Library Guides: Bachelor of Laws: Family Law

The area of law relating to the regulation of domestic or personal relationships and the consequences that flow from the end of such relationships. Family law is concerned with matters such as the welfare of children, property and maintenance disputes between married or de facto partners, and legal termination of marital relationships through divorce or annulment.
(Encyclopaedic Australian Legal Dictionary, 2016)

On this Page

Ask a law librarian any questions that you have about legal research or AGLC4 referencing.

Zoom meetings are available Monday - Friday between 8am and 4pm, by appointment. Email the law librarians to book an appointment. Please state your preferred time/day.

murray.greenway@vu.edu.au

debra.hutchinson@vu.edu.au

Send an email now

A law librarian will reply with a confirmation of your appointment and a link to the Zoom meeting.

eBooks

Australian Family Law in Context: Commentary & Materials

(2018) - newer edition also available

Focus Family Law

(2022)

Family Law in Australia

(2021)

Practising Family Law

(2022)

Family Law Provision

(2021)

The Family in Law

(2017)

Family Law - Case Summaries

(2016)

Australian Family Law in Context: Commentary and Materials

(2023)

Annotated Family Law Legislation

(2023)

Annotated Legislation

Annotated Legislation provides the text of the legislation and commentary or explanatory text about each provision.

Lawyers Practice Manual - Victoria

Provides practical guidance on how to complete legal tasks. Includes practical hints, precedents, letters and standard forms.

Laws of Australia - Legal Encyclopaedia

Family Law: Jurisdiction
Introduction; Particular Jurisdictional Issues; Original Jurisdiction in Family Law Matters; Appellate Jurisdiction in Family Law Matters; Commonwealth Jurisdiction in De Facto Matters
Marriage & Nullity
Introduction; Definition and Formalities of Marriage in Australia; Procedural and Jurisdictional Aspects of Nullity; Grounds of Nullity of Marriage
Divorce
Introduction; Historical Development; Procedural and Jurisdictional Requirements; Ground for Divorce; Additional Requirements; Divorce Orders; Declaration of Validity of Divorce
Domestic Violence
Introduction; Domestic Violence As Social Phenomenon; Criminal Law Provisions Applicable to Domestic Violence; Injunctions; Protection Orders; Overview
Status of Children & Parental Rights & Responsibilities
Introduction; Presumptions as to Parentage; Determining Parentage and Parentage Testing; Parentage in Artificial Reproduction and Surrogacy Cases; Parental Responsibilities; Rights of Child; Jurisdiction in Respect of Children
Child Welfare
Introduction; Objectives and Principles Expressed in Child Welfare Laws; Defining Grounds for Protective Intervention; Children in Need of Care and Protection: Notification, Assessment and Emergency Action; Non-coercive Arrangements for Children in Need of Care and Protection; Children in Need of Care and Protection: Jurisdiction and Procedure; Court Proceedings for Children in Need of Care and Protection; Appeals and Review
Child Support
Introduction; Development of Law; Administrative Assessment of Child Support; Formula Assessments; Administrative Alterations to Formula Assessments; Departure from Child Support Assessment; Lump Sum and Substitution Orders; Child Support Agreements; Jurisdiction of Courts; Collection by Child Support Agency; Collection of Child Support; Payment to Payee by Child Support Agency; Review of Child Support Agency Decisions
Maintenance in Marital and De Facto Relationships
Introduction; Support Obligation Arising from Marriage; Spousal Maintenance, Jurisdictional Matters; Exercise of Court's Discretionary Power; Consequential Matters; Enforcement of Spousal Maintenance Maintenance for De Facto Partners under Family Law Act 1975 (Cth)
Property: General Principles
Introduction; Meaning of Property; Jurisdiction over Property Proceedings between Married Couples; Declaration of Property Interests
Family Court Orders
Introduction; Enforcement; Contravention

Halsbury's Laws of Australia - Legal Encyclopaedia

Family Law Resources available on CCH Intelliconnect

CCH is a legal publisher that produces a collection of family law resources including:

Australian Family Law Commentary
The Australian Family Law & Practice services provide the most comprehensive reference on family law issues in Australia, containing practical explanations, accurate coverage of legislative changes & case reporting & in-depth commentary on family law written by leading members of the profession.
Australian Family Law Cases
Full-text from 1976+
Australian Family Practical Tools
Australian Family Law Practice Directions
Australian Family Law Legislation
Australian Child Support Commentary
Australian Child Support Cases
Full text from 1998+
Australian Child Support Legislation
Australian De Facto Relationships Commentary
Australian De Facto Relationship Cases
Full-text from 1985 - 2017
Australian De Facto Relationships Legislation

Additional Family Law Resources

Australian Family Law - Lexis+
An essential, practical tool which contains the information you will need to prepare a family law case. It includes commentary on the many procedural changes introduced by the Family Law Rules 2004 and provides guidance on how the changes will affect day-to-day family law practice.
Family Law - Westlaw Australia
Dickey's Family Law with Legislation offers the distinguished commentary of the sixth edition of Anthony Dickey's Family Law, alongside a very comprehensive legislation suite, comprising a vast collection of Commonwealth and Western Australian statutes as well as state legislation relating to domestic violence orders. The service contains key section annotations to the Family Law Act 1975 (Cth) and the Restraining Orders Act 1997 (WA) as well as new and updated commentary on the practise of Family Law by Judge Grant Riethmuller of the Federal Circuit Court and Dr Robin Smith, Barrister.

Journals in Print and Online

AGIS (Attorney Generals Information Service) - is the leading legal journals database in Australia. Use AGIS to search hundreds of journals for articles about Family Law.

If you wish to browse, then the journals below may be useful places to start.

Related Subjects in VU Catalogue

Family Law Web Sites

Family Court of Australia
The Family Court of Australia is a superior court of record and deals with more complex matters.
The Court’s goal is to deliver excellence in service for children, families and parties through effective judicial and non-judicial processes, high quality and timely judgments while respecting the needs of separating families.
Department of Social Services
The mission of the department of Social Services is to improve the wellbeing of individuals and families in Australian communities
Australian Institute of Family Studies
The Australian Institute of Family Studies (AIFS) is the Australian Government's key research body in the area of family wellbeing. The Institute is an Australian Government statutory agency within the portfolio of the Department of Social Services.
Family Law Council
The council is a statutory authority established under section 115 of the Family Law Act 1975. It commenced operation in November 1976.
The Family Law Council advises and makes recommendations to the Attorney-General about: the workings of the Family Law Act and other legislation relating to family law, the working of legal aid in relation to family law, any other matters relating to family law.
Judicial College of Victoria - Family Violence Bench Book
This publication examines the Family Violence Protection Act 2008, including when to make an intervention order, sentencing principles when a person contravenes an order and the interaction between family violence orders and family law orders and child protection orders. It also contains a chapter on the social context of family violence, including the nature and dynamics of family violence and impact on diverse groups.
Judicial College of Victoria - Children's Court Bench Book
Provides an accessible guide to the jurisdiction of the Children's Court. It includes detailed information on both the Family and Criminal Divisions of the Court.