Victoria University Archives: Handbooks

Useful links

General information about current courses, including Course Guides and Handbooks, can be found on the Courses section of the VU website.

Handbooks

The VU Archives holds handbooks and prospectus for all its predecessor institutions and for VU. Course handbooks contain a wealth of information relating to course requirements and subjects. They are published annually and describe the courses and subjects for the year ahead. Information contained in handbooks includes:

  • Entrance requirements for courses
  • Outline and structure of courses - if you are required to take the subjects in a particular order
  • Number of hours required, and composition of those hours (eg. lectures / tutorials / work placements etc), both across courses as a whole and individual subjects
  • Summary of the content of subjects, usually a description but sometimes required textbooks and readings too
  • How the subject will be assessed
  • General information about the university, campus locations and facilities.

The information contained in handbooks is therefore very useful for Recognition of Prior Learning (RPL) applications and similar issues.

Footscray Institute of Technology Handbooks

1969

Footscray Institute of Technology Handbook

1970

Department of Applied Chemistry Handbook

Department of Business Studies Handbook

Department of Civil Engineering Handbook

Department of Electrical and Electronic Engineering Handbook

Department of Mechanical Engineering Handbook

Footscray Institute of Technology Handbook

1971

Department of Applied Chemistry Handbook 

Department of Business Studies Handbook

Department of Civil Engineering Handbook

Department of Electrical and Electronic Engineering Handbook

Department of Mechanical Engineering Handbook

1972

Department of Applied Chemistry Handbook

Department of Business Studies Handbook

School of Engineering Handbook

Trade, technician, certificate Handbook

1973

Department of Business Studies Handbook

Department of Chemistry Handbook

School of Engineering Handbook

Trade, technician, certificate Handbook

1974

Department of Business Studies Handbook

Department of Chemistry Handbook

General Studies Handbook

School of Engineering Handbook 

Trade, technician, certificate Handbook

1975

Footscray Institute of Technology Handbook

Trade - Technician - Certificate Handbook

1976

Footscray Institute of Technology Handbook

1977

Footscray Institute of Technology Handbook

1978

Footscray Institute of Technology Handbook

1979

Footscray Institute of Technology Handbook

1980

Footscray Institute of Technology Handbook

1981

Footscray Institute of Technology Handbook

1982

Footscray Institute of Technology Handbook

1983

Footscray Institute of Technology Handbook

1984

Footscray Institute of Technology Handbook

1985

Footscray Institute of Technology Handbook

1986

Footscray Institute of Technology Handbook

1987

Footscray Institute of Technology Handbook

1988

Footscray Institute of Technology Handbook

1989

Footscray Institute of Technology Handbook

1990

Footscray Institute of Technology Handbook

Western College/Institute of TAFE

Western Melbourne College of TAFE

1992

Handbook

1993

Handbook

1994

Handbook

1995

Handbook

Western Melbourne Institute of TAFE

1996

Handbook

1997

Handbook

1998

Handbook

Victoria University of Technology/Victoria University Handbooks

In order to give you easy access to the digitized handbooks, please click on the links provided below. You will be redirected to the Library catalogue where you will be able to search through the chosen handbook.

