Streaming videos and image sources: Other streaming video and image sources

Steaming video sources

There are many Internet sites that provide free access to streamed videos. The quality of the image, the player controls, and the allowable usage for these streaming videos can vary. Search functions on these sites work differently and content can change or be removed without notice.

It is recommended to adhere to the Terms of Use when using the content of sites listed below.

MIT Video

  • Collection of video lecture videos produced by the Massachusetts Institute of Technology.

Moving Image Archive

  • Collection of digital movies uploaded by Archive users, which range from classic full-length films, from daily alternative news broadcasts, to cartoons and concerts. For information on streaming, refer to Movies section under FAQ.

TED Talks

  • TED Talks provide access to videos of inspiring speakers from around the world.

Vimeo

  • This media sharing site is hosting created videos, web series and award winning films.
  • Grouped by channels or license type.
  • More information on embedding and interaction tools can be found here.

YouTube

  • Online video site that allows people to discover, watch and share originally-created videos.

Image sources

Look for 'Conditions of Use', Restrictions or Limits and note them carefully. For more detailed information on licenses, check our guide Creative Commons.

Images can be sourced from a variety of websites, including: ​

Google Advanced Image Search

  • Allows users to search the Web for image content.​The Advanced Search page gives a lot of sorting options. The most important of these is under “usage rights” selecting the option “free to use, share or modify, even commercially”.
Creative Commons
  • ​Make sure there is a check mark next to "modify, adapt, build upon".
  • You will see tabs for search results from Google, Google Images, Flickr, and others.

CSIRO science image 

Flickr

  • Image hosting website.
  • Take note of the conditions of use for each photograph. To find material for re-use, select modify, adapt, or build upon box.

LibreStock 

Pixabay

Shared Shelf Commons

  • A free, open-access collection of images from libraries, archives, and museums around the world. Search and browse collections with tools to zoom, print, export, and share images.

Trove

  • Maintained by National Library of Australia.
  • Millions of Australian images, maps, historic newspapers and archives.​

Unsplash

  • Beautiful, free photos.Gifted by the world’s most generous community of photographers.