E-books can be found through Library search and can be accessed 24 hours a day seven days a week.
E-books can be read entirely online, or downloaded to your PC or mobile device for a period of time. Most e-books enable you to search across the entire contents of the book. Once downloaded, an e-book can be viewed on your other devices. Simply link to the e-book through library search and login in with your ID and library PIN.
VU Library e-books have been purchased from a number of different companies so there is some difference between how e-books are borrowed, downloaded, printed, read off-line and transferred between devices.
Library e-books can often be borrowed and downloaded for a short period of time. Texts are usually read online only. Small sections can be printed due to copyright.
Here are some of the publishers who provide access to e-books through the VU Library. Each publisher has different ways of accessing their e-books and different loan periods. http://libraryguides.vu.edu.au/ebooksguide
Connect to the following database to access the eBooks
Or enter your title in the search box
O'Reilly Online features a curated library of technical books - including titles from Pearson, O’Reilly Media, and more. The contents are organized by the most popular subjects, from web development and mobile apps to entrepreneurship and UX/IA. The database also contains videos, as well as interactive tutorials, case studies, learning paths and audio books.
Gale Virtual Reference Library contains ebooks that are searchable by keyword. You can browse, view, download and email entries within the ebooks. Includes
Connect to: Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL)
OECD iLibrary provides access to statistical publications, reports and working papers produced by the OECD (Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development).
Connect to: OECD iLibrary 2005-2018
Alternate Name(s): Cambridge University Press Titles ;Cambridge Journals Archive;Cambridge Books Online
Cambridge University Press publishes a wide range of research monographs, academic reference, textbooks, books for professionals, and large numbers of books aimed at graduate students.
Titles are available 2018 – 2020 - ebooks and Elements Collections.