This is a guide to the fourth edition of the Australian Guide to Legal Citation.
|
Useful Resources Part 1 - General Rules
Part 2 - Domestic Sources |
Part 3 - Secondary Sources
Part 4 - International Materials Part 5 - Foreign Domestic Sources Migration Law |
|
VU EasyRef is an easy-to-use, interactive, mobile based referencing tool for AGLC4, APA, IEEE, and Oxford referencing styles.
|
Please click on the link below to view an interactive online AGLC4 course
|
The following article provides a great introduction to academic integrity, and using the Australian Guide to Legal Citation for referencing:
Anita Mackay and Lola Akin, 'A Beginner's Guide to Academic Integrity and Legal Referencing Using the AGLC' (2022) 47(1) Alternative Law Journal 74.
Referencing is necessary to avoid plagiarism, to verity quotes and to enable readers to identify and consult any item to follow-up a cited author's arguments.
It is also important as it demonstrates the extent of your research and how it has been applied and also gives authorities to support your ideas and assertions.
The Australian Guide to Legal Citation (AGLC) is recommended by Victoria University School of Law for preparing student assignments and research papers.
For more information check the following:
Australian Guide to Legal Citation (Melbourne University Law Review Association, 4th ed, 2018)
Academic Integrity Policy (Victoria University)
The original of all sources used should be consulted and cited. However, it may be important to indicate where one source has referred to another. Phrases such as 'quoting' or 'quoted in', 'cited' or 'cited in' may be used. See examples below - other phrases could be used depending on the context.
| FOOTNOTE CITATION EXAMPLE | ||
| Quoting | The first listed source directly quotes the second source. | Mabo v Queensland [No 2] (1992) 175 CLR 1, 26, quoting Attorney-General (NSW) v Brown (1847) 1 Legge 312, 317-8. |
| Quoted In | The first listed source is quoted directly in the second source | Attorney-General (NSW) v Brown (1847) 1 Legge 312, 317-8, quoted in Mabo v Queensland [No 2] (1992) 175 CLR 1, 26. |
| Citing | The first listed source refers to the second source | Bennett v Commonwealth (2007) 231 CLR 91, 106, citing Lamshed v Lake (1958) 99 CLR 132, 153. |
| Cited In | The first listed source is referred to in the second source | Lamshed v Lake (1958) 99 CLR 132, 153 cited in Bennett v Commonwealth (2007) 231 CLR 91, 106. |
| Discussed | The first listed source discussed the second source | Adrienne Stone, 'Comparativism in Constitutional Interpretation' [2009] New Zealand Review 45, 59, discussed Airlines of New South Wales Pty Ltd v New South Wales [No 2] (1965) 113 CLR 54, 113-15. |
| Discussed In | The first listed source is discussed in the second source | Airlines of New South Wales Pty Ltd v New South Wales [No 2] (1965) 113 CLR 54, 113-15, discussed in Adrienne Stone, 'Comparativism in Constitutional Interpretation' [2009] New Zealand Law Review 45, 59. |
When citing a source that has previously been cited (other than the immediately preceding footnote) a shortened form of the citation may be provided with a cross-reference (in parentheses) to the footnote number in which the citation was shown in full.
Book
1 Catherine MacMillan, Mistakes in Contract Law (Hart Publishing, 2010) 38.
2 N C Seddon and M P Ellinghaus, Cheshire and Fifoot’s Law of Contract (LexisNexis, 9th ed, 2008) 867.
3 Des Butler, Contract Law (LexisNexis, 4th ed, 2012) 38.
Journal Article
4 James Allsop, ‘Good Faith and Australian Contract Law: A Practical Issue and a Question of Theory and Principle’ (2011) 85(6) Australian Law Review 341, 352.
5 Des Butler, ‘Breach of Contract and Contributory Negligence: a Protracted Debate Finally Resolved’ (2000) 28(2) Australian Business Law Review 132, 135.
...
Multiple Sources in Footnote
7 J W Carter, Carter’s Guide to Australian Contract Law (LexisNexis, 2nd ed, 2011) 521; Peter Radan and John Gooley, Principles of Australian Contract Law (LexisNexis, 2nd ed, 2010) 489.
8 Radan and Gooley (n 7).
Case
9 Byrne v Australian Airlines Ltd (1995) 185 CLR 410 ('Byrne').
14 Seddon and Ellinghaus (n 2) 869.
15 MacMillan ( n 1).
16 Allsop (n 4) 353-4.
17 Butler, 'Breach of Contract and Contributory Negligence' (n 5) 134.
18 Byrne (n 9) 461 (McHugh, Gummow JJ).
19 CHRR Act (n 10) s 24.
20 CISG (n 11) art 30.
Tips: Include the title (shortened) where there are multiple works by the same author. Where there are works by authors with the same surname, the authors full name should be included to avoid ambiguity. Subsequent references to United Nations and WTO Documents should be cited in accordance with AGLC rule 9.5 and 13.5
Ibid should be used to refer to the source in the immediately preceding footnote, including pinpoints
Book
1 D Khoury and Y Yamouni, Understanding Contract Law (LexisNexis, 7thed, 2007) 56.
2 Ibid.
Legislation
8 Crimes Act 1958 (Vic) s 38.
9 Ibid s 38(2).
Case
15 Chamberlain v The Queen (1984) 153 CLR 521, 525.
16 Ibid 526.
Direct quotations reproduce the exact words used in a source.
