Clinical reasoning : learning to think like a nurse (ebook) by Levett-Jones, T

Evidence-based practice in nursing Evidence-based practice is central to safe, high-quality and effective nursing. However, learning how to critique evidence and apply it to practice can be challenging at first. Written in clear, student-friendly language, this book builds your understanding of the terminology, theory and practice of using evidence. Learn how to evaluate different sources of evidence, apply this to your clinical decision making and, ultimately, contribute to an evidence-based culture in your workplace

Ethics and Law for Australian Nurses by Kim Atkins; Bernhard Ripperger; Rebecca Ripperger Every day, registered nurses are required to act and make decisions based on their moral and legal obligations. They must build professional, culturally safe relationships with patients, understand patient rights and the requirements of consent, and prevent and manage clinical mistakes in order to avoid negligence and abuse of power. Now in its fifth edition, Ethics and Law for Australian Nurses guides students through foundational concepts such as personhood, autonomy, trust, consent and vulnerability, and considers a nurse's responsibilities in relation to voluntary assisted dying, abortions and advanced care directives. It explains the Australian legal system and how it relates to nursing practice. This edition discusses the impact of the COVID-19 pandemic, especially on elderly Australians, as well as on injury and negligence claims. It includes updated discussions on guardianship, assisted dying, abortion and 'not for resuscitation' orders.

The Clinical Placement by Tracy Levett-Jones, Kerry Reid-Searl The Clinical Placement will give you the knowledge, strategies, practical tips and insights you need to excel in your placements. It has a strong focus on both person-centred care, self-care, professional and personal responsibilities.

Research in nursing, midwifery & allied health : evidence for best practice by Marilyn Richardson-Tench, Patricia Nicholson

Fundamentals of Nursing and Midwifery Research : A Practical Guide for Evidence-based Practice This book presents a unique approach to teaching the principles of health research using practical case studies with which nurses and midwives can engage to gain the skills to read and understand reports, evaluate the quality of research, synthesise different studies and be able to evaluate their effectiveness when applied to clinical practice.The book covers core concepts and principles, including the following: What evidence is and why understanding research is vital Finding reliable sources of evidence The nature of the research process Understanding quantitative and qualitative research Ethical considerations Using research to guide clinical practice Throughout the book, activities, summaries and review questions help ground theory in real-life scenarios, showing how evidence-based practice can be applied in every aspect of nursing and midwifery care. It is designed for nurses and midwives, from those just beginning their studies to qualified practitioners undertaking their first research projects.

Patient and Person by Jane Stein-Parbury Patient and Person: Interpersonal Skills in Nursing offers guidance on the skills needed to interact with patients as people - an essential component of building an effective therapeutic relationship and providing quality care.. The book includes empathy, dealing with challenging behaviours, advocating for a patient and admitting a patient.

Midwifery Essentials by Joanne Gray; Rachel Smith Midwifery Essentials provides quick access to facts, formulas and checklists and highlights strategies that midwives can employ to support women throughout the pregnancy, labour and postnatal periods. Underpinned with the most recent evidence-based practice and research, the resource includes common tests and screening, resuscitation and life support guidelines, ISOBAR hand over checklist, common abbreviations and terms, drug calculations, and documentation guidelines.

Illustrated Dictionary of Midwifery by Joanne Gray; Rachel Smith; Caroline Homer Now in its third edition, the Illustrated Dictionary of Midwifery is an indispensable resource for midwifery students preparing for exams and midwives upskilling for practice. This highly trusted companion has been updated to ensure currency in practice guidelines, standards, policies, statistics and references.

Neonatal Care for Nurses and Midwives by Victoria Kain (Editor); Trudi Mannix (Editor) Written by neonatal nurses and midwives for nurses and midwives, the 2nd edition highlights the collaborative nature of neonatal care and the provision of individualised, developmentally and culturally appropriate, family-centred care. Spanning all neonatal care levels and considerations, across special care baby units (SCBU) and neonatal intensive care units (NICU), the text comprehensively addresses newborn screening, resuscitation, interdisciplinary teamwork, retrievals and transport; stabilisation of the high-risk newborn; legal and ethical issues; care of the normal newborn and end-of-life care in the neonatal unit.

Pharmacology for Health Professionals, 6e by Kathleen Knights; Andrew Rowland; Shaunagh Darroch; Mary Bushell This landmark text continues to be the one stop reference to pharmacology for Australian and New Zealand health science students. Chapters have been thoroughly updated and revised to include the latest information on the clinical use of drugs and their application to specific disciplines within the health professions is highlighted.

Myles Textbook for Midwives by Jayne E. Marshall (Editor); Maureen D. Raynor (Editor) Written by midwives for midwives, Myles Textbook for Midwives has been the seminal textbook of midwifery for over 60 years. It offers comprehensive coverage of topics fundamental to 21st midwifery practice. Co-edited for the second time, by internationally renowned midwife educationalists, Professor Jayne E Marshall and Maureen D Raynor from the United Kingdom with a team of contributors from across the midwifery community it retains its clear, accessible writing style. Most chapters provide useful case studies, websites of key organisations and charities for individuals to access further information. Reflective questions at the end of each chapter as well as annotated further reading aid reflective learning and stimulate discussions relating to continuing professional development. The book covers key frameworks that govern midwifery practice, exploring ethical and legal frameworks that are essential to every accountable, autonomous, professional midwife. Includes employer-led models of supervision, vital elements of leadership and clinical governance that supports the provision of high quality maternity services and standards of midwifery practice. The concept of resilience is introduced for the reader to contemplate their personal contribution in creating an environment that is conducive to protecting the wellbeing of themselves and colleagues within the workplace. The text covers the UN 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development, highlighting the importance of midwives as global citizens with common goals, and together they form a strong global community prepared to challenge social inequalities and take action to help end extreme poverty. Covers designing and implementing high quality midwifery care using evidence, policy and models of care. Highlights why a holistic and evidence-informed approach is necessary to achieve effective care for all. Working examples will help the reader to think critically about their own practice. For this edition several new chapters are introduced covering concealed pregnancy, fear of childbirth (tocophobia), care of the acutely unwell woman and end of life issues including rights of the fetus/neonate and ethical considerations.

Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples' health and wellbeing by Brett Biles and Jessica Biles.