Library Guides
- Library
- Library Guides
- Master of Counselling
- Therapeutic Approaches: Videos & Books
Counseling and Psychotherapy Transcripts, Volume I provides access to searchable collections of transcripts from real counselling and therapy sessions, first-person narratives and reference books.
Counseling and Therapy in Video (from Alexander Street)
The database features demonstrations and counselling sessions with participants on the following therapeutic approaches:
[For resources listed below: Right-Click to open content in a new tab/window]
Psychotherapy.net (from Kanopy)
The database features demonstrations and counselling sessions with participants on a host of therapeutic topics. Videos are searchable by therapeutic approaches, therapeutic issues, expert therapists, population, and titles.
PsycTHERAPY "streaming video platform provides clinicians, counselors, instructors, and trainees the opportunity to sharpen their skills by observing candid, unscripted psychotherapy sessions featuring renowned therapists". Provides access to 600 videos covering 100 therapy approaches and over 245 topics.
[For resources in this box; Right-Click to open content in a new tab/window]
Core Approaches in Counselling and Psychotherapy by
Core Approaches in Counselling and Psychotherapy is a comprehensive guide to the four main psychological approaches (Humanistic, Psychodynamic, Behavioural and Cognitive) and introduces several of the most common therapies used today. This textbook contains sufficient coverage to explain all of the most important elements of these core approaches and sufficient depth to provide a detailed analysis of the ten main therapies: Person-Centred Therapy, Psychoanalytic Therapy, Behaviour Therapy, Cognitive Therapy, Gestalt Therapy, Transactional Analysis, Rational Emotive Behaviour Therapy, Cognitive-Behaviour Therapy, Multimodal Therapy and Neurolinguistic Programming. The book focuses on the development of each approach and presents the associated therapy in its historical and psychological context, giving a deeper insight into the theories and clarifying the overlap between different therapies. Presented in a unique style, with a clear layout, rigorous content and extensive resources available online, Core Approaches in Counselling and Psychotherapy is an invaluable asset for undergraduate and postgraduate students at all levels of study and is the ideal textbook for any degree or higher-level module in counselling.
Grief and Trauma in Children by
Grief and Trauma in Children provides easy-to-implement, ready-to-use therapy materials to help busy practitioners use grief and trauma interventions in real-world settings. All interventions in the book have been developed and researched with clinicians who faced challenging environments, including devastating natural disasters, and in communities where ongoing violence victimized children directly. Even in these stressful environments, clinicians found the interventions easy to implement, effective in helping children acquire coping skills, and effective in decreasing traumatic symptoms in order to proceed with grieving without impaired functioning. 　 Grief and Trauma in Children blends cognitive-behavioral therapy methods and narrative practices to present an integrated grief and trauma model that can be delivered individually, to a group of children, or to a family. The book uses the Draw, Discuss, Write, Witness (DDWW) method to help children explore narratives of resilience and build coping capacity, engage in restorative stories about what happened, and reconnect and reengage in meaningful ways that allow the child to enjoy life again and get back on-track developmentally. Grief and Trauma in Children also provides up-to-date research on childhood bereavement and trauma, a brief description of the theoretical framework of the Grief and Trauma Intervention (GTI) model, a description of session-by-session goals and activities, case examples with ways to address common challenges, and photocopiable tools for clinicians to easily implement the model, such as session agendas, fidelity checklists, handouts for parents, and activity sheets for children.
More Creative Coping Skills for Children by
This collection of fun and adaptable activities, games, stories and handouts is a complete resource for supporting children coping with stress and difficult emotions. From engaging arts and crafts, to interactive stories and relaxing meditations, all the interventions and activities are thematically structured so that each chapter contains the means for building specific skills or overcoming behavioral issues. Each chapter contains suggested goals, positive affirmations and photocopiable handouts to enable a child to continue practising and learning new life skills outside of sessions with parents or professionals. The activities in this book are ideal for use with children aged 3-12 to help them rebalance and gain a strong grasp on their emotions.