|
Short Quotations
Example Priestly JA stated that 'there is a close association of ideas between the terms unreasonableness, lack of good faith, and unconscionability'.67 |
Long Quotations
ExampleThe Judge stated: It is the everyday experience of the courts that honest witnesses are frequently in error about the details of events. The more accounts that they are asked to give the greater is the chance that there will be discrepancies about details and even inconsistencies in the various accounts. Of course, it is legitimate to test the honesty or accuracy of a witness's evidence by analysing the discrepancies and inconsistencies in his or her accounts of an incident. In a case where accuracy of recollection is vital - such as the account of a conversation in a fraud case or the description of a person where identity is the issue...63 |
A bibliography lists all the sources that you have relied upon in preparing your assignment. It would include those sources referred to in your text and footnotes plus any others.
A bibliography is generally divided into the sections shown below. If not all are required, a section may be omitted with appropriate renumbering.
A Articles/Books/Reports
B Case Law
C Legislation
D Treaties
E Other
In the bibliography:
SAMPLE BIBLIOGRAPHY
BIBLIOGRAPHY
A Articles/Books/Reports
Bailey, David, ‘Reforming Civil Procedure in Victoria: Two Steps Forward and One Step Back?’ (2011) 1(1) Dictum 81
Francis, Angus and Neil Andrews, 'Insolvency Law in Taiwan: The Interplay between Official and Unofficial Law' in Roman Tomasic (ed), Insolvency Law in East Asia (Ashgate, 2006)
French, Robert, ‘The Role of the High Court in the Recognition of Native Title’ (2002) 30(2) University of Western Australia Law Review 129
Graw, Stephen, An Introduction to the Law of Contract (Thomson Reuters, 9th ed, 2017)
Sheehan, Grania and Jody Hughes, 'Division of Matrimonial Property in Australia' (Research Paper No 25, Australian Institute of Family Studies, 2001)
Victorian Law Reform Commission, Civil Justice Review (Report No 14, March 2008)
B Cases
Chamberlain v The Queen (1984) 153 CLR 521
Frontier Dispute (Benin v Niger) (Judgment) [2005] ICJ Rep 90
Lane v Morrison [2009] HCA 29
C Legislation
Australian Constitution
Competition and Consumer Act 2010 (Cth)
Crimes Act 1958 (Vic)
D Treaties
Convention on the International Recovery of Child Support and Other Forms of Family Maintenance, opened for signature 23 November 2007, 47 ILM 257 (not yet in force)
Convention Relating to the Status of Refugees, opened for signature 28 July 1951, 189 UNTS 150 (entered into force 22 April 1954)
E Other
New South Wales, Parliamentary Debates, Legislative Assembly, 15 December 1990
REPORTED (LAW REPORT)
The details required in order are: Case Name (in italics); Year (in round brackets); Volume Number; Law Report Series (abbreviation); Starting Page Number; Pinpoint page number where appropriate (used when referring to a specific point in the judgment); Name of Judge/s (only used where appropriate).
Example: Kartinyeri v Commonwealth (1998) 195 CLR 337, 383 (Gummow and Hayne JJ).
| FOOTNOTE CITATION EXAMPLE | BIBLIOGRAPHY/REFERENCE LIST EXAMPLE | |
|
Reported Law Report
|
26 Chamberlain v The Queen [No 2] (1984) 153 CLR 521, 529. 27 Commonwealth v Tasmania (1983) 158 CLR 521 ('Tasmanian Dam Case'). 28 Dale v Scott; Ex parte Dale [1985] 1 Qd R 406, 408. 29 DPP (Vic) v Finn (2008) 186 A Crim R 235. 30 Momentum Productions Pty Ltd v Lewarne (2009) 254 ALR 223. 31 R v Reid [1977] VR 430, 433-4.
Case name should NOT be included in a footnote citation if it appears in the sentence accompanying the footnote. For example - |
Chamberlain v The Queen [No 2] (1984) 153 CLR 521 Commonwealth v Tasmania (1983) 158 CLR 1 Dale v Scott; Ex parte Dale [1985] 1 Qd R 406 DPP (Vic) v Finn (2008) 186 A Crim R 235 Momentum Productions Pty Ltd v Lewarne (2009) 254 ALR 223 R v Reid [1977] VR 430
|
UNREPORTED (WITH MEDIUM NEUTRAL CITATION)
The details required in order are: Case Name (in italics); Year (in square brackets); Abbreviation for the Court; Judgement Number (allocated by the court); Pinpoint reference to paragraph (in square brackets) where appropriate.
