Library Guides: Bachelor of Laws: Criminal Law

The rules of statute and common law which direct that certain actions are punishable by the state.
(Encyclopaedic Australian Legal Dictionary, 2011)

On this Page

Ask a law librarian any questions that you have about legal research or AGLC4 referencing.

Zoom meetings are available Monday - Friday between 8am and 4pm, by appointment. Email the law librarians to book an appointment. Please state your preferred time/day.

murray.greenway@vu.edu.au

debra.hutchinson@vu.edu.au

Send an email now

A law librarian will reply with a confirmation of your appointment and a link to the Zoom meeting.

eBooks

Annotated Legislation

Annotated Legislation provides the text of the legislation and commentary or explanatory text about each provision.

Laws of Australia - Legal Encyclopaedia

Criminal Law Principles
The Criminal Laws; Ancillary Liability; Defences and Responsibility, Extradition and Mutual Assistance in Criminal Matters
Criminal Offences
Homicide; Assault and Related Offences; Sexual Offences; Offences of Dishonesty; Interference with Property; Drug Offences; Revenue and Currency Offences; Companies and Securities Offences; Motor Vehicle Offences; Public Order; Administration of Law and Justice, Terrorism Offences
Criminal Procedure
Criminal Investigation; Investigation by Independent Agencies; Bail; Summary Proceedings; Committal Proceedings; Pre-trial Procedure; Trial Procedure; Appeals; Legal Representation and Legal Aid; Jurisdictional Enforcement; Confiscation of Proceeds of Crime; Criminal Injuries Compensation
Criminal Sentencing
Purposes of Sentencing; Relevant Factors; Interpretation of Penalty Provisions; Sentencing for Specific Offences; Non-custodial Orders; Financial Orders: Fines; Custodial Orders; Post-custodial Orders; Restitution and Compensation Orders; Consequences of Conviction; Inter-jurisdictional Enforcement; Sentencing of Children; Sentencing Procedure

Halsbury's Laws of Australia - Legal Encyclopaedia

Criminal Law Resources

Australian Sentencing - Westlaw Australia
Commentary on fundamental concepts such as judicial reasoning in sentencing, sentencing hearings, sentencing appeals, the principle of proportionality, sentencing objectives, aggravating and mitigating factors, sentencing and Aboriginality, the sentencing of children under Australian law, criminal sanctions, imprisonment, intermediate sanctions, discharges and bonds, fines and disqualifications, reform of sentencing law in Australia, specific offences as well as core sentencing legislation from all Australian jurisdictions.
Bourke's Criminal Law Victoria - Lexis+
Bourke's Criminal Law Victoria is intended to be a core reference tool for criminal lawyers in Victoria.
Bourke's provides extensive annotations to the Crimes Act 1958, Drugs, Poisons and Controlled Substances Act 1981 and the Summary Offences Act 1966 as well as other Acts of high relevance to Victorian criminal law.
Criminal Law, Investigation and Procedure Victoria - Westlaw Australia
Criminal Law Investigation and Procedure Victoria is a serious reference tool that puts primary criminal law content well within your reach. Convenient and easy to read, this service gives you easy access to extensive legislation and quality commentary on both indictable and summary offences in Victoria. Includes annotated Crimes Act 1958.
Indictable Offences in Victoria - Westlaw Australia
Indictable Offences in Victoria opens with a set of chapters setting out the principles of criminal law in Victoria including alternative verdicts, duplicity and joinder. It also identifies law relevant to causation, defences, sentencing and bail. The major second part comprises an alphabetical treatment of a wide range of indictable offences, addressing the essentials of each and identifying other possible charges.
Ross on Crime - Westlaw Australia
Is a comprehensive A-Z guide to over 350 major terms and principles relating to criminal law practice. Set out in dictionary style, it includes references to thousands of relevant cases and lists details of comparative legislation for all Australian jurisdictions, including those governed by Criminal Codes.
Summary Offences in Victoria - Westlaw Australia
Summary Offences in Victoria is the essential and thorough guide to all matters relevant to the prosecution and defence of summary offences in Victoria's Magistrates' Courts.

Journals in Print and Online

AGIS (Attorney Generals Information Service) - is the leading legal journals database in Australia. Use AGIS to search hundreds of journals for articles about Criminal Law.

If you wish to browse, then the journals below may be useful places to start.

Related Subjects in VU Catalogue

Criminal Law Web Sites

Australian Institute of Criminology
Australia's national research and knowledge centre on crime and justice
Australian Parliamentary Library - Key Internet Links on Criminal Law
This guide contains links to Internet resources and documents in the area of federal criminal law, as well as providing links to other guides and directories which contain material on overseas law.
Judicial College of Victoria - Victorian Criminal Proceedings Manual
The Judicial College of Victoria is a leader in judicial education and professional development.
The College produces practical guides, with material relevant to all Victorian jurisdictions.
Judicial College of Victoria - Criminal Charge Book
The Judicial College of Victoria is a leader in judicial education and professional development.
The College produces practical guides, with material relevant to all Victorian jurisdictions.
Judicial College of Victoria - Victorian Sentencing Manual
The Judicial College of Victoria is a leader in judicial education and professional development.
The College produces practical guides, with material relevant to all Victorian jurisdictions.

Library Guides

Bachelor of Laws: Criminal Law

eBooks

The Criminal Law of Victoria, New South Wales and South Australia

Criminal Investigation and Procedure Victoria

Nutshell: Criminal Law

Criminal Law Elements

Waller and Williams Criminal Law : Text and Cases

Criminal Processes and Investigative Procedures: : Victoria and Commonwealth

Crime, Criminality and Criminal Justice

Criminal Law Perspectives

Criminal Law for Common Law States - Study Guide

Criminal Law - Case Summaries