What is a peer reviewed journal

A peer reviewed, or scholarly, or refereed journal article is one that is submitted for scrutiny by one's peers. Other experts (academics/researchers and the like) in the field will look at the article to ensure it is of high quality and has sound arguments, good references etc.and is fir to be published.

Sometimes the work may come back to the author for review, and on occasion it is rejected. This all takes months.

Your lecturer will often want you to find a certain number of 'peer reviewed' articles. Sometimes, the database advanced search page has an option to eliminate results that are not peer reviewed articles (such as trade magazines and news articles). Peer reviewed articles have a reference list at the end of the paper.
If unsure, ask your Business librarians lou.connell@vu.edu.au and john.tripotseris@vu.edu.au 

Journal Databases

Business Source Complete Search for journal articles for your assignments. There is a variety of information in there- from magazines, case studies, SWOT analysis to scholarly papers. If you want to limit to peer reviewed journals, you need to tick the box that says Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals.

Emerald Search for journal articles for your assignments in Emerald. Emerald is a collection of over 200 academic and professional journals in the areas of Management, Human Resource Management, Quality, Marketing, Operations and Production, Accounting & Finance, and Information Management, Information Management and Organisational Behaviour.

ScienceDirect This database has journal articles in the area of science, technology, medicine, the social sciences and business- Information management, marketing, accounting etc.

Taylor & Francis Social sciences journals including management, tourism, computer sciences, economics, logistics etc.

Sage Journals Another mutli-disciplinary journal database with many peer reviewed journals in various areas of Business studies.

Proquest One Academic  has 20 databases containing scholarly journals, books, videos & audio, dissertations & theses, newspapers and more to search from. ProQuest One Academic combines all four of ProQuest’s multidisciplinary products on the ProQuest platform (ProQuest Central, ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global, Academic Complete (ebooks), and Academic Video Online). You can limit our search to just academic journals.

Proquest Central  Covers databases across all major subject areas, including Business, Health and Medical, Language and Literature, Social Sciences, Education, Science and Technology, as well as core titles in the Performing and Visual Arts, History, Religion, Philosophy, and includes thousands of full-text newspapers from around the world. You can limit our search to just academic journals.

For further suggestions on databases to search go to the Help page and contact Lou or John.