UNREPORTED (WITHOUT A MEDIUM NEUTRAL CITATION)
The details required in order are: Case Name (in italics); Court; Judge; Full Date; Pinpoint reference to page where appropriate.
| FOOTNOTE CITATION EXAMPLE | BIBLIOGRAPHY REFERENCE LIST EXAMPLE | |
|
Unreported
with
Medium
Neutral
Citation
 |
32 Murray v The Queen [2002] HCA 26, [54]-[55]. 33 R v De Gruchy [2006] VSCA 10, [4]. |
Murray v The Queen [2002] HCA 26 R v De Gruchy [2006] VSCA 10 |
|
Unreported
without
Medium
Neutral
Citation
|
34 Ross v Chambers (Supreme Court of Northern Territory, Kriewaldt J, 5 April 1956) 77.
|
Ross v Chambers (Supreme Court of Northern Territory, Kriewaldt J, 5 April 1956) |
Tip: A case should generally not be cited as unreported if it has been reported
Todorovic v Waller (1981) 150 CLR 402 For round bracket ( ) citations, the year is not essential for locating the case.
Macpherson v Kevin J Prunty & Associates [1983] 1 VR 573
For square bracket [ ] citations, the year is essential as the report series either does not have a volume number or, as in this instance, begins with volume 1 each year.
Watts v Turpin [2000] Aust Torts Reports 81-544
Cases published by CCH have a slightly different citation style. Numbers such as 81-544 as shown above are references to paragraphs. These numbers are displayed at the bottom of the page in CCH reports. Numbers that do not include a hyphen are references to page numbers. These numbers are displayed at the top of the page in CCH reports.
McCracken v Melbourne Storm Rugby League Football Club [2005] NSWSC 107
This citation is a medium neutral citation. This method of citation was developed to accommodate referencing unreported judgments. In the example above, 2005 is the year that the case was decided, NSWSC stands for the New South Wales Supreme Court; 107 is the number of the case assigned by the Court.
UK Cases
The details required in order are: Case Name (in italics); Volume, Year (in brackets); Law Report Series (abbreviation); Starting Page Number; Pinpoint page number where appropriate (used when referring to a specific point in the judgment); Name of Judge/s (only used where appropriate).
A law report series may be organised by year or volume. A law report series that is organised by year is referenced with the year encolsed within square brackets, and doesn't always have a volume number. A law report series that is organised by volume is usually referenced with the year enclosed within round brackets, and always has a volume number.
The English Reports (ER) are unusual because they contain reprints of earlier reported cases. As such, the English Reports are organised by volume, and have no year.
| FOOTNOTE CITATION EXAMPLE | BIBLIOGRAPHY REFERENCE LIST EXAMPLE | |
|
Authorised Reported Case 1865 - Present |
12 Donoghue v Stevenson [1932] AC 562, 564. |
Donoghue v Stevenson [1932] AC 562 |
|
Pre 1865 Nominate Report with Parallel Citation |
34 Lawson v Widdrington (1661) 1 Lev 85; 83 ER 310. |
Lawson v Widdrington (1661) 1 Lev 85; 83 ER 310 |
The details required in order are: Short Title Year (in italics); Jurisdiction abbreviation (in round brackets); Pinpoint to section(s), regulation(s), rule(s) etc (an abbreviation and number(s)) if applicable.
Example: Competition and Consumer Act 2010 (Cth) s 76.
| FOOTNOTE CITATION EXAMPLE | BIBLIOGRAPHY/REFERENCE LIST EXAMPLE | |
|
Act/Statute
Regulation |
35 Crimes Act 1958 (Vic) s 1. 38 Supreme Court (General Civil Procedure) Rules 2015 (Vic) r 13.01. |
Crimes Act 1958 (Vic)
|
|
Bill
|
39 Interactive Gambling Bill 2001 (Cth). | Interactive Gambling Bill 2001 (Cth) |
|
Explanatory Memorandum
|
40 Explanatory Memorandum, Corporate Law Reform Bill 1992 (Cth). | Explanatory Memorandum, Corporate Law Reform Bill 1992 (Cth) |
The details required in order are: Short Title Year (in italics); Jurisdiction abbreviation (in round brackets); Pinpoint to section(s), regulation(s), rule(s) etc. (an abbreviation and number(s)) if applicable.
Example: Legal Profession Uniform Law Australian Solicitors' Conduct Rules 2015 (Vic) r 17.
| FOOTNOTE CITATION EXAMPLE | BIBLIOGRAPHY/REFERENCE LIST EXAMPLE | |
| Regulations, Rules, and Orders |
25 Migration Regulations 1994 (Cth) reg 5.01. 26 Supreme Court (General Civil Procedure) Rules 2015 (Vic) r 13.01. 27 Federal Court Rules 1979 (Cth) ord 7. |
Migration Regulations 1994 (Cth) Supreme Court (General Civil Procedure) Rules 2015 (Vic) Federal Court Rules 1979 (Cth) |
| Delegated Legislation issued by Non- Government Entities |
28 Legal Services Council, Legal Profession Uniform Law Australian Solicitors' Conduct Rules 2015 (at 22 April 2022) pt 2. NOTE - use the date last updated. Your date may therefore vary from this example. |
Legal Services Council, Legal Profession Uniform Law Australian Solicitors' Conduct Rules 2015 (at 22 April 2022) |
PRINT JOURNAL
The details required in order are: Author of the article (as shown in source); Article Title (in single quotation marks); Publication Year (in round brackets); Volume number; Issue number (in round brackets); Journal Title (in italics and capitalised, omitting words such as ‘The’ and ‘An’ from the beginning); Starting Page number, Pinpoint reference to a specific page(s) (if applicable).
