Library Guides: Bachelor of Laws: Corporations Law

Corporation. A legal entity created by charter, prescription, or legislation. The fundamental difference between a corporation and other business entities is that the law treats a corporation as a separate legal person: (CTH) Corporations Act 2001 s 124. For the purposes of the (CTH) Corporations Act 2001, corporation’ includes a company, a body corporate, and certain unincorporated bodies, but specifically excludes corporations sole and exempt public authorities: ss 9, 57A. An unincorporated body may qualify as a corporation if it possesses certain corporate powers such as the power to hold property: s 57A(1)(c).
(Encyclopaedic Australian Legal Dictionary, 2015)

On this Page

Ask a law librarian any questions that you have about legal research or AGLC4 referencing.

Zoom meetings are available Monday - Friday between 8am and 4pm, by appointment. Email the law librarians to book an appointment. Please state your preferred time/day.

murray.greenway@vu.edu.au

debra.hutchinson@vu.edu.au

Send an email now

A law librarian will reply with a confirmation of your appointment and a link to the Zoom meeting.

eBooks

Annotated Legislation

Annotated Legislation provides the text of the legislation and commentary or explanatory text about each provision.

Laws of Australia - Legal Encyclopaedia

Company Formation
Introduction; Company As Corporation; Corporate Capacity; Promotion and Formation; Classification of Companies; Corporate Constitution
Company Management
Introduction; Meetings; Role and Powers of Company Directors; Duties of Directors; Shareholders' Actions against Company Controllers; Financial Reports and Audits
Company Finance
Introduction; Equity Finance; Dividends on Shares; Debt Finance; Registration of Charges; Holding of Company Securities
Receivers and Managers
Introduction; Appointment of Receiver; Powers of Receivers; Duties and Liabilities of Receivers; Effect of Receivership
Company Reorganization
Introduction; Reorganisation of Capital; Share Buy-backs; Schemes of Arrangement; Voluntary Administration
Company Takeovers
Introduction; Takeovers and Regulatory Policy; Central Concepts; Exempt Acquisitions; Off-market Bids; Market Bids; Target Company's Response; General Requirements of Takeover Bids; Compulsory Acquisition; Powers of Australian Securities and Investments Commission, Takeovers Panel and Court; Disclosure of Shareholdings; Implications for Takeovers under Other Legislation; Insider Trading
Company Winding Up
Introduction; Voluntary Winding Up; Compulsory Winding Up: Grounds and Applicants; Compulsory Winding Up: Creditors' Application; Compulsory Winding Up: Contributory's Application; Commencement and Impact of Winding Up; Liquidators; Property Available for Division and Distribution; Discovery, Recovery and Division of Assets; Discharging Debts and Liabilities; Termination of Winding Up; Winding Up and Jurisdictional Issues
Financial Services Regulation
Introduction; Concepts and Institutions; Regulating Market Actors; Regulating Primary Markets; Regulating Secondary Markets; Prohibited Conduct on Financial Markets; Public Regulators, International Markets

Halsbury's Laws of Australia - Legal Encyclopaedia

Corporations Law Resources on CCH Intelliconnect

CCH is a legal publisher that produces a collection of corporations law resources including:

Australian Company Law Commentary - CCH
Australian Company Law Legislation - CCH
Includes Corporations Act 2001 (Cth) as well as Regulations, Rules and more.
Australian Proprietary Companies Guide - CCH
Contains Timeline of statutory compliance -- Duties and liabilities of directors and secretaries -- Incorporation -- Initial and ongoing obligations -- Registers -- Officers -- Securities -- Meetings and proceedings -- Accounts and annual returns -- Dividends -- Taxation -- Credit management -- Replaceable rules -- Small business guide.
Australian Company Law Form Library - CCH
Houses the current version of all Australian Securities and Investments Commission (ASIC) Forms, all Corporations Regulations Forms, all Australian Financial Security Authority (AFSA) (previously Insolvency and Trustee Service Australia) Forms, selected Federal Court (Corporations) Rules Forms.

Additional Corporations Law Sources

Ford, Austin and Ramsay's Principles of Corporations Law - Lexis Advance
Provides a subject-based analysis of the principles of corporations legislation, dealing with the creation, operation and winding up of a company, building from basic legal principles, case law and legislation.
Australian Corporation Law ASIC Releases - Lexis Advance
Provides a comprehensive selection of releases issued by the Australian Securities and Investments Commission. The work includes essential releases, such as regulatory guides, class orders, pro formas and information sheets, issued by ASIC in addition
to selected media releases and information releases.
Australian Corporation Law Principles & Practice - Lexis Advance
Provides the key to understanding and practical application of the complex law contained in the three Australian Corporation Law - Legislation volumes. The commentary provides a subject-based narrative account of the corporations legislation.
Business Law of Australia - Lexis Advance
Provides clear and current commentary on the theory and application of all aspects of business law. It includes comparative tables of legislation, extensive commentary on business structures and commercial contracts, along with many other topics.
Australian Corporation Law Legislation - Lexis Advance
Comprehensive collection of Corporations Legislation
ASIC Corporate Investigations & Hearings - Westlaw Australia
ASIC Corporate Investigations and Hearings is a highly practical service providing detailed coverage of the investigation and enforcement methods used by ASIC when performing its regulatory functions under the ASIC Act, Corporations Act, consumer credit legislation and superannuation/retirement savings accounts legislation. ASIC's powers, including powers to conduct investigations, administrative hearings and court proceedings, are comprehensively analysed and examined.
Company Director Manual - Westlaw Australia
Company Director Manual features discussion and analysis of the key compliance issues including directors' duties and responsibilities, financial reporting requirements, taxation, FBT, superannuation, trade practices, employment, OHS and other laws affecting directors, checklists, flowcharts, decision trees, pro formas, examples and case studies.
Corporations Legislation Service - Westlaw Australia
Annotated corporations legislation. Many sections are annotated with comprehensive commentary on scope, concepts, key cases, practice points, and further reading recommendations.
Robson's Annotated Corporations Legislation - Westlaw Australia
Detailed annotations accompany the current text of the Corporations Act 2001 (Cth) reproduced in Robson's Annotated Corporations Legislation. Commentary from lawyers working with, and analysing, the law considers how provisions and wording have been interpreted by the courts under the current Act and its forerunners, in a range of contexts. This depth and range is essential in practice for Australia's corporations legislation is particularly complex in its wording and in its interpretation.

Journals in Print and Online

AGIS (Attorney Generals Information Service) - is the leading legal journals database in Australia. Use AGIS to search hundreds of journals for articles about Corporations Law.

If you wish to browse, then the journals below may be useful places to start.

Related Subjects in VU Catalogue

Corporations Law Web Sites

ASX
The ASX Ltd was created by the merger of the Australian Stock Exchange and the Sydney Futures Exchange in July 2006 - functioning primarily as a market operator, clearing house and settlement system facilitator. ASX also oversees compliance with its operating rules, promotes standards of corporate governance among Australia’s listed companies and helps to educate retail investors.
Australian Securities and Investments Commission
ASIC is Australia’s corporate, markets and financial services regulator. It is an independent Commonwealth Government body, set up under and to administer the Australian Securities and Investments Commission Act. Most of ASIC's work is carried out under the Corporations Act.

Library Guides

Bachelor of Laws: Corporations Law

eBooks

Corporations Law: Concepts, Cases and Culture

Corporations Law - Questions and Answers

Corporations Law - Case Summaries

Corporations and financial markets law

Corporations Law: In Principle

Contemporary Australian Corporate Law

Business Law - Case Summaries

Australian Corporate Law

Understanding Company Law

Corporate Law and Climate Change