What is a peer reviewed journal

A peer reviewed or refereed journal article is one that is submitted for scrutiny by one's peers. Other experts (academics/researchers) in the field will look at the article to ensure it is of high quality and has sound arguments, good references and is ready to be published.

Sometimes the work may come back to the author for review, and on occasion it is rejected. This can take months.

Your lecturer will often want you to find a certain number of 'peer reviewed' articles. Sometimes the database advanced search page has an option to eliminate results that are not peer reviewed articles (such as trade magazines and news articles). Peer reviewed articles have a reference list at the end of the paper.
If unsure, ask a Business librarians lou.connell@vu.edu.au and john.tripotseris@vu.edu.au 

Journal Databases available via the VU Library

Business Source Ultimate Search for journal articles for your assignments. There is a variety of information in there- from magazines, case studies, SWOT analysis to scholarly papers. If you want to limit to peer reviewed journals, tick Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals box.

ScienceDirect This database has journal articles in science, technology, medicine, the social sciences and business- Information management, marketing, accounting etc.

Taylor & Francis Social sciences journals including management, tourism, computer sciences, economics, logistics etc.

Sage Journals  Mutli-disciplinary journal database and peer reviewed journals in Business studies.

Proquest One Academic  Scholarly journals, e-books, videos & audio, dissertations & theses, newspapers. (Has 20 databases including ProQuest Central, ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global, Academic Complete (e-books), and Academic Video Online). You can limit our search to academic journals.

Proquest Central  Covers databases across all major subject areas (including Business) and has periodicals and newspapers from around the world. You can limit our search to just academic journals.

Emerald Search for journal articles for your assignments. Emerald contains over 200 academic and professional journals in Management, Human Resource Management, Quality, Marketing, Operations and Production, Accounting & Finance, and Information Management, Information Management and Organisational Behaviour. Access via the library (not via Emerald.com)