Example: Mark Leibler, 'Tax and the Rule of Law' (2023) 46(2) Melbourne University Law Review 547, 552.
| FOOTNOTE CITATION EXAMPLE | BIBLIOGRAPHY/REFERENCE LIST EXAMPLE | |
| Single Author | 14 Robert French, 'The Role of the High Court in the Recognition of Native Title' (2002) 30(2) University of Western Australian Law Review 129, 131. | French, Robert, 'The Role of the High Court in the Recognition of Native Title' (2002) 30(2) University of Western Australian Law Review 129 |
|
Two Authors |
15 Kathy Bowrey and Natalie Fowell, 'Digging Up Fragments and Building IP Franchises' (2009) 31 Sydney Law Review 185. | Bowrey, Kathy and Natalie Fowell, 'Digging Up Fragments and Building IP Franchises' (2009) 31 Sydney Law Review 185 |
|
Three Authors |
16 Matthew Alderton, Michael Granziera and Martin Smith, 'Judicial Review and Jurisdictional Errors: The Recent Migration Jurisprudence of the High Court of Australia' (2011) 18(3) Australian Journal of Administraive Law 138. | Alderton, Matthew, Michael Granziera and Martin Smith, 'Judicial Review and Jurisdictional Errors: The Recent Migration Jurisprudence of the High Court of Australia' (2011) 18(3) Australian Journal of Administraive Law 138 |
|
Three + Authors |
17 Darren Bick et al, 'A Gold Mine for Environmental Class Actions in Australia?' (2010) 25(9-10) Australian Environment Review 8. | Bick, Darren et al, 'A Gold Mine for Environmental Class Actions in Australia?' (2010) 25(9-10) Australian Environment Review 8 |
Tip: If a journal is organised by year (it does not have a volume number, but may have a numbered issue) the publication date should be shown in square brackets. For example -
...[2009] (46) Australian Rationalist 20.
...[2018] (Autumn) Bar News: Journal of the NSW Bar Association 52.
ONLINE JOURNAL
Articles appearing in journals that are only available online (no print version published), should where possible, be cited in the same manner as articles in printed journals. However, it will often not be possible to include a volume number, issue number or starting page. Where an article has an article number or some other identifier, this would be used instead of a starting page number. If an article appears as a PDF (portable document format) or equivalent, include the page range of the PDF version, after the article identifier.
| FOOTNOTE CITATION EXAMPLE | BIBLIOGRAPHY/REFERENCE LIST EXAMPLE | |
|
Electronic Journal
|
19 Lyndon Griggs, 'Torrens Title in a Digital World' (2001) 8(3) E-Law Journal: Murdoch University Electronic Journal of Law 3: 1-7, 2. (3 and 1-17 and 2 refers to article number 3, pages 1-7 of the PDF version, pinpoint to page 2 respectively)
|
Griggs, Lyndon, 'Torrens Title in a Digital World' (2001) 8(3) E-Law Journal: Murdoch University Electronic Journal of Law 3, 1-7
|
The details required in order are: Author(s) Name (as it appears in the source). An author may also be editor(s), compiler(s) or an institution; Title of publication (and Subtitle if any) in italics; Publisher (brief version of name), Edition (if other than the first), Publication Year (in round brackets); Pinpoint (usually to page number(s) if applicable).
Example: John Gooley, Peter Radan, and Ilija Vickovich, Principles of Australian Contract Law: Cases and Materials (LexisNexis, 5th ed, 2021) 52.
| FOOTNOTE CITATION EXAMPLE | BIBLIOGRAPHY / REFERENCE LIST EXAMPLE | |
| Single Author |
1 Stephen Graw, An Introduction to the Law of Contract When citing a source that has previously been cited (other than the immediately preceding footnote) a shortened form of the citation may be provided with cross-reference (in parentheses) to the footnote number in which the citation was shown in full (as below) -
|
Graw, Stephen, An Introduction to the Law of Contract (Lawbook, 6th ed, 2008) |
| Two Authors | 5 D Khoury and Y Yamouni, Understanding Contract Law (LexisNexis, 7th ed, 2007). | Khoury, D and Y Yamouni, Understanding Contract Law (LexisNexis, 7th ed, 2007) |
| Three Authors | 6 Sarah Joseph, Jenny Schultz and Melissa Castan, The International Covenant on Civil and Political Rights: Cases, Materials and Commentary (Oxford University Press, 2nd ed, 2004) 57. | Joseph, Sarah, Jenny Schultz and Melissa Castan, The International Covenant on Civil and Political Rights: Cases, Materials and Commentary (Oxford University Press, 2nd ed, 2004) |
|
Three + Authors
|
7 B Pentony et al, Understanding Business Law (LexisNexis, 4th ed, 2009) 123. | Pentony, B et al, Understanding Business Law (LexisNexis, 4th ed, 2009) |
| No Author | 8 Cambridge Advanced Learner's Dictionary (Cambridge University Press, 2003) 943. | Cambridge Advanced Learner's Dictionary (Cambridge University Press, 2003) |
| Editor | 9 Matthew Groves (ed), Law and Government in Australia (Federation Press, 2005). | Groves, Matthew (ed), Law and Government in Australia (Federation Press, 2005) |
