On this page

• Locating video Databases
• Locating videos through Library Search
• Copyright
• Embedding or Linking - The online video content can be integrated into online courses in two ways: through a link or by embedding a video.
• Referencing Guidance

Copyright

The use of digital images and videos need to comply with database licence conditions and copyright law whether the sources are VU subscribed databases or freely available online.

As an educational institution, we have a Statutory Licence which allows teaching staff members to copy and communicate a limited amount of material for certain educational purposes. However this does not mean that anything and everything can be copied or put online for educational purposes.

• The Copyright for teaching at VU guide covers the essentials of how to use video materials and images in teaching.

The VU Library also purchases databases for the use of staff and students.  These databases are provided with certain terms and conditions of use which usually means access to the content is provided via a Permalink. 

• The Permanent links from Library Resources guide covers information on how to find these links.

Embedding or Linking

The streaming video content can be integrated into learning management systems through either linking or embedding.

• Refer to the VU Collaborate guide Embedding a Library Video in VU Collaborate.
• The Permanent links from Library Resources guide covers  link information.

Referencing Guides

At times teaching staff may need to provide a formal reference for streaming video and image material. Refer to the relevant sections of the referencing guides.

APA

• Videos
• Images

IEEE

• Videos
• Images

Oxford

• Videos
• Images see: Digital Images

Video Databases

From VU Library homepage choose the A-Z Databases tab.

This will take you to the Databases homepage.

Click on the drop down menu for All Database Types, Select Streaming Video 

Read through the information relating to each of the potential databases and choose a database to conduct your search.

For step-by-step details on finding videos through Library Search or through a Database see Step One: Find a streaming video in our guide

Using Library Search

Go to VU Library homepage and enter your keywords or video title into the Library Search box.

From the results page select 'Show more' under Source Types

Select Videos and Update

The results page now only includes videos from which a selection can be made.