EndNote: Import from a journal database

Using EndNote to manage your references and format your bibliography

Exporting from journal databases

  • Scopus: Select required records. Click Export. Choose export format RIS format; select information to export, click Export.
  • PubMed: Select required records. From the Send to drop-down menu, choose Citation Manager. Click Create File. Select to Open with… and browse to choose EndNote if it’s not already selected (may work better in a Firefox browser).
  • EBSCO databases: Mark required items by clicking on To print, or save multiple items folder icon (this will save it to a folder). From your folder (at the top of the screen), Select All then click Export; select Direct Export in RIS Format (e.g. CITAVI, EasyBib, EndNote, ProCite, Reference Manager, Zotero), and Save.
  • Clarivate databases (i.e. Web of Science): From the Results page, click the check boxes to select the records that you wish to export to EndNote. Click on the Export dropdown menu and select Endnote Desktop. Click Export. Select Open with… and browse to choose EndNote if it’s not already selected.
  • Informit: Mark required records. Click on Save at the top of the list of results. At the Save Records screen, choose Output format: EndNote Direct and do not include Search History (leave fields at Complete Record and label format Short).
  • IEEE: Mark required items by ticking the references. Click on Export drop-down menu near the top of the page. Click on the Citations tab and select RIS and then click on Export. Select Open with… and browse to choose EndNote if it’s not already selected.
  • Taylor & Francis Journals (Informaworld): Mark required items by ticking the references. Select Download citations and select RIS (ProCite, Reference Manager) and then Download citations. Select to Open with… and browse to choose EndNote if it’s not already selected.

 

Database import filters

  • Many databases now include direct export functions, whereby marked records from a search in a VU electronic database can be directly exported into EndNote. This eliminates the need to save the search results as a text file and then import the references into EndNote using an EndNote filter.
  • If direct export is not possible, you can import a saved search into your EndNote library using an Endnote filter.
  • Click on the link below to see instructions for importing from specific databases. This alphabetic list provides instructions for all the VU Library databases where it is possible to download references into EndNote. Please note some databases still require the use of a filter.
  • Most of the Library's databases are available propriety platforms, such as EbscoHost, and each propriety platform has a slightly different method when exporting references into EndNote.
  • Alphabetic List of Victoria University Library Filters.
  • Additional filters can be downloaded from the EndNote website.

Importing a text file into an Endnote library

As noted above, there will be databases that don't allow 'direct export', in these situations you need to save your 'marked' references as a plain text .txt file and then import the text file into EndNote using a filter from the filters folder (and in some cases you will need to download the appropriate filter). Data will only be successfully imported into EndNote if downloaded in the correct output format, and using the correct database filter.