|
Institution, Corporation or Other Organisational Author |
10 Leo Cusson Institute, Advising Same Sex Couples (2002).
|
Leo Cusson Institute, Advising Same Sex Couples (2002)
|
|
Chapter/Part -Number of Authors Contributed
|
12 Angus Francis and Neil Andrews, 'Insolvency Law in Taiwan: The Interplay Between Official and Unofficial Law' in Roman Tomasic (ed), Insolvency Law in East Asia (Ashgate, 2006) 125, 131. |
Francis, Angus and Neil Andrews, 'Insolvency Law in |
The details required in order are: Author, Title (in italics); then Type of Publication (such as Report, Final Report, Annual Report etc.) and Document Number (if there is one) and Full Date (all in round brackets) Pinpoint generally to page numbers or paragraphs.
Example: Consumer Action Law Centre, The New Energy Tech Consumer Code: Representing the Interests of Australian Consumers at the Australian Competition Tribunal (Report, March 2021) 5.
| FOOTNOTE CITATION EXAMPLE | BIBLIOGRAPHY REFERENCE LIST EXAMPLE | |
| Reports |
26 Qantas Airways, Qantas Annual Report 2017: Positioning for Sustainability and Growth (Report, 2017) 12. 27 Paul McGorrey and Felicity Stewart, Reforming Adjourned Undertakings in Victoria (Final Report, June 2023) 19. |
Qantas Airways, Qantas Annual Report 2017: Positioning for Sustainability and Growth (Report, 2017) Paul McGorrey and Felicity Stewart, Reforming Adjourned Undertakings in Victoria (Final Report, June 2023) |
Note: For Royal Commission Reports see Rule 7.1.3
The details required in order are: Author, Title (in italics); then Type of Publication (such as Report, Issues Paper etc.) and Document Number (if there is one) and Full Date (all in round brackets) Pinpoint generally to page numbers or paragraphs.
Example: Victorian Law Reform Commission, Stalking (Final Report, June 2022) 12.
| FOOTNOTE CITATION EXAMPLE | BIBLIOGRAPHY REFERENCE LIST EXAMPLE | |
| Law Reform Commission Publications |
26 Australian Law Reform Commission, Elder Abuse (Discussion Paper No 83, December 2016) [1.12]. 27 Victorian Law Reform Commission, Civil Justice Review (Report No 14, March 2008) [3.5.4]. |
Australian Law Reform Commission, Elder Abuse (Discussion Paper No 83, December 2016) Victorian Law Reform Commission, Civil Justice Review (Report No 14, March 2008) |
The details required in order are: Author; Title (in single quotation marks); Document Type/Series Document Number, Institution/Forum, Full Date (in parentheses); Pinpoint if applicable. A URL may be included after the first reference to a source if it would aid in its retrieval.
Example: Peter Cashman and Amelia Simpson, 'Class Acton: Commercial Funding Regulation and Conflict of Interest ' (Research Paper No 7, Faculty of Law, University of New South Wales, 1 December, 2020) 5.
| FOOTNOTE CITATION EXAMPLE | BIBLIOGRAPHY/REFERENCE LIST EXAMPLE | |
|
Discussion Paper
|
26 Productivity Commission (Cth), 'Increasing Australia's Future Prosperity' (Discussion Paper, November 2016) 5. | Productivity Commission (Cth), 'Increasing Australia's Future Prosperity' (Discussion Paper, November 2016) |
| Working Paper | 27 Anna Chapman, 'Australian Anti-Discrimination Law, Work, Care and Family' (Working Paper No 51, Centre for Employment and Labour Relations, The University of Melbourne, January 2012) 18. | Chapman, Anna, 'Australian anti-Discrimination Law, Work, Care and Family' (Working Paper No 51, Centre for Employment and Labour Relations, The University of Melbourne, January 2012) |
| Thesis | 28 Kumudini Heenetigala, 'Corporate Governance Practices and Firm Performance of Listed Companies in Sri Lanka (PhD Thesis, Victoria University, 2011). | Heenetigala, Kumudini, 'Corporate Governance Practices and Firm Performance of Listed Companies in Sri Lanka (PhD Thesis, Victoria University, 2011) |
| Conference Paper | 29 Diana Bryant, 'The Family Courts and Family Violence' (Conference Paper, Judicial Conference of Australia, 10 October 2015. | Bryant, Diana, 'The Family Courts and Family Violence' (Conference Paper, Judicial Conference of Australia, 10 October 2015) |
|
Speeches & Lectures
|
30 Robert French, 'Ethics and Public Office' (Speech, Sir Zelman Cowen Memorial Oration, Monash University, 10 September 2015). | French, Robert, 'Ethics and Public Office' (Speech, Sir Zelman Cowen Memorial Oration, Monash University, 10 September 2015) |