Six Key Approaches to Counselling and Therapy by
"A succinct, up-to-date account, which makes available the complexity of Jung's metapsychology to the interested reader." Ann Casement, Analytical Psychologist, Licensed Psychoanalyst"Clear, thorough and succinctly summarizes cognitive therapy's most important concepts and principles." Dr Judith Beck, President, Beck Institute for Cognitive Therapy and Research, PhiladelphiaProfessor Robert Wubbolding, Director, Center for Reality Therapy, Cincinnati, OhioThis updated and revised new edition of Six Key Approaches to Counselling and Therapy provides an accessible introduction to the theory and practice of six of the most popular contemporary therapeutic approaches from the three main schools of therapy practice: cognitive therapy and solution-focused therapy from the cognitive-behavioral schoolperson-centerd and Gestalt therapy from the humanistic schoolFreud's psychoanalysis and Jung's analytical therapy from the psychodynamic school.Following a clearly-defined structure, each chapter describes the origin of the therapeutic approach, a biography of its originator, its theory and practice, discusses case material and further developments, and suggests further reading. Richard Nelson-Jones goes on to review and evaluate all the approaches in his concluding chapter.This excellent textbook is a vital resource for students on introductory courses and those who are starting out on professional training.
Skills in Solution Focused Brief Counselling and Psychotherapy by
In recent years solution focused brief therapy (SFBT) has emerged as the therapy of choice for many health and social care professionals. Its simplicity and brevity means it is effective, economical and adaptable across many settings, and it also has a strong evidence base. As part of the bestselling SAGE Skills in Counselling & Psychotherapy series, this book is one of the first to focus specifically on SFBT skills and practice. Aimed at those new to the approach and as a refresher to those that have started using SFBT, it covers the key techniques and interventions. Structured step-by-step along the lines of an actual therapy session, the book can be dipped into or read cover-to-cover. It covers: - Assumptions, expectations and ways of working - The role of the Solution Focused Brief Therapist - The Miracle Question, scaling, tasks - Ending sessions and closures. Supported by; case studies, therapeutic dialogue, hints and tips, exercises and points for reflection, the book is an ideal companion for any counselling, health or social care trainee who plans to practice Solution Focused Brief Therapy in today's time-constrained settings. It will also be a valuable guide for those qualified in the caring professions and wishing to refresh the way that they work.
Solution-Focused Therapy with Children and Adolescents by
Solution-Focused Therapy with Children and Adolescents offers mental health professionals an integration of creative and playful approaches and solution-focused therapy. The author presents developmentally appropriate and expressive alternatives to oral communication including sandtray, writing, puppetry, drawing and coloring, photography, and music. The text presents an overview of strength-based and creative approaches with a focused examination of the philosophy and process of solution-focused therapy, then divides chapters into specific stages of therapy--beginnings, searching for treasure, setting goals, and ending the session--with creative techniques offered in each section. The final chapter addresses working with children and adolescents in solution-focused groups, including how to set up groups and progress through different group stages, presenting specific techniques and activities focused on each stage of the group process.
Theories of Psychotherapy and Counseling by
Comprehensive in scope yet succinct in its descriptions and explanations, THEORIES OF PSYCHOTHERAPY AND COUNSELING: CONCEPTS AND CASES, 6th Edition equips readers with a solid understanding of the systematic theories of psychotherapy and counseling. The book delivers a thorough explanation of concepts as well as insightful case summaries and therapist-client dialogues that illustrate techniques and treatment in practice. It demonstrates how theories can be applied to individual therapy or counseling for common psychological disorders-such as depression and generalized anxiety disorders-as well as how to apply them to group therapy.
Theory and Practice of Counseling and Psychotherapy by
Corey introduces you to the major theories (psychoanalytic, Adlerian, existential, person-centered, Gestalt, reality, behavior, cognitive-behavior, family systems, feminist, postmodern, and integrative approaches) and demonstrates how each theory can be applied to two cases ('Stan' and 'Gwen'). He shows you how to apply theories in practice, and helps you learn to integrate the theories into an individualized counselling style.
[For resources in this box; Right-Click to open content in a new tab/window]
Attachment Centered Play Therapy by
Attachment Centered Play Therapy offers clinicians a holistic, play-based approach to child and family therapy that is presented through the lens of attachment theory. Along the way, chapters explore the theoretical underpinnings of attachment theory to provide a foundational understanding of the theory while also supplying evidence-based interventions, practical strategies, and illuminative case studies. This informative new resource strives to combine theory and practice in a single intuitive model designed to maximize the child-parent relationship, repair attachment wounds, and address underlying symptoms of trauma.
