Library Guides
- Library
- Library Guides
- Master of Counselling
- Evaluation & Research Methods
Quantitative Research is used to quantify attitudes, opinions, behaviours, and other defined variables – and generalise results from a larger sample population. This is generally done through online surveys, paper surveys, face-to-face interviews, telephone interviews, questionnaires and online polls.
Qualitative Research is used to gain an understanding of underlying reasons, opinions, and motivations in relation to lived experiences, emotions or behaviours. This is generally done in interviews, open-ended questions, or focus groups (group discussions) and observations.
Mixed Methods Research combines both Qualitative and Quantitative Research methodology.
Locating Quantitative & Qualitative Articles
The PsycINFO database allows limiting a search to studies that use a particular methodology. Look for the Methodology box. Qualitative and quantitative are both options there. You can also add the words "qualitative" or "quantitative" to the search. Eg. "substance addiction" AND qualitative and "substance addiction" AND quantitative
Having a particular research methodology in mind, include keywords to describe it in the search. Eg. "substance addiction" AND survey
Note: Mixed methods articles can appear when you search for "Quantitative Studies" and "Qualitative Studies."
[For resources in this box; Right-Click to open content in a new tab/window]
Counseling Research by
This introductory text for counselors-in-training and emerging researchers focuses on research methodology, design, measurement, and evaluation. Richard Balkin and David Kleist explain the primary research methods used in counseling while emphasizing the importance of ethics and multicultural issues, demonstrating a professional counselor identity within the framework of research, and outlining the specific approaches used to inform counseling practice. The book contains four parts: The Essence of Research in the Counseling Profession, Quantitative Research Designs, Qualitative Research Designs, and Practice-Based Research. Key features include case examples that bridge the technicalities of research and the realities of practice; strategies for designing research; guidelines for counselors considering topics for a thesis, a dissertation, or the development of an initial study; examples of current counseling research articles; and suggested activities to enhance understanding of the material in each chapter and facilitate classroom discussion. *Requests for digital versions from ACA can be found on www.wiley.com. *To purchase print copies, please visit the ACA website here *Reproduction requests for material from books published by ACA should be directed to permissions@counseling.org
A Dictionary of Social Research Methods by 
Enjoying research in counselling and psychotherapy : qualitative, quantitative and mixed methods research by
his textbook provides a guide to the development of a rigorous and creative research-supported practice for students, practitioners, and researchers in counselling and psychotherapy. With an emphasis on critical thinking and "research mindedness", it introduces practical research skills and links them to self-awareness and critical reflection. Learning how to creatively and effectively use oneself in the treatment process is an essential component in therapy training and this level of self-awareness has long been a neglected area in research - until now. With examples ranging from private therapeutic practice to psychiatric related research, each chapter combines 'how-to-do-it' advice with illustrative real-life examples. The authors outline the use of a broad range of research methods, embracing Arts- as well as RCT-based research, and covering qualitative, quantitative, pluralistic and mixed methods approaches. Whether you are engaging with research for the first time or already developing your own research projects, if you are a student at diploma level or taking a Postgraduate research course for counsellors, psychotherapists and counselling psychotherapists, this is essential reading for anyone looking for a book that combines self-awareness with analytical and practical skills.
Everyday Evaluation on the Run by
Evaluating programs has become a fixture in the human service sector. In many cases, program staff are asked to conduct the evaluation without any training on how to properly do it. This widely used introduction to evaluation is intended for non-specialists who need to do evaluation as part of a busy workload. The book offers a practical overview of the main approaches to evaluation, strategies for involving stakeholders, and the evaluation industry's toolbox of models and techniques. The author emphasizes the core principles and concepts of evaluation, and provides extensive examples. This third edition reflects current thinking on values in organizations and the need to use evaluation to guide future practice. It is a handy reference for professionals and students in health, welfare, and community work, and in government and non-profit agencies.