| FOOTNOTE CITATION EXAMPLE | BIBLIOGRAPHY/REFERENCE LIST EXAMPLE | |
|
Hansard
|
26 Commonwealth, Parliamentary Debates, Senate, 18 June 2008, 2642-4 (Bob Brown). | Commonwealth, Parliamentary Debates, Senate, 18 June 2008 |
| Committee Report | 27 Law Reform, Road and Community Safety Committee, Parliament of Victoria, Inquiry into the Crimes Amendment (Unlicensed Drivers) Bill 2018 (Report, September 2018) 5. | Law Reform, Road and Community Safety Committee, Parliament of Victoria, Inquiry into the Crimes Amendment (Unlicensed Drivers) Bill 2018 (Report, September 2018) |
| Bills Digest | 28 Department of Parliamentary Services (Cth), Bills Digest (Digest No 23 of 2010-11, 20 October 2010) 10. | Department of Parliamentary Services (Cth), Bills Digest (Digest No 23 of 2010-11, 20 October 2010) |
| Submission to Government / Parliamentary Inquiry | 29 Law Institute of Victoria, Submission No 78 to House of Representatives Standing Committee on Legal and Constitutional Affairs, Parliament of Australia, Inquiry into Older People and the Law (13 December 2006). | Law Institute of Victoria, Submission No 78 to House of Representatives Standing Committee on Legal and Constitutional Affairs, Parliament of Australia, Inquiry into Older People and the Law (13 December 2006) |
The details required in order are: - Title of Dictionary (in italics); online and date of retrieval (in parentheses); Entry title (in single quotes); Definition number if required (in parentheses).
Example: Oxford Dictionary of English (online at 15 August 2023) 'violence' (def 1).
| FOOTNOTE CITATION EXAMPLE | BIBLIOGRAPHY/REFERENCE LIST EXAMPLE | |
| Dictionary (Print) | 23 Macquarie Dictionary (7th ed, 2017) 'justice' (def 2). | Macquarie Dictionary (7th ed, 2017) |
|
Dictionary (Online) |
24 Encyclopaedic Australian Legal Dictionary (online at 15 June 2023) 'assault' (def 1). |
Encyclopaedic Australian Legal Dictionary (online at 15 June 2023) |
Legal Encyclopedia - Online
The details required in order are: - Publisher, Title of Encyclopedia (in italics); online and date of retrieval (in parentheses); Title Number, Name of Title, Chapter Number Name of Chapter (in single quotation marks); Pinpoint (to paragraph number in square brackets) .
Example: LexisNexis, Halsbury's Laws of Australia (online at 20 October 2023) 250 Legal Practitioners, '4 Lawyers' Duty to the Court' [250-5000].
| FOOTNOTE CITATION EXAMPLE | BIBLIOGRAPHY/REFERENCE LIST EXAMPLE | |
| Legal Encyclopedia (Online) | 23 Westlaw AU, Laws of Australia (online at 21 November 2018) 33 Torts, '33.2 Negligence' [33.2.210]. | Westlaw AU, Laws of Australia (online at 21 November 2018) 33 Torts, '33.2 Negligence' |
|
Legal Encyclopedia (Online) |
24 LexisNexis, Halsbury's Law of Australia (online at 17 June 2021) 205 Family Law, '2 Marriage' [205-425]. |
LexisNexis, Halsbury's Law of Australia (online at 17 June 2021) 205 Family Law, '2 Marriage' |
Looseleaf Service - Online
The details required in order are: Publisher; Title (in italics); online at Date of Retrieval (in parentheses); Pinpoint (to paragraph in square brackets].
| FOOTNOTE CITATION EXAMPLE | BIBLIOGRAPHY/REFERENCE LIST EXAMPLE | |
|
Looseleaf |
25 Westlaw AU, Indictable Offences in Victoria (online at 10 November 2018) [23.90]. | Westlaw AU, Indictable Offences in Victoria (online at 10 November 2018) |
|
Looseleaf Service |
26 LexisNexis, Australian Encyclopaedia of Forms and Precedents (online at 17 June 2021) [25.15]. |
LexisNexis, Australian Encyclopaedia of Forms and Precedents (online at 17 June 2021) |
|
Looseleaf |
27 CCH Australia, Australian Contract Law Commentary (online at 2 January 2024) ¶25-050. | CCH Australia, Australian Contract Law Commentary (online at 2 January 2024) |
ELECTRONIC NEWSPAPERS
The details required in order are: Author of the article (if available); Article Title (in single quotation marks); Name of the Newspaper in italics; the word online, Full Date (in round brackets); the URL. A pinpoint reference would only be included where the article has pages or paragraphs.
Example: Alexandra Smith, 'Up to 250 Doctors Sign on to Deliver New Assisted Dying Laws', The Age (online, 23 October 2023) <https://www.theage.com.au/politics/nsw/up-to-250-doctors-sign-on-to-deliver-new-assisted-dying-laws-20231021-p5edzh.html>.
