Economic and Financial Data: Macroeconomics

Introduction

This page provides information on other macroeconomic data outside Growth and development data. These include, but not limited to, inflation, population, employment rate, export, import, and government debts. 

Databases

Eikon with Datastream    

Available at the City Tower Library, level 2.
There are other VU Library databases that may provide you with the information you require. For example:

Orbis (Bureau van Dijk) will provide you with detailed time series company information.

Business Source Complete will provide you with company information, company profiles, industry reports, financial data, country reports, market research reports, investment research reports and SWOT analysis.

Business Market Research Collection This database contains company, industry, economic and geopolitical market research from three sources, including Hoover's Company Profiles, OxResearch from Oxford Analystica, and Snapshots.

EMIS University: The World

EMIS University: The World provides analysis, data and news on companies, industries and countries in the world’s 125+ emerging markets. It offers a collation of time-sensitive, hard-to-get, relevant news, research and data, peer comparisons and analytical tools. All content is licensed from the cream of the world's macroeconomic experts, the most renowned industry research firms, and the most authoritative news providers. This is combined with EMIS’s own company and M&A research to offer a multi-faceted view of each emerging market. 

The type of industry information EMIS University: The World provides is:

  • Industry Reports - Find reports on big sectors or niche industries from multiple local and global sources
  • Industry News - Read industry news from multiple local and global sources
  • Industry Statistics - View and compare data in a table and on a chart
  • Compare Industry Trends - View and compare industry trends for dozens of indicators
  • Find M&A deals - Find deals that are happening in industries of your interest
  • Companies in industry - View and export list of companies for your selected industries
  • Industry benchmark indicators - Analyse industry aggregated data for key financial indicators
  • CEIC India Industry Database - Analyse over 200,000 industry time series data, covering 17 key industry sectors in India
  • Industry analytical tools - Choose from a variety of tools to analyse an industry of your choice
  • Industry Sources - Browse a variety of sources for your selected industry
  • Create a custom industry - Build your own industry to benchmark companies against

Web-based resources

World Development Indicators

Data in the World Development Indicators (WDI) database mainly are classified into the following topics: 

For Stata users, life will be easier if you utilise the two main commands to download WDI data into a Stata file:

 

International Financial Statistics

International Financial Statistics (IFS) provides various databases such as