Library Guides: Bachelor of Biomedical Science & Bachelor of Biomedicine: Databases & journals

Databases

A library database is an electronic collection of records containing either full-text documents such as text, video, or music, or citations and abstracts from reliable resources (academic journals, newspapers and magazines), and sometimes e-books, relevant web resources, and various multimedia.

Searching in general or subject-specific databases is often required to see a more comprehensive overview of resources on a chosen topic, in comparison to searching in the general Library Search.

Search the following databases to find relevant journal articles and other types of material relating to the Biomedical Sciences & Bachelor of Biomedicine topics.

Academic Search Elite This scholarly collection offers information in a broad range of areas including: social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies, and many more.
Biological Science Database (ProQuest) This interdisciplinary database offers abstracts and citations to a wide range of research in biomedicine and biotechnology.
BioMed Central BioMed Central contains open access, peer-reviewed, original research articles covering the fields of biology, biomedicine and medicine. Search for journal articles by keyword or click on Gateways to browse topics, including stem cells, systems biology and medicine.
Cochrane Library The Cochrane Library is one of the premier databases covering the area of evidence based medicine. Search the Cochrane database of Systematic Reviews or the Trials database to locate randomized controlled trials.
Health & Medical Collection (ProQuest) The database contains information from health care and biomedical journals and includes essential evidence-based content, multimedia and full-text dissertations.
Informit Health Collection Informit Health Collection is a full text online database which delivers cover-to-cover access to core content from the Australasia region. Content includes research articles, reports and case studies of practical support to anyone studying or working in therapeutic, diagnostic and preventative health roles. Many titles included in the Collection are unavailable elsewhere online, including journals dedicated to specialist and current topics of interest such as ageing and age care, child health and breastfeeding, indigenous health issues, mental health and rehabilitation.
MEDLINE with Full Text MEDLINE with Full Text is the world’s most comprehensive source of full text for medical journals, providing full text for nearly 1,200 journals indexed in MEDLINE. This wide-ranging file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the MEDLINE index - with no embargo. With full-text coverage dating back to 1965, MEDLINE with Full Text is the definitive research tool for medical literature.
ProQuest One Academic ProQuest One Academic combines all four of ProQuest’s multidisciplinary products on the ProQuest platform (ProQuest Central, ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global, Academic Complete (ebooks), and Academic Video Online).
PubMed PubMed, a service of the National Library of Medicine, includes over 19 million citations for biomedical articles back to the 1950's. These citations are from MEDLINE and additional life science journals. PubMed includes links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources.
ScienceDirect ScienceDirect contains many peer reviewed journals with full-text content. You can view, print and download full-text articles. This database coverage includes science, technology and medicine.

Search Tips

Identify the key concepts and major focus of your topic.

Look up the definitions of any unknown terms in a medical dictionary.

List alternative words that may be used for these concepts

Example:

HIV OR "human immunodeficiency virus" OR AIDS

Combine your search terms.

Type your search terms into Library Search or search Library databases listed on this page. For more search term examples, refer to the 'Finding Resources' page of this guide.

Use database filters to narrow your search to peer-reviewed journals or to a specific date.

Scan the results you retrieved for your search, and identify any alternative search terms for subsequent searches.

Key Medical & Biomedical Databases

PubMed
Includes citations for biomedical articles back to the 1950's.
MEDLINE with Full Text (via EBSCOHost)
Provides full-text for top-tier medical journals.
AccessEmergency Medicine
Provides quick diagnosis and treatment answers for a broad spectrum of complaints encountered in the ED, ranging from neurologic and pediatric emergencies to poisoning and trauma.
Trip
A free clinical search engine allowing users to quickly and easily find and use high-quality research evidence to support their practice.
Gale Nursing and Allied Health
Research in full-text peer-reviewed titles cited in CINAHL and other resources to support specialized care, treatment, and patient management.
Gale Psychology
Research in all fields of psychology— abnormal, biological, cognitive, comparative, developmental, personality, quantitative, social and all areas of applied psychology.
Gale Health and Wellness
Topics includes COVID-19, Diseases and Conditions, Drugs, Diagnostics and Tests, Therapies, Treatements and Surgeries, Mental Health, Community Health

Key Anatomy & Physiology Databases

Anatomy.TV (Primal Pictures)
Provides interactive 3-D models of human anatomy and physiology. as well as text, slides and video. Includes biomechanics animations.
Anatomedia
Anatomy of the human body from different perspectives: how the body is constructed (from regions and systems), and how the body is deconstructed (dissection and imaging techniques).
Gale Interactive Human Anatomy
Interactive research with 3D models suitable for independent learning and front of class teaching.
Thieme Teaching Assistant Anatomy
a state-of-the-art presentation tool featuring 2,000+ stunning illustrations and clinical images from Gilroy et al's Atlas of Anatomy
Perceptual Adaptive Learning Module (PALMS)
A self-guided adaptive learning and assessment resource to help learners efficiently master and retain anatomy.
Health & Medical Collection
Combines clinical research titles in ProQuest Medical Library with consumer and health administration titles.

Clinical Medicine Key Databases

AccessEmergency Medicine
Provides quick diagnosis and treatment answers for a broad spectrum of complaints encountered in the ED, ranging from neurologic and pediatric emergencies, to poisoning and trauma
CINAHL Complete
Provides full text and covers nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines.
Cochrane Library
A collection of evidence-based databases that provide high-quality, regularly updated, independent evidence to support decision-making in healthcare.
Health Collection
Includes research articles, reports and case studies of practical support to anyone studying or working in therapeutic, diagnostic and preventative health roles.
Gale Health and Medicine
Includes articles from a wide range of full-text nursing and allied health journals, magazines, newsletters and select consumer health information sources with full-text reference works and hundreds of health-related multimedia.

What are Scholarly or Academic Journals and Databases?

When an article is published in a peer-reviewed or refereed journal, this indicates that that article has been through a formal review process. The article has been read and reviewed by experts in the subject field before being accepted for publication. This ensures the information in the article is well-researched, and contributes to the knowledge of the subject area. Watch the video below for more information.

Searching the MEDLINE Database

This is a step by step video guide to searching for journal articles using MEDLINE with full text via Ebscohost.

Searching the PubMed Database

How can you tell if a journal is peer reviewed?

UlrichsWeb is the authoritative source to go to if you want to find out if a journal is peer reviewed or not.
In UlrichsWeb, type in your journal title. If the journal name has an icon like a little black and white striped referee shirt , the journal is peer reviewed.

Click on 'UlrichsWeb' to search this database.

Library Guides

Bachelor of Biomedical Science & Bachelor of Biomedicine: Databases & journals

On this Page