The Creative Arts in Counseling by
This latest edition of The Creative Arts in Counseling is a powerful, evidence-based examination of how creative expression can be used in counseling with clients of various ages and backgrounds. It explores the clinical application of all of the major creative arts, including music, dance/movement, imagery, visual arts, writing/literature, drama, play and humor, and--new to this edition--animal-assisted therapy, therapeutic horticulture, and nature/wilderness experiences. The history, rationale, and theory behind each art form are discussed, in addition to its clinical benefits and uses in counseling settings. Each chapter contains a variety of practical exercises that clinicians, instructors, and students can incorporate immediately into their work, as well as "creative reflections" for personal and professional self-evaluation. The final chapter summarizes the 126 exercises that appear throughout the text so that readers can quickly access exercises that meet their needs. *Requests for digital versions from ACA can be found on www.wiley.com. *To purchase print copies, please visit the ACA website *Reproduction requests for material from books published by ACA should be directed to permissions@counseling.org
Creative Arts in Counseling and Mental Health by
Drawing on new paradigms and evidence-based discoveries in neuroscience, narrative psychology, and creativity theory, Creative Arts in Counseling and Mental Health by Philip Neilsen, Robert King, and Felicity Baker explores the beneficial role of expressive arts within a recovery perspective. A framework of practice principles for the visual arts, creative writing, music, drama, dance, and digital storytelling is addressed across a number of settings and populations, providing readers with an accessible overview of techniques taught in counseling programs in the U.S. and abroad.
The Handbook of Art Therapy and Digital Technology by
Interest in the use of digital technology in art therapy has grown significantly in recent years. This book provides an authoritative overview of the applications of digital art therapy with different client groups and considers the implications for practice. Alongside Cathy Malchiodi, the contributors review the pros and cons of introducing digital technology into art therapy, address the potential ethical and professional issues that can arise and give insight into the effect of digital technology on the brain. They cover a wide range of approaches, from therapeutic filmmaking to the use of tablet and smartphone technology in therapy. Detailed case studies bring the practicalities of using digital technology with children, adolescents and adults to life and the use of social media in art therapy practice, networking and community-building is also discussed.
Play Therapy with Children by
This book describes the nuts and bolts of play therapy and provides fifteen of the most popular materials and activities practitioners can use with children today.Play therapy has rapidly evolved into one of the most popular and effective models of child psychotherapy today. Play lets children express their thoughts and feelings through creative activity, and respond to their cognitive, emotional, and social developmental needs. Play modalities constitute the 'nuts and bolts' of play therapy practice. They are the basic materials and activities that clients engage in during play therapy treatments. This book offers 15 distinct modalities for play therapy. Some are classics in the field, including sand, block, and role play, while some are relatively new approaches such as electric game play and virtual reality play. It is important for child therapists to become competent in multiple modalities in order to tailor interventions to specific disorders, to combine modalities to strengthen an intervention, or to offer a child their preferred play model.
Techniques and Interventions for Play Therapy and Clinical Supervision by
The use of techniques and interventions for play therapy during the supervision process for graduate and post-graduate counselors provides a host of benefits for the counseling student, post-graduate intern, and supervisor. The counselor in training is able to experientially integrate theory with practice through the use of different modalities that provide reflection and insight into their work with clients. Additionally, the use of techniques and interventions for play therapy allows a secure and strong supervisory relationship, which allows the counselor in training to explore personal and professional goals; verbalize and conceptualize client issues, goals, and effective interventions; and develop counselor-client relationships that allow the client to progress during the therapeutic process. However, play therapy techniques and interventions are not often incorporated into the supervision process unless the clinician is a registered play therapist being supervised by a registered play therapist supervisor.
[For resources in this box; Right-Click to open content in a new tab/window]
Applied Cognitive Behavioral Therapy in Schools by
Cognitive behavioral therapy (CBT) is an evidence-based psychosocial intervention appropriate for a plethora of problems including anxiety, depression, and emotion dysregulation. School-based practitioners can alleviate some of these concerns in young people by applying CBT in school settings, but to do so successfully, CBT must be modified to accommodate busy academic schedules, to include both parents and teachers, and to align with academic or other accommodations. Applied Cognitive Behavioral Therapy in Schools is a textbook for students and guide for practitioners looking to apply CBT in school settings. In this text, the assembled authors unpack CBT's theoretical development and provide an overview of its research support and applications for children and adolescents. Essentials for all CBT practitioners, such as behavioral activation, cognitive restructuring, and exposure and response prevention are covered in detail. The book also highlights relevant laws and ethics codes and walks readers through basic therapy micro skills. Special attention is paid to culturally responsive mental health services and key skills like psychoeducation, relaxation training, and mindfulness. The book concludes with tips for incorporating technology to supplement therapy and enhance client engagement. Printable handouts for children and families, as well as therapist worksheets are included in addition to school-based case studies that illustrate CBT's flexibility. Applied Cognitive Behavioral Therapy in Schools is the go-to resource for students learning CBT, early career school-based practitioners and more seasoned professionals looking to draw more proactively on CBT skills in practice.
Cognitive Behavior Therapy in Counseling Practice by
This Cognitive Behavior Therapy text is brief, practical, comprehensive, and tailored just for counselors. Evidence-based CBT techniques are specifically adapted to counseling including core-counseling concepts such as social justice, strengths, wellness, and diversity (e.g., ethnicity, culture, sexual orientation, gender, disability) which are interwoven throughout the book's content. Each chapter includes case vignettes that reflect the work of professional counselors in school, clinical mental health, marital and family, and rehabilitation settings.
Mindfulness-Based Cognitive Therapy by
This book brings together a cutting-edge selection of the most current applications of mindfulness-based cognitive therapy (MBCT), giving clinicians as well as researchers a concise guide to current and future directions. Each chapter begins with in illustrative case study to give readers an example of how MBCT would be used in the clinical setting, followed by an overview of the condition, the theoretical rationale for using MBCT, modifications of MBCT for that disorder, evidence for MBCT use. Chapters also discuss practical considerations of MBCT, including patient selection, home practice, group size, format, and facilitator training. Written by some of the world's leading physicians using MBCT, Mindfulness-Based Cognitive Therapy: Innovative Applications is of great value to psychiatrists, psychologists, social workers, and therapists.
Motivational Interviewing and CBT by
Providing tools to enhance treatment of any clinical problem, this book shows how integrating motivational interviewing (MI) and cognitive-behavioral therapy (CBT) can lead to better client outcomes than using either approach on its own. The authors demonstrate that MI strategies are ideally suited to boost client motivation and strengthen the therapeutic relationship, whether used as a pretreatment intervention or throughout the course of CBT. User-friendly features include extensive sample dialogues, learning exercises for practitioners, and 35 reproducible client handouts. Purchasers get access to a Web page where they can download and print the reproducible materials in a convenient 8 1/2" x 11" size. This book is in the Applications of Motivational Interviewing series, edited by Stephen Rollnick, William R. Miller, and Theresa B. Moyers.
[For resources in this box; Right-Click to open content in a new tab/window]
Narrative Counseling in Schools by
'What a gift to education! By practicing the ideas in this book, school counsellors everywhere can help create new descriptions and stories that will transform the academic lives and behaviours of their students' - Linda Metcalf, Author of Counseling Toward Solutions and Solution-Focused School Counseling Narrative counselling in schools is based on the premise that stories, rather than hard-nosed realities, shape our lives. By changing the stories that negatively label and define students, we help them open up new avenues and opportunities. In this second edition of their bestselling book, John Winslade and Gerald Monk present even more case studies, guidance, and examples of counselling practice to help students narrate stories that "redescribe" who they are and can be. Mindful that today's busy counsellors need effective and brief techniques, the authors make plain the steps with which counsellors can externalize problems and draw out student self-knowledge to inform new ways of identifying and behaving. Updated throughout, this new edition offers: o An exploration of ethically sound accountability practices o Potential obstacles and suggestions for overcoming them o Guidance to help students set goals o Suggestions for implementing methods of restorative justice o An expanded section on group work in the United States, specifically focusing on anger management and grief counselling Grounded in a deep respect for students, this book's principles and practices will enable students to choose for themselves the new reputations by which they'll be known.
