.
Informit Health Collection Informit Health Collection is a full text online database which delivers cover-to-cover access to core content from the Australasia region. Content includes research articles, reports and case studies of practical support to anyone studying or working in therapeutic, diagnostic and preventative health roles. Many titles included in the Collection are unavailable elsewhere online, including journals dedicated to specialist and current topics of interest such as ageing and age care, child health and breastfeeding, indigenous health issues, mental health and rehabilitation.
Nursing & Allied Health Database (ProQuest) A key database for nursing and allied health literature
Medline via Ebscohost MEDLINE is the United States National Library of Medicine's (NLM) premier bibliographic database. Provides full text access to journal literature in nursing, medicine, public health and allied health disciplines.

Pharmacology databases

Mims Online Includes Drug Interactions This link opens in a new window MIMS Online is the web version of the MIMS pharmaceutical product information. It contains both abbreviated and full prescribing information, consumer medicine information and product images for pharmaceuticals available in Australia. MIMS Online is greatly enhanced from the paper edition by having full search capabilities on either a single value or across multiple or advanced search criteria. It also allows browsing of the product information by Therapeutic Class, Generic or Brand.
Stahl Online This link opens in a new window Stahl Online is a web-based service that features the full text and all the illustrations from the latest editions of Stahl’s Essential Psychopharmacology, The Prescriber’s Guide, Case Studies, Self-Assessment Examination, all the books from the Stahl’s Illustrated Series, and other books authored and co-authored by Dr Stahl, searchable across the same platform.

Using database subject headings (CINAHL)

The video below demonstrates how to use the database subject heading list in the CINAHL database to identify search terms and build a search strategy.

Google Scholar

Many VU library databases can also be searched through Google Scholar.

Fulltext journal articles and research papers can be retrieved by clicking on the "Find Fulltext @ VU Library" link when it appears to the right of your search results. This will happen automatically while on campus but may need to be set up as "Library Links" under Scholar Settings to work from off-site. This video provides information on how to change settings from within Google Scholar.

Alternatively use this direct link which includes the VU institutional settings.

How can you tell if a journal is peer reviewed?

UlrichsWeb is the authoritative source to go to if you want to find out if a journal is peer reviewed or not.
In UlrichsWeb, type in your journal title. Look at the 'Basic Description' for the journal. One of the categories in the 'Basic Description' is Refereed: Yes or No. In this context Refereed is the same as Peer Reviewed.

Click on 'UlrichsWeb' to search this database.

Library Guides

Bachelor of Nursing and Midwifery: Databases & journals