Introducing Qualitative Research in Psychology by
This book is designed to support psychology students' first course in qualitative research methods. It takes six different approaches to qualitative methods and for each one explains why you would use it and the procedures and techniques you would use, then it discusses the advantages and disadvantages of each approach at the end of the chapter. In the second edition, all chapters will be updated and reviewed in the light of relevant publications since 2000. In addition, it will include interactive exercises and tasks at the end of each chapter in order to facilitate learning
Research Design in Counseling by
Quell any fears you may have about science and research design with this clear introduction to the basics of research design today. With enlightening examples and illustrations drawn from the counseling literature, RESEARCH DESIGN IN COUNSELING, 4th Edition fully addresses the most common issues that counseling researchers encounter. The authors' accessible approach provides you with an understanding of the various types of research, including both quantitative and qualitative approaches. Filled with helpful examples that utilize a broad variety of research designs, this book provides the fundamentals of conducting research while providing clear instruction on the strengths and weaknesses of different designs, choosing variables, ethics, writing, and publishing your work in the top professional counseling journals.
SAGE Research Methods (SRM) is a research methods tool created to help with planning and conducting the research project. Researchers can explore methods and concepts to help them design research projects, understand particular methods or identify a new method, conduct their research, and write up their findings.
There are some useful research tools to guide in conducting research, including the following:
A visual representation of how methods, terms and concepts are related to each other.
Find books, book chapters, and journal articles on research methods and statistics. You can browse them by specific method or by discipline.
This tool guides you through your research project by going through each stage.
Helps you select the most appropriate statistical test.
# For guidance on searching and using SRM consult the Sage Research Methods LibGuide.
# See this introductory video for more details.
The APA defines an empirical study as a "study based on facts, systematic observation, or experiment, rather than theory or general philosophical principle". Empirical studies articles are published in scholarly/ peer-reviewed journals.
Many databases allow you to limit your search to only empirical studies. In PsycINFO, look for the Methodology search option and use that menu to refine your search by limiting the articles to Empirical Studies only.
Another strategy for finding empirical studies is to add to your keywords some of the following search terms: empirical, research, observation, survey, experiment, findings, "action research", method*, longitudinal study, "participant group" or participants.
A literature review provides a comprehensive review of the literature in a specific area of interest. Preparation of a literature review may be divided into the following steps:
You might want to write down a description of the research question, area, or topic that you will be reviewing.
# The question frameworks can be helpful in this task.
Consult one or more databases to find information on your topic.
# The Effective Searching page provides further explanation.
# Check our guide here for detailed insight on finding the grey literature.
Focus on the Abstract, Introduction and Conclusion to establish usefulness and to get an overview of the main ideas, content and purpose. Summarise and make notes using the matrix.
Identify points on which the articles agree, disagree, or don’t cover at all.
Like any other academic text, your literature review should have an introduction, a main body, and a conclusion.
# This video will explain what critical voice is, and how to successfully develop it in your own literature review. (Duration 5:50)
# Additional information and other tips are featured in the Literature Review libguide.
# See the following sources for more explanation:
Galvan, J. L., & Galvan, M. C. (2017). Writing literature reviews : A guide for students of the social and behavioral sciences (7th ed.). Taylor and Francis.
Pautasso, M. (2013). Ten simple rules for writing a literature review. PLoS Computational Biology, 9(7), 1-4.https://doi.org/10.1371/journal.pcbi.1003149
Snyder, H. (2019). Literature review as a research methodology: An overview and guidelines. Journal of Business Research, 104, 333–339. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.jbusres.2019.07.039
As you read and evaluate your literature there are several different methods to organise your research. You may consider using the matrix below for your note-taking and analysis:
When you create your own matrix, the first few columns should include (1) the authors, title, journal, (2) publication year, and (3) purpose of the paper. The remaining columns should identify important aspects of each study such as methodology and findings.
The information on this page is from the book below.
Health Sciences Literature Review Made Easy the Matrix Method by
Health Sciences Literature Review Made Easy: The Matrix Method, Fifth Edition describes the practical and useful methods for reviewing scientific literature in the health sciences. The goal of this text is to serve as a resource for students who need a practical, step-by-step set of instructions for how to organize, conduct, and write a synthesis of literature on a topic of their choice.Key Features: Includes author hints for conducting a reviewCaroline's Quest details the process for conducting a reviewMethod Maps provide a visual approach for conducting a methodological reviewData Visualization reviews the history of data visualization to communicate scientific findings Features websites and e-tutorials for citing reference materials
Annotated bibliographies are sometimes given as a task at the beginning of a research topic. It is to gain a perspective on what is being published about a topic and subsequently assist in writing a literature review.
# Visit the library guide to learn more about how to create an annotated bibliography
# You may choose to watch these videos: