Library Guides: Bachelor of Laws: Immigration Law

Citizenship and Migration

1. Entering a country for temporary or permanent purposes.

2. In general usage, the Australian Government‘s control over persons entering Australia. Immigration is primarily controlled by the (CTH) Migration Act 1958 through a range of visas (authorities to immigrate) governed by the (CTH) Migration Regulations 1994. Australia has a system of total immigration control by which all non-citizens in Australia must have a valid visa to remain, without which they are subject to mandatory detention and removal.
(Encyclopaedic Australian Legal Dictionary, 2016)

On this Page

Ask a law librarian any questions that you have about legal research or AGLC4 referencing.

Zoom meetings are available Monday - Friday between 8am and 4pm, by appointment. Email the law librarians to book an appointment. Please state your preferred time/day.

murray.greenway@vu.edu.au

debra.hutchinson@vu.edu.au

Send an email now

A law librarian will reply with a confirmation of your appointment and a link to the Zoom meeting.

You may also want to view the dedicated Graduate Diploma in Migration Law Library Guide for more Migration specific information, resources and examples.

eBooks

Australian Immigration Companion by by Rodger Fernandez, Murray Gerkens, and Dominic Yau
ISBN: 9780409353334
Publication Date: 2021
This fully revised and updated 9th edition has been developed to assist students, academics, lawyers, migration practitioners, migration agents, government department personnel and anyone with an interest in migration law to understand Australian migration law in a practical and real-life context. This edition’s expanded practical focus makes it an invaluable companion text for students studying migration law as well as a very useful working tool for practicing migration agents and lawyers.
Laying Down the Law by David Hamer, judith Jones, and Patrick O'Mara
ISBN: 9780409357592
Publication Date: 2023
Laying Down the Law provides a comprehensive and accessible introduction to the study of law.
Australian Migration Legislation Collection by Rodger Fernandez and Sherene Ozyurek
ISBN: 9780409360479
Publication Date: June 2024
Australian Migration Legislation Collection by Rodger Fernandez and Sherene Ozyurek
Call Number: KM 176 K1 FER
ISBN: 9780409360479
Publication Date: June 2024
The library also has a print (hardcopy) version of this book

Immigration Law Resources

LEGENDcom
LEGENDcom is an online database of migration and citizenship legislation and policy documents produced by the Department of Immigration & Border Protection.
Lexis+
Legal research platform covering primary and secondary legal sources. Access full-text Australian and international legal resources, including case law, legislation, journal articles, and commentary. Subject coverage includes administrative law & immigration law.
Australian Immigration Law (Lexis+)
A unique source of expert guidance and practical instruction for legal practitioners, migration agents and government department officers. The commentary provides a complete guide to the legal aspects of immigration, written by specialists in this field.
Australian Immigration Law - Latest Updates
Replaced Australian Immigration Law Bulletin
Lawyers Practice Manual
Chapter 14 - Immigration Law
MAIS (Multicultural Australia & Immigration Studies)
Multicultural Australia and Immigration Studies (MAIS), produced by the Department of Immigration and Citizenship (DIAC) Library, is a bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts a wide range of media from published and unpublished material on all aspects of Australian immigration and multicultural issues.
Lexis+ Practical Guidance - Immigration - NEW
Practical Guidance Immigration is an authoritative guide to Australian Immigration law and policy, containing general guidance on the Australian immigration system and the key processes involved in the provision of immigration advice.

Procedures Advice Manual

Halsbury's Laws of Australia - Legal Encyclopaedia

Journals in Print and Online

AGIS (Attorney Generals Information Service) - is the leading legal journals database in Australia. Use AGIS to search hundreds of journals for articles about Immigration Law.

If you wish to browse, then the journals below may be useful places to start.

Related Subjects in VU Catalogue

Immigration Law Web Sites

Department of Home Affairs (Cth)
Established in December 2017 the Department of Home Affairs (Cth) continues to deliver immigration and customs border policy functions previously delivered by the Department of Immigration and Border Protection. It maintains a comprehensive website, providing a large amount of information and statistical material on immigration issues.
Migration Institute of Australia
The Migration Institute of Australia (MIA) is the professional association for Australian migration service providers worldwide, working together for the benefit of Australia.
AAT (Administrative Appeals Tribunal)
The AAT can review some, but not all, decisions about visas made under the Migration Act 1958 by the Department of Home Affairs, the Minister for Home Affairs or the Minister for Immigration.

Migration Law

	FOOTNOTE CITATION EXAMPLE	BIBLIOGRAPHY/REFERENCE LIST EXAMPLE
PAM3	²⁶ Department of Home Affairs (Cth), Procedures Advice Manual 3: Refugee and Humanitarian – Complementary Protection Guidelines (27 February 2021) [3.3.2].	Department of Home Affairs (Cth), Procedures Advice Manual 3: Refugee and Humanitarian – Complementary Protection Guidelines (27 February 2021)
Instrument	²⁷ Department of Home Affairs (Cth), Migration (LIN 20/102: Arrangements for Student (Temporary) (Class TU) Visa Applications) Instrument 2020 (24 February 2020) s 6(1)(a).	Department of Home Affairs (Cth), Migration (LIN 20/102: Arrangements for Student (Temporary) (Class TU) Visa Applications) Instrument 2020 (24 February 2020)
Code of Conduct	²⁸ Migration (Migration Agents Code of Conduct) Regulations 2021 (Cth) s 10.	Migration (Migration Agents Code of Conduct) Regulations 2021 (Cth)
Regulation	²⁹Migration Regulations 1994 (Cth) reg 5.01.	Migration Regulations 1994 (Cth)
Act	³⁰Migration Act 1958 (Cth) s 5C.	Migration Act 1958 (Cth)
Direction	³¹Minister for Immigration, Citizenship, Migrant Services and Multicultural Affairs (Cth), Direction No 90: VIsa Refusal and Cancellation under Section 501 and Revocation of a Mandatory Cancellation of a Visa under Section 501CA (15 April 2021) para 9.4.1.	Minister for Immigration, Citizenship, Migrant Services and Multicultural Affairs (Cth), Direction No 90: VIsa Refusal and Cancellation under Section 501 and Revocation of a Mandatory Cancellation of a Visa under Section 501CA (15 April 2021)

More information about how to reference migration law materials is available in the Graduate Diploma in Migration Law guide

New Resources

Lexis+ Practical Guidance - Immigration - NEW
Practical Guidance Immigration is an authoritative guide to Australian Immigration law and policy, containing general guidance on the Australian immigration system and the key processes involved in the provision of immigration advice.
Immigration Review - NEW