Bachelor of Business: Statistics & Reports

Useful resources for sourcing statistics and reports

 Australian Bureau of Statistics

In addition to the freely available information on the ABS Web site, the Australian Bureau of Statistics provides access to a vast amount of data - including tens of thousands of tables. All this information is linked together to provide easy one stop access to the ABS statistical information on the Web site.

Connect to: Australian Bureau of Statistics  

 IMF - International Monetary Fund

The International Monetary Fund (IMF) is an organization of 187 countries, working to foster global monetary cooperation, secure financial stability, facilitate international trade, promote high employment and sustainable economic growth, and reduce poverty around the world.

Connect to: International Monetary Fund  

 WDI - World Development Indicators

World Development Indicators (WDI) is the World Bank's premier annual compilation of data about development. This indispensable statistical reference allows you to consult more than 800 indicators for more than 150 economies and 14 country groups in more than 90 tables.

Data covered includes social, economic, financial, natural resources, and environmental indicators. Results can be scaled, indexed against a particular year, viewed by percentage change, and charted. Data can also be exported as Excel and ASCII files.

Connect to: WDI Online  

NBER

NBER - The National Bureau of Economic Research

The National Bureau of Economic Research is a private, nonprofit, nonpartisan research organization dedicated to promoting a greater understanding of how the US economy works. The NBER is committed to undertaking and disseminating unbiased economic research among public policymakers, business professionals, and the academic community.

Connect to: National Bureau of Economic Research (NBER)

EuroStat

Eurostat is the statistical office of the European Union. It provides the European Union with statistics at European level that enable comparisons between countries and regions.

Connect to: EUROSTAT( European Commission)

EIKON with Datastream

Eikon and Datastream is available at the City Library on a PC level 2

Other VU Library databases that may provide you with the information you require. For example:

Orbis Bureau van Dijk will provide you with detailed time series company information.

Business Source Complete will provide you with company information, company profiles, industry reports, financial data, country reports, market research reports, investment research reports and SWOT analysis.

Business Market Research Collection This database contains company, industry, economic and geopolitical market research from three sources, including Hoover's Company Profiles, OxResearch from Oxford Analystica, and Snapshots.

ASX website will give you information on Australian companies. Annual Reports are also available.

ANZ NewsStream, U.S NewsStream and International NewsStream are newspaper databases that will give information on recent and older company information, such as mergers, stocks, new directors, and new directions for companies.

ORBIS 
Orbis contains comprehensive information on companies worldwide, with an emphasis on private company information. Use it to research individual companies, search for companies by profile and analyse companies.
Orbis contains information on both listed and unlisted companies. Listed companies are in a more detailed format. Orbis has information on 130 million private companies. Orbis includes: Company financials in a standardised format, Financial strength indicators, Ratings, Options to create your own ratios and bring in your own data fields, Directors and contacts, Original filings/images, Stock data, Private equity data and portfolios, Patents, Detailed corporate and ownership structures, Industry research, Business and company-related news, and M&A deals and rumours:
How it helps you

  • Search by hundreds of criteria
  • Do a detailed financial analysis on a company – you can also include our complementary information including M&A deals and rumours, news and market research
  • Refer to original filings using our library of scanned images
  • Illustrate financials with our easy-to create graphs
  • Get a quick view of a company’s financial strength - we have financial models from a range of expert partners
  • Watch companies using our flexible alert systems
  • Look at a company’s corporate structure in a tree diagram and find all companies with the same parent
  • Research beneficial ownership and use in client on-boarding/compliance projects - you can even edit to be compatible with your definition of beneficial ownership
  • Create and analyse peer groups
  • Access information on patents associated to companies
  • Enrich your knowledge and internal data on companies - include financial data appropriate for credit analysis
  • Customise your own reports
  • The company reports are in a detailed standardised format
  • Historical information for 10 years.

Connect to: Orbis 

An example of gathering ORBIS data and exporting to excel:

The Orbis-Bureau van Dijk database can be accessed from the VU Library via the VU A-Z databases, select character O. After a click on the name, the sign-in process will be started automatically.

Type ‘stock exchange’ in the search criterion box, then choose the criteron
 Find and select the Australian Securities Exchange - XASX
Click ‘+’ button to select

After selecting companies listed in the ASX, choose ‘OK ‘

Choose total active firms, then choose ‘VIEW RESULTS’ to show the list of firms.

Choose Add/remove columns to adjust the information that you want to export to Excel

Note: Click the ‘×’ buttons to remove unnecessary items. For example: Flags, Country ISO code, Consolidation code, Last available year, Operating revenue, Number of employees.
Keep the Company name, and the NACE Rev.2 code (4 digits) because it is the industrial classification required by the example.
This button is to change the order of the item
This button is to delete the item

For statical information, such as the ticker symbol, type the name in the search box and choose the item

For inconstant information, such as total assets, type the name in the search box and choose the setting on the right of the item to set up the column options.for example total assets, then click 'apply'

Choose ‘Absolute’ to specify the years for data collection.

Selections to collect total assets, years 2018-2022, local currency unit, currency at units, click ‘Save’

Type ‘depreciation & amortization’ to find the expense, click ‘+’ button to add data with the same configurations of Total assets (indicated in previous step).

click 'apply'

Click ‘Excel’ to export selected data to Excel

Click ‘Export’ to export selected data to Excel

Click ‘Download’, then the Excel file to download and open the file

The first sheet will be the data summary

The second sheet will be the data extracted from the Orbis database.

OECD iLibrary (2005-2018)

OECD iLibrary provides access to statistical publications, reports and working papers produced by the OECD (Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development) for 2005-2018

Connect to: OECD iLibrary