PRINT NEWSPAPER
The details required in order are: Author of the article (if available and as it appears in the source); Article Title (in single quotation marks); Name of Newspaper (in italics); Place of Publication, Full Date (in round brackets); Pinpoint Reference to a specific page(s) if applicable.
| FOOTNOTE CITATION EXAMPLE | BIBLIOGRAPHY/REFERENCE LIST EXAMPLE | |
| 18 Chris Griffith, 'Bunnies Still Run After Day in Court', The Courier Mail (Brisbane, 30 July 2002) 3. | Griffith, Chris, 'Bunnies Still Run After Day in Court', The Courier Mail (Brisbane, 30 July 2002) | |
|
Electronic
|
19 Johnathon Ames, ‘Unpaid Work: A crucial Pillar of Justice', The Times (online, 10 November 2016) <http://www.times.co.uk/article/unpaid-work-a-crucial-pillar-of-justice-rnx5rd6fs>. | Ames, Johnathon, 'Unpaid Work: A Crucial Pillar of Justice', The Times (online, 10 November 2016) <http://www.times.co.uk/article/unpaid-work-a-crucial-pillar-of-justice-rnx5rd6fs> |
Generative AI
Generative artificial intelligence (AI) language models (such as ChatGPT, Copilot, Midjourney) respond to natural language text inputs and are designed to generate human-like text or image responses.
The updated VU Academic Integrity Policy provides a definition of Artificial Intelligence and, in Part C of the Policy lists "The use of artificial intelligence models to generate any of the above without acknowledging the use of the model." as a form of plagiarism.
Student Guidelines for using text generating tools in your work and Staff Guidelines are provided within the accompanying Academic Integrity Guidelines.
Only use these tools if explicitly directed to do so by your VU academic as part of your learning or research experience. If in doubt, check with the relevant teaching staff member or research supervisor. Using these tools without permission may be considered an Academic Integrity breach.
When permitted to use AI in your work, it is essential that you:
Any output from a generative AI Program/App used in your work must be clearly cited using the conventions of your referencing style.
Updated: 13 April 2023
| The editors of the Melbourne University Law Review and Melbourne Journal of International Law have provided interim guidance to broadly follow rule 7.12 (written correspondence) when referencing generative AI. |
The details required in order are: the name of the Program; Name of the Creator of the program; Name of the Recipient; the Full Date.
Output from [program], [creator] to [recipient], [full date].
The bibliography entry should appear under the heading 'Other'.
| FOOTNOTE CITATION EXAMPLE | BIBLIOGRAPHY/REFERENCE LIST EXAMPLE | |
| ChatGPT |
18 Output from ChatGPT, OpenAI to John Smith, 13 March 2023. Discursive text may be used in the footnote to provide information about the prompts used to generate the output, in accordance with rule 1.1.5. 19 Output from ChatGPT, OpenAI to John Smith, 13 March 2023. The output was generated in response to the prompt, ‘Provide an overview of the creation of the Australian Guide to Legal Citation’: see below Appendix A. An appendix may be used in order to provide comprehensive information about the prompts and outputs used to generate the output.
|
OpenAI, ChatGPT to John Smith, Output, 13 March 2023 |
The details required in order are: Author (if indicated on the webpage being cited); Document Title (in single quotation marks); Web Page Title (in italics); Document Type, Full Date (in round brackets); URL (enclosed in < >). A source should be cited as internet material if it does not exist in a published form and/or there is no other AGLC rule that would apply.
Tips:
Example: Sana Nakata, 'On Voice, and the Political Power of Representation', AusPubLaw (Blog Post, 20 March 2023) <https://www.auspublaw.org/first-nations-voice/on-voice-and-the-political-power-of-representation>.
| FOOTNOTE CITATION EXAMPLE | BIBLIOGRAPHY REFERENCE LIST EXAMPLE | |
|
Blog Post |
26 Cherly Saunders, 'Reflections on the Local Government Referendum that Wasn't', Opinions on High (Blog Post, 23 September 2013) <https://blogs.unimelb.edu.au/opinionsonhigh/ 2013/09/23/saunders-local-government-referendum/>. | Saunders, Cheryl, 'Reflections on the Local Government Referendum that Wasn't, Opinions on High (Blog Post, 23 September 2013) <https://blogs.unimelb.edu.au/opinionsonhigh/ 2013/09/23/saunders-local-government-referendum/> |
|
Web Page
|
27 'About VCAT', Victorian Civil and Administrative Tribunal (Web Page) <https://vcat.vic.gov.au/about-vcat>. |
'About VCAT', Victorian Civil and Administrative Tribunal (Web Page) <https://vcat.vic.gov.au/about-vcat>
|
Frequently Cited UN Treaties / Official Documents
Charter of the United Nations.
Convention against Torture and Other Cruel, Inhuman or Degrading Treatment or Punishment, opened for signature 10 December 1984, 1465 UNTS 85 (entered into force 26 June 1987).
Convention for the Protection of Human Rights and Fundamental Freedoms, opened for signature 4 November 1950, 213 UNTS 221 (entered into force 3 September 1953).
Convention of the Elimination of All Forms of Discrimination against Women, opened for signature 18 December 1979, 1249 UNTS 13 (entered into force 3 September 1981).
