IEEE Referencing: Audio-visual media

Basic format to reference a DVD

[#]    Producer(s) Initial(s). Surname(s), Title of the DVD, xth ed. [Type of medium]. Production City, (U.S. State or Country if the City is not "well known"): Production Company, Year of Production.

Referencing elements to cite:

  • [#] Reference number if applicable (matching the in-text citation number)
  • Producer’s first initial. Producer’s second initial, if provided. Producer’s last name
  • Title of the DVD, in italics. Important words of the title are capitalised, but not minor such as ‘and’, ‘of', 'on', etc.
  • ​Edition number
  • DVD
  • Place of production
  • Publisher/Production information
  • Year of Production

[1]     Films Media Group, Electrical Components. Part One: Resistors, Batteries and Switches. [DVD]. Monmouth Junction, NJ: Shopware, 2006.

[2]     R. Hammond, Engineering Connections, Series Three. [DVD]. Collingwood, Australia: Special Broadcasting Service Corporations, 2011.

Basic format to reference a streaming video

[#]   Production company, Title of Video, Year of Production. Accessed on: Abbrev. Month. Day, Year. [Type of medium]. Available: name of database

Referencing elements to cite:

  • [#] Reference number (matching the in-text citation number)
  • Production company
  • Title of the streaming video, in italics. Important words of the title are capitalised, but not minor such as 'and’, ‘of’, ‘on’, etc.‘and’, ‘but’, etc.
  • Year of Production
  • Accessed on: Month, Day, Year. Refer to the Abbreviated month section for further information
  • [Streaming Video]
  • Available from: Library Database that provided the streaming video

[3]     Michael Blackwood Productions, Engineering Transparency: Glass in Architecture and Structural Engineering, 2007. Accessed on: Feb. 18, 2018.  [Streaming video]. Available: Kanopy Streaming database 

It is acceptable to shorten the full URL to its abbreviated version to simply indicate the main database provider of the source. Refer to DOI in IEEE for more information.

Basic format to reference a video tutorial

[#]   Author(s) initials. Family name(s), Title of Video Tutorial, abbrev. Month. Day, Year of Production. Accessed on: Abbrev. Month. Day, Year. [Type of medium]. Available: name of database

Referencing elements to cite:

  • [#] Reference number (matching the in-text citation number)
  • Author(s) name(s)
  • Title of the video tutorial, in italics. Important words of the title are capitalised, but not minor such as 'and’, ‘of’, ‘on’, etc.‘and’, ‘but’, etc.
  • Abbreviated Month, Day and Year of Production. Refer to the Abbreviated month section for further information
  • Accessed on: Month, Day, Year. Refer to the Abbreviated month section for further information
  • [Streaming Video]
  • Available from: Library Database that provided the streaming video

[4]     S. Allardice, Programming Foundations: Fundamentals, Sept. 22, 2011. Accessed on: June 3, 2018.  [Streaming video]. Available: Lynda.com database

It is acceptable to shorten the full URL to its abbreviated version to simply indicate the main database provider of the source. Refer to DOI in IEEE for more information.

Referencing audio-visual media: Examples

Material type In-text example Reference List example
DVD

The issue, as discussed in [1],  indicated how necessary it is to consider ...

 [1]    Fire Engineering, Fire Engineering's Skill Drills DVD for Firefighter I and II: The Traditions and Mission of the Fire Service. [DVD]. Tulsa, OK: PennWell, 2009.

Youtube video                                         

Responsibilities of contractors are discussed in [7].

 [7]   Learn Engineering, Automatic Transmission, How it works?, Jan. 16, 2016. Accessed on: Jan. 25, 2017. [Video file]. Available: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=u_y1S8C0Hmc

Note: the date of publication refers to publication or modification date.

Streaming video As demonstrated in [4], it can be seen that the issues are …

 [4]    Kanopy Streaming Service. Electrical Power Transmission: The Grid, 2015. Accessed on: Feb. 1, 2016.​ [Streaming Video]. Available:  https://vu.kanopystreaming.com