Databases with company information

Orbis (Bureau van Dijk) Orbis contains comprehensive information on companies worldwide ranging from large and small listed and unlisted companies. Use it to research individual companies, search for companies by profile and analyse companies. Listed companies normally contain more detailed information. Orbis has information on 130 million private companies. Orbis includes: Company financials in a standardised format, Financial strength indicators, Ratings, Options to create your own ratios and bring in your own data fields, Directors and contacts, Original filings/images, Stock data, Private equity data and portfolios, Patents, Detailed corporate and ownership structures, Industry research, Business and company-related news, and M&A deals and rumours.

How it helps you

• Search by hundreds of criteria
• Do a detailed financial analysis on a company
• Refer to original filings using our library of scanned images
• Illustrate financials with our easy-to create graphs
• Get a quick view of a company’s financial strength - we have financial models from a range of expert partners
• Watch companies using our flexible alert systems
• Look at a company’s corporate structure in a tree diagram and find all companies with the same parent
• Research beneficial ownership and use in client on-boarding/compliance projects - you can even edit to be compatible with your definition of beneficial ownership
• Create and analyse peer groups
• Access information on patents associated to companies
• Enrich your knowledge and internal data on companies - include financial data appropriate for credit analysis
• Customise your own reports
• The company reports are in a detailed standardised format
• Historical information going back 10 years

Business Source Complete provides industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, and SWOT analyses.

EIKON with Datastream

Growth and development data are economic indicators related to aggregate measures of output produced by a country. These include gross domestic product (GDP) and gross national product (GNP), either measured at level, growth, or per capital figures.

How to access Eikon with Datastream. The EIKON with Datastream database has been relocated to the Footscray Park Campus Library on PC SFPP226-31. This PC is only available to Eikon with Datastream users and not available to students/staff for other PC bookings. It is advisable you book the PC http://mypc.library.vu.edu.au/cire/login.aspx

Datastream's Office tools content and its charting capabilities are now integrated and accessible through Eikon Excel add-in. The Eikon Excel add-in function will enable you to to download mass amounts of data from Datastream into Excel. Microsoft Office integration will also enable you to create financial models, presentations and documents. Data and charts can be linked within Excel, PowerPoint or Word.
Instructions on how to access the Eikon with Datastream via Eikon Excel Add-In is provided next to the PC.

Eikon with Datastream is a database which provides access to company financial data, historical financial markets data and economic data worldwide. It will give you access to real-time market data, to conduct in-depth security analysis, monitor intraday portfolio returns, generate detailed portfolio performance and attribution reports, and access a comprehensive suite of industry-leading financial data sources. Eikon with Datastream will enable you to access in-depth time series data, often as far back as 65 years. The Eikon Excel Add-In function will enable you to take data from Datastream and generate data analytics and download capabilities into Excel, easy to use, pre-formatted charts, Tabular reports with flexible charting, dynamic delivery and updating through Excel, sophisticated analytics, function and user-created features.

Other VU Library databases that may provide you with the information you require:

Orbis Bureau van Dijk will provide you with detailed time series company information.

Business Source Complete will provide you with company information, company profiles, industry reports, financial data, country reports, market research reports, investment research reports and SWOT analysis.

Business Market Research Collection This database contains company, industry, economic and geopolitical market research from three sources, including Hoover's Company Profiles, OxResearch from Oxford Analystica, and Snapshots.

ASX Australian Securities Exchange will give you information on 52 week highs and lows, and other information and you can track your company over a short time period. Australian company Annual Reports are also available.

Yahoo Finance Australian finance news, stock quotes, company Financials, world indices, currency information and blogs.