Convention on the Rights of the Child, opened for signature 20 November 1989, 1577 UNTS 3 (entered into force 2 September 1990).
Convention of the Rights of Persons with Disabilities, opened for signature 13 December 2006, 2515 UNTS 3 (entered into force 3 May 2008).
Convention Relating to the Status of Refugees, opened for signature 28 July 1951, 189 UNTS 150 (entered into force 22 April 1954).
International Covenant on Civil and Political Rights, opened for signature 16 December 1966, 999 UNTS 171 (entered into force 23 March 1976).
International Covenant on Economic, Social and Cultural Rights, opened for signature 16 December 1966, 993 UNTS 3 (entered into force 3 January 1976.
International Convention on the Elimination of All Forms of Racial Discrimination, opened for signature 21 December 1965, 660 UNTS 195 (entered into force 4 January 1969).
Kyoto Protocol to the United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change, opened for signature 11 December 1997, 2303 UNTS 148 (entered into force 16 February 2005).
Marrakesh Agreement Establishing the World Trade Organization, opened for signature 15 April 1994, 1867 UNTS 3 (entered into force 1 January 1995) annex 1C ('Agreement on Trade-Related Aspects of Intellectual Property Rights').
Universal Declaration of Human Rights, GA Res 217A (III), UN GAOR, UN Doc A/810 (10 December 1948).
United Nations Convention on Contracts for the International Sale of Goods, opened for signature 11 April 1980, 1489 UNTS 3 (entered into force I January 1988).
Vienna Convention on the Law of Treaties, opened for signature 23 May 1969, 1155 UNTS 331 (entered into force 27 January 1980).
United Nations Declaration on the Rights of Indigenous Peoples, GA Res 61/295, UN Doc A/RES/61/295 (2 October 2007, adopted 13 September 2007).
Decisions of UN Treaty Committees
Sample Reference to Human Rights Committee View
Human Rights Committee, Views: Communication No 900/1999, 76th sess, UN Doc CCPR/C/76/D/900/1999 (13 November 2002) (‘C v Australia’).
Where a pinpoint reference is included it should follow immediately after the date.
Please refer to AGLC Rule 9.3.1
Sample Reference to Human Rights Committee General Comment
Human Rights Committee, General Comment No 33: Obligations of States Parties under the Optional Protocol to the International Convention on Civil and Political Rights, 94th sess, UN Doc CCPR/C/GC/33 (25 June 2009)
Please refer to rule 9.2
Somestimes the session is not shown on the document. RefWorld is a handy site to look up session numbers for UN documents - search by UN Doc number / symbol
Constitution
United States Constitution art IV § 3.
United States Constitution amend XXI.
Texas Constitution art 1 § 8.
Tips:
To type the § symbol, if your keyboard has a number keypad just hold the ALT key and type 21.
For a list of the relevant Pintpoint abbreviations see rule 25.2.4
Bill of Rights
The Bill of Rights consists of the first 10 amendments to the United States Constitution. Therefore, reference it as you would the constitution.
United States Constitution amends I – X (‘Bill of Rights’)
| FOOTNOTE CITATION EXAMPLE | BIBLIOGRAPHY/REFERENCE LIST EXAMPLE | |
| PAM3 | 26 Department of Home Affairs (Cth), Procedures Advice Manual 3: Refugee and Humanitarian – Complementary Protection Guidelines (27 February 2021) [3.3.2]. |
Department of Home Affairs (Cth), Procedures Advice Manual 3: Refugee and Humanitarian – Complementary Protection Guidelines (27 February 2021) |
| Instrument | 27 Department of Home Affairs (Cth), Migration (LIN 20/102: Arrangements for Student (Temporary) (Class TU) Visa Applications) Instrument 2020 (24 February 2020) s 6(1)(a). | Department of Home Affairs (Cth), Migration (LIN 20/102: Arrangements for Student (Temporary) (Class TU) Visa Applications) Instrument 2020 (24 February 2020) |
| Code of Conduct | 28 Migration (Migration Agents Code of Conduct) Regulations 2021 (Cth) s 10. | Migration (Migration Agents Code of Conduct) Regulations 2021 (Cth) |
| Regulation | 29Migration Regulations 1994 (Cth) reg 5.01. | Migration Regulations 1994 (Cth) |
| Act | 30Migration Act 1958 (Cth) s 5C. | Migration Act 1958 (Cth) |
| Direction | 31 Minister for Immigration, Citizenship, Migrant Services and Multicultural Affairs (Cth), Direction No 90: VIsa Refusal and Cancellation under Section 501 and Revocation of a Mandatory Cancellation of a Visa under Section 501CA (15 April 2021) para 9.4.1. | Minister for Immigration, Citizenship, Migrant Services and Multicultural Affairs (Cth), Direction No 90: VIsa Refusal and Cancellation under Section 501 and Revocation of a Mandatory Cancellation of a Visa under Section 501CA (15 April 2021) |
EndNote is a bibliographic management software application that allows you to create a personalised database of references. References can be entered manually, or imported from sources such as the Library journals and databases, or Google Scholar. It is of most use for large pieces of work such as essays longer than 5,000 words.
The good news:
The bad news:
