Streaming videos and image sources: Alexander Street Press

Database details

Alexander Street Press provides access to films and video clips on a wide range of subjects including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more. All content is indexed and searchable.

 

Content areas Multi-disciplinary
Software requirements Videos can be viewed online through the web browser and the Adobe Flash Player plug-in is required
Mobile device compatibility Android and iOS
Transcripts Yes. The transcript opens in the transcript pane or by clicking the Transcript icon in the Toolbar
Linking Yes. Allows users to link to individual titles, clips and playlists
Embedding No (correct as at 17 July 2020)
Clips Yes. Create a personal user account to save clips, and share content
Playlists Yes. Create a personal user account to save playlists, and share content
Captions No

The Alexander Street Press collection includes the following video databases:

Permanent links in Alexander Street

Navigate to your chosen resource in one of the Alexander Street databases:

  • Click on the video title
  • When the page has opened, click on the ‘Embed/Link’ tab

  • From the pop-up, copy the link.

Screenshot from the Alexander Street interface showing the Link/Embed pop-up, with the permanent link highlighted.

  • NOTE: This link will need to be amended before pasting into the OpenAthens Link Generator. This can easily be done in Notepad or Word.
  • Link from Alexander Street:

https://search-alexanderstreet-com.ap1.proxy.openathens.net/view/work/bibliographic_entity%7Cvideo_work%7C2491294?account_id=14844&usage_group_id=95171

  • Remove the beginning of the URL, everything from 'https' to '.net' (make sure to leave the slash at /view ):

https://search-alexanderstreet-com.ap1.proxy.openathens.net/view/work/bibliographic_entity%7Cvideo_work%7C2491294?account_id=14844&usage_group_id=95171

  • Replace with: https://search.alexanderstreet.com

https://search.alexanderstreet.com/view/work/bibliographic_entity%7Cvideo_work%7C2491294?account_id=14844&usage_group_id=95171

  • Copy the amended URL to use in the OpenAthens link generator.
  • Open the VU OpenAthens link generator (https://go.openathens.net/generate/vu.edu.au/71775300), ensure that Victoria University is selected (1), paste in the URL (2) and click 'Copy' (3). (Note that the URL disappears and the OpenAthens link is automatically generated).

Screenshot of OpenAthens interface showing an Alexander Street Link being redirected.

  • Paste the OpenAthens link as a 'New Link' in the VU Collaborate Space as needed.