Bachelor of Business: Company Information

Company and Industry Information

There are many different types of resources available, ORBIS, Eikon and Datastream among other databases with company information.

ORBIS database

ORBIS

Orbis contains comprehensive information on companies worldwide ranging from large and small listed and unlisted companies. Use it to research individual companies, search for companies by profile and analyse companies. Listed companies normally contain more detailed information. Orbis has information on 130 million private companies. Orbis includes: Company financials in a standardised format, Financial strength indicators, Ratings, Options to create your own ratios and bring in your own data fields, Directors and contacts, Original filings/images, Stock data, Private equity data and portfolios, Patents, Detailed corporate and ownership structures, Industry research, Business and company-related news, and M&A deals and rumours.

How it helps you

  • Search by hundreds of criteria
  • Do a detailed financial analysis on a company
  • Refer to original filings using our library of scanned images
  • Illustrate financials with our easy-to create graphs
  • Get a quick view of a company’s financial strength - we have financial models from a range of expert partners
  • Watch companies using our flexible alert systems
  • Look at a company’s corporate structure in a tree diagram and find all companies with the same parent
  • Research beneficial ownership and use in client on-boarding/compliance projects - you can even edit to be compatible with your definition of beneficial ownership
  • Create and analyse peer groups
  • Access information on patents associated to companies
  • Enrich your knowledge and internal data on companies - include financial data appropriate for credit analysis
  • Customise your own reports
  • The company reports are in a detailed standardised format
  • Historical information going back 10 years

Connect to ORIBIS

Eikon with Datastream (Only available at a single PC at City Tower Library)

Refinitiv Eikon with Datastream This link opens in a new window 

Alternative Name(s) & Keywords: Refinitiv Eikon; Refinitiv Datastream

The Refinitiv Eikon with Datastream database is located at the City Tower Library on PC SCCITSLIB-37. Refinitiv Eikon with Datastream users take priority over other users of this PC.
Eikon with Datastream is a financial markets database that provides access to real time data via Eikon and historical market data via Datastream, accessible through the Eikon platform using Excel add-in. The database provides access to economic and business news, analytics and trading tools including data on stocks, bonds and convertables, derivatives (warrants, futures, options), commodities, currencies, trusts, equities, interest rates, fixed income securities, economics (macroeconomic time series from OECD, ECB, IMF Eurostat, EIU, national statistical agencies), interest rates (treasury and state bonds), I/B/E/S estimates aggregates, Worldscope fundamentals point in time data, and Reuters polls. company fundamentals and key economic indicators for 175 countries and 60 markets.
Refinitiv Eikon will enable you to conduct in-depth security analysis, monitor intraday portfolio returns, generate detailed portfolio performance and attribution reports, and access a comprehensive suite of industry-leading financial data sources.
Refinitiv Datastream will provide you with historical financial data as far back as 70 years across 175 countries with over 35 million individual instruments or indicators across all major asset classes, including 8.5 million active economic indicators. It features the information and tools you need to interpret market trends, economic cycles, and the impact of world events.
Refinitiv Datastream Office tools content and its charting capabilities are integrated and accessible through Eikon platform using Excel add-in. The Eikon Excel add-in function will enable you to download mass amounts of time series data from Datastream into Excel. Microsoft Office integration will also enable you to create financial models, presentations and documents. Data and charts can be linked within Excel, PowerPoint or Word.
Instructions on how to access the Eikon with Datastream via Eikon Excel Add-In is provided next to the PC.
Please go through the following training videos before attempting to use the database.
TRAINING- VIDEOS
https://training.refinitiv.com/eikon/
https://training.refinitiv.com/datastream/

 

ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new window
 
 

Business, Management and Trade - scholarly and trade journal articles, dissertations, market reports, industry reports, business cases and global and trade news The most comprehensive ABI/INFORM™ database, this comprises ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/INFORM Trade and Industry, and ABI/INFORM Dateline.

The database features thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key business and economics periodicals such as the Economist, country-and industry-focused reports, and downloadable data. Its international coverage gives researchers a complete picture of companies and business trends around the world.

Other databases with COMPANY information

Other VU Library databases that may provide you with the information you require:

Orbis will provide you with detailed time series company information.

Business Source Ultimate will provide you with company information, company profiles, industry reports, financial data, country reports, market research reports, investment research reports and SWOT analysis.
Click on company profiles, enter the company name for a detailed MarketLine report.

Business Market Research Collection This database contains company, industry, economic and geopolitical market research from three sources, including Hoover's Company Profiles, OxResearch from Oxford Analystica, and Snapshots.

ASX Australian Securities Exchange will give you information on 52 week highs and lows, and other information and you can track your company over a short time period. Australian company Annual Reports are also available.

Yahoo Finance Australian finance news, stock quotes, company Financials, world indices, currency information and blogs.