Narrative Therapies with Children and Their Families by
Narrative Therapies with Children and their Families introduces and develops the principles of narrative approaches to systemic therapeutic work, and shows how they can provide a powerful framework for engaging troubled children and their families. Written by eminent and leading clinicians, known nationally and internationally for their research and theory development in the field of child and family mental health, the book covers a broad range of difficult and sensitive topics, including trauma, abuse and youth offending. It illustrates the wide application of these principles in the context of the particular issues and challenges presented when working with children and families. Since publication of the first edition, the importance of narrative therapy has continued to grow, and this new edition provides an updated and revised overview of the field, along with three new chapters to keep apace with developments in child mental health trauma work. This book remains a key text in the field of systemic narrative training and practice. With clinical examples throughout, this practical book will be welcomed by family and systemic therapists and other professionals in the field of child, adolescent and family mental health.
Narrative Therapy by
Narrative therapy is founded on the idea that people are made up of interacting stories that comprise their sense of who they are, and that the issues they bring to therapy are not restricted to (or located) within the clients themselves, but are influenced and shaped by cultural discourses about identity and power. Narrative therapy centers around a rich engagement in re-storying a client's narrative by re-considering, re-appreciating, and re-authoring the client's preferred lives and relationships. This second edition of Narrative Therapy includes advice for working with highly conflicted couple relationships; innovative techniques for working with children, youth, and families; updated practice approaches to grief, loss, trauma, and death; ideas for understanding gender and the influence of queer-informed narrative therapy on identity formation; and the use of narrative therapy in non-Western cultural contexts.
[For resources in this box; Right-Click to open content in a new tab/window]
Client Centred Therapy (New Ed) by
Presenting the non-directive and related points of view in counselling and therapy, this book defines the progress recently made in the development of the techniques and basic philosophy of counselling.
Person-centred and Experiential Therapies: Contemporary Approaches by
An essential new guide for any person-centred trainee or practitioner, this book explores some of the key contemporary counselling and psychotherapy approaches that have developed from classical client-centred therapy.
The Person-Centred Approach to Therapeutic Change by
From the Foreword `It is an honour to be asked to write a foreword for this new book by Michael McMillan. I have been excited about this book ever since I read early drafts of its first two chapters some time ago at the birth of the project. At different times thereafter I have read other parts and my consistent impression has been that this is an author who has both a sophisticated academic understanding of the material and a great skill in communicating that widely. Those two qualities do not often go together! The book is about change. After a first chapter in which the author introduces us to the person-centred concept of the person, chapter two is devoted to the change process within the client, including a very accessible description of Rogers'' process model. Chapter three goes on to explore why and how change occurs in the human being, while chapter four introduces the most up-to-date person-centred theory in relation to the nature of the self concept and its changing process. Chapters five and six explore why change occurs in therapy and the conditions that facilitate that change, while chapter seven looks beyond the core conditions to focus on the particular quality of presence, begging the question as to whether this is a transpersonal/transcendental quality or an intense experiencing of the core conditions themselves. This is an intensely modern book particularly in its postmodern emphasis. Rogers is sometimes characterised as coming from modernist times but he can also be seen as one of the early post modernists in his emphasis on process more than outcome and relationship more than personal striving. The modern nature of the book is also emphasised by a superb analysis of the relationship between focussing and person-centred therapy in Chapter five, linking also with Polanyi''s notion of indwelling in this and other chapters. In suggesting that in both focussing and person-centred therapy the therapist is inviting the client to ''indwell'' himself or herself, the author provides a framework for considering many modern perceptions of the approach including notions such as ''presence'' and '' relational depth''. Also, the link with focussing is modern in the sense that the present World Association for the approach covers a fairly broad family including traditional person-centred therapists, experiential therapists, focussing-oriented therapists and process-guiding therapists. Important in this development is the kind of dialogue encouraged by the present book'' - Dave Mearns, Strathclyde University The belief that change occurs during the therapeutic process is central to all counselling and psychotherapy. The Person-Centred Approach to Therapeutic Change examines how change can be facilitated by the counsellor offering empathy, unconditional positive regard and congruence. The Person-Centred Approach to Therapeutic Change outlines the main theoretical cornerstones of the person-centred approach and then, applying these, describes why change occurs as a result of a person-centred therapeutic encounter. The author explores the counselling relationship as an environment in which clients can open themselves up to experiences they have previously found difficult to acknowledge and to move forward. Integral to the person-centred approach is Carl Rogers'' radical view that change should be seen as an ongoing process rather than an alteration from one fixed state to another. In Rogers'' view psychological health is best achieved by the person who is able to remain in a state of continual change. Such a person is open to all experiences and is therefore able to assimilate and adapt to new experiences, whether ''good'' or ''bad''. By focusing explicitly on how change is theorized and facilitated in counselling, this book goes to the heart of person-centred theory and practice, making it essential reading for trainees and practitioners alike.