Victoria Univeristy of Technology / Victoria University

1991

Victoria University of Technology Handbook

1992

Graduate Studies Handbook

Undergraduate Handbook

1993

Postgraduate Coursebook

Undergraduate Coursebook

1994

Postgraduate Handbook

Undergraduate Handbook

1995

Faculty of Arts Handbook

Faculty of Business  Handbook

Faculty of Engineering Handbook

Faculty of Human Development Handbook

Faculty of Science Handbook

Technical and Further Education Handbook

1996

Faculty of Arts Handbook

Faculty of Business  Handbook

Faculty of Engineering Handbook

Faculty of Human Development Handbook

Faculty of Science Handbook

Technical and Further Education Handbook

1997

Faculty of Arts Handbook

Faculty of Business  Handbook

Faculty of Engineering Handbook

Faculty of Human Development Handbook

Faculty of Science Handbook

Technical and Further Education Handbook

1998

Faculty of Arts Handbook,

Faculty of Business  Handbook

Faculty of Engineering and Science Handbook

Faculty of Human Development Handbook

Technical and Further Education Handbook

1999

Faculty of Arts Handbook

Faculty of Business  Handbook

Faculty of Engineering and Science Handbook

Faculty of Human Development Handbook

Technical and Further Education Handbook

2000

Faculty of Arts Handbook

Faculty of Business and Law Handbook

Faculty of Engineering and Science Handbook

Faculty of Human Development Handbook

Technical and Further Education Handbook

2001

Faculty of Arts Handbook

Faculty of Business and Law Handbook

Faculty of Engineering and Science Handbook

Faculty of Human Development Handbook

Technical and Further Education Handbook

2002

Faculty of Arts Handbook

Faculty of Business and Law Handbook

Faculty of Engineering and Science Handbook

Faculty of Human Development Handbook

Technical and Further Education Handbook

2003

Faculty of Arts Handbook

Faculty of Business and Law Handbook

Faculty of Human Development Handbook

Faculty of Science, Engineering and Technology Handbook

Technical and Further Education Handbook

2004

Faculty of Arts Handbook

Faculty of Business and Law Handbook

Faculty of Human Development Handbook

Faculty of Science, Engineering and Technology Handbook

Technical and Further Education Handbook

2005

Faculty of Arts Handbook

Faculty of Business and Law Handbook

Faculty of Human Development Handbook

Faculty of Science, Engineering and Technology Handbook

Technical and Further Education Handbook

2006

Arts, Education and Human Development Handbook

Business and Law Handbook

Health, Engineering and Science Handbook

Technical and Further Education Handbook

2007

Arts, Education and Human Development Handbook

Business and Law Handbook

Health, Engineering and Science Handbook

Technical and Further Education Handbook

2008

Arts, Education and Human Development Handbook

Business and Law Handbook

Health, Engineering and Science Handbook

Technical and Trades Innovation Handbook

VU College Handbook

Workforce Development Handbook (TAFE)

2009

Arts, Education and Human Development Handbook

Business and Law Handbook

Health, Engineering and Science Handbook

Technical and Trades Innovation Handbook

VU College Handbook

Workforce Development Handbook (TAFE)

2010

Arts, Education and Human Development Handbook

Business and Law Handbook

Health, Engineering and Science Handbook

Technical and Trades Innovation Handbook

VU College Handbook

Workforce Development Handbook (TAFE)

2011

Arts, Education and Human Development Handbook

Business and Law Handbook

Health, Engineering and Science Handbook

Technical and Trades Innovation Handbook

VU College Handbook

Workforce Development Handbook (TAFE)

2012

Arts, Education and Human Development Handbook

Business and Law Handbook

Health, Engineering and Science Handbook

Technical and Trades Innovation Handbook

VU College Handbook

Workforce Development Handbook (TAFE)

2013

Arts, Education and Human Development Handbook

Business and Law Handbook

Health, Engineering and Science Handbook

Technical and Trades Innovation Handbook

VU College Handbook

Workforce Development Handbook (TAFE)

2014

College of Arts Handbook

College of Business Handbook

College of Education Handbook

College of Engineering and Science Handbook

College of Law and Justice Handbook

College of Health and Biomedicine Handbook

Trades College Handbook

VU College Handbook

2015

College of Arts Handbook

College of Business Handbook

College of Education Handbook

College of Engineering and Science Handbook

College of Law and Justice Handbook

College of Health and Biomedicine Handbook

PHD Courses Handbook

VET College Handbook

2016

College of Arts Handbook

College of Business Handbook

College of Education Handbook

College of Engineering and Science Handbook

College of Health and Biomedicine Handbook

College of Law and Justice Handbook

Victoria University Institute of Technology Handbook

VU College Handbook