Person-Centred Counselling Psychology by
'Not only is this the first key text on person-centred counselling psychology, but one of the best introductions to the approach. Gillon combines an in-depth understanding of the person-centred field with a highly accessible writing style to produce a book that will be of enormous value to anyone wanting to practice person-centred therapy. Essential reading for trainee and practising counselling psychologists with an interest in the person-centred approach and highly recommended for counsellors and psychotherapists of all orientations' - Mick Cooper, Professor of Counselling, Counselling Unit, University of Strathclyde Person-Centred Counselling Psychology: An Introduction is an introduction to the philosophy, theory and practice of the person-centred approach. Focusing on the psychological underpinnings of the approach, Ewan Gillon describes the theory of personality on which it is based and the nature of the therapeutic which is characterised by o unconditional positive regard o empathy o congruence. The book shows how the person-centred approach relates to others within counselling psychology and to contemporary practices in mental health generally. It also gives guidance to readers on the approach's research tradition as well as considering key issues for those wishing to train and work as a person-centred practitioner. As such, it is designed to be an applied, accessible text, providing a dialogue between the psychological basis of person-centred therapy and its application within the real world. As well as psychology students, it will be of interest to those from other disciplines, counselling trainees, those within the caring professions, and person-centred therapists from a non-psychological background. Ewan Gillon is Director of The Edinburgh Psychology Centre and Lecturer in Counselling Psychology at Glasgow Caledonian University.
[For resources in this box; Right-Click to open content in a new tab/window]
Solution-Focused Brief Therapy: A Multicultural Approach by
Solution Focused Brief Therapy: A Multicultural Approach is a timely text that outlines the basics of solution focused therapy then applies the approach to a range of multicultural populations. The book is intended for students in training to learn the SFBT method from a multiculturally competent approach. It first presents an introduction to the development of SFBT and then goes into the techniques and skills. The third chapter presents the evidence for using SFBT and then discusses the effectiveness of the approach. The next part of the book is the application across various client populations, including African American, Hispanic and Latino, Native Americans, LGBT, immigrants, clients with disabilties, socioeconomically disadvantaged clients, and spritual/religious. A final chapter synthesizes the book and reviews directions on using the approach. The book will contain cases in every chapter, teaching tools such as exercises and worksheets, and key implications for practice.
Solution-Focused Brief Therapy with Clients Managing Trauma by
The topic of trauma has been covered in many books, and there are many publications covering the use of SFBT in different settings and with varied client populations. However, the convergence of these topics has, to date, been covered only minutely. Solution-Focused Brief Therapy with Clients Managing Trauma is a comprehensive overview of how Solution Focused Brief Therapy (SFBT) can be used as a treatment approach for working with clients managing various forms of trauma. It includes an overview of SFBT's basic tenets, a description of the current research supporting SFBT as an evidence-based practice, and a comparison of how SFBT clinicians may approach trauma cases differently than clinicians from other therapeutic approaches. The bulk of the text uniquely includes chapters contributed by skilled SFBT clinicians, with differing clinical expertise, sharing their knowledge and describing their strength-based, resiliency focus of applying SFBT in different traumatic circumstances. Practitioners and even Master's/doctoral students will find this text invaluable in learning how to best help traumatized clients develop a positive future and move toward healing and health.
Solution-Focused Brief Therapy with the LGBT Community by
Solution-Focused Brief Therapy with the LGBT Community is a practical guide for mental health professionals who wish to increase their therapeutic skills and work more effectively with LGBT clients. This book shows how to help clients reach their goals in tangible, respectful ways by identifying and emphasizing the hope, resources, and strength already present within this population. Readers will increase their knowledge about the practical application of SFBT through case examples and transcripts, modified directly from the author's work with the LGBT community, and by learning more about the miracle question, exceptions, scaling, compliments, coping, homework, and more.
Video: An example of a person-centered roll play therapy session.
Searchable video collection produced by the Australian Institute of Professional Counsellors YouTube Channel