Library Guides: Bachelor of Laws: Legal Writing & Drafting

Plain english is straightforward, concise language that is appropriate for the intended audience. This usually involves avoiding complex or verbose language, obscure terms, and jargon. It may also involve simplifying the structure and syntax of a document or communication to make it more accessible to its audience. Also known as 'plain language'.
(Encyclopaedic Australian Legal Dictionary, 2016)

Ask a law librarian any questions that you have about legal research or AGLC4 referencing.

Zoom meetings are available Monday - Friday between 8am and 4pm, by appointment. Email the law librarians to book an appointment. Please state your preferred time/day.

murray.greenway@vu.edu.au

debra.hutchinson@vu.edu.au

Send an email now

A law librarian will reply with a confirmation of your appointment and a link to the Zoom meeting.

Legal Writing - Templates and Guides for Letters and Memorandums

Clear and Precise: Writing Skills for Today's Lawyer Scope Information (includes templates for letters, memoranda etc.)
Many students begin a law course believing "real" lawyers write in legalese. Clear and precise Writing Skills for Today's Lawyer, encourages law students and lawyers to use plain English techniques in the language, structure, content, style, and presentation of their writing.
This publication contains much helpful info and some templates.
Students might find the Examples of Legal Writing (it has some templates), and Document Presentation sections helpful.
How to Structure Your Letter of Advice
Archived version of a guide by the Law Institute of Victoria

Legal Writing by BarCharts, Inc.
ISBN: 9781423234777
Publication Date: 2017
6-page guide includes: Essentials of a Legal Memorandum, Creating the Heading, Explaining the Facts, Drafting the Question, Drafting the Brief Answer Section, Drafting the Discussion Section, Drafting the Conclusion Section, More Complex Organization Plans, Best Practices for Editing & Revising, Types of Legal Logic, Plain English Translation Table.
Effective Legal Writing : A Practical Guide by Nicola Corbett-Jarvis and Brendan Grigg
ISBN: 9780409351484
Publication Date: 2020
Students may find chapter 5 on academic legal writing and chapter 6 on profession-orientated writing helpful.
Chapter 6 contains guidance on the content and layout of letters of advice, memorandums, and written submissions.

Finding Precedents

Australian Encyclopaedia of Forms & Precedents

The Australian Encyclopaedia of Forms & Precedents is a comprehensive source of forms and precedents. This reference work comprises over 6,000 non-litigious legal forms and precedent documents in over 60 legal subject areas, covering all Australian jurisdictions.

Drafting Techniques Chapter
This guide was adapted from the title “Drafting Techniques” by Ros McDonald. This version was edited in line with the principles in Neil James, Writing at Work: How to Write Clearly, Effectively and Professionally (Allen and Unwin, 2007).
Plain English Drafting Guide
Introduction; Planning your content; Structuring effectively; Using clear, concise language; Drafting for consistency; Finalising your text

Lawyers Practice Manual - Victoria

The Lawyers Practice Manual Victoria is a narrative guide to the practice and procedure of law in Victoria.
The manual includes step-by-step guidance with an overview of the law relevant to each distinct area of practice that is covered. The manual is narrative in style, and is designed so that each chapter covers a separate legal task.

The manual contains practical hints, precedents, letters and standard forms.

Interviewing and letter writing
How to take complete instructions; Working with interpreters; Indigenous clients; Writing letters; Letters for specific situations

Legal Writing & Drafting Resources

Australian Encyclopaedia of Forms & Precedents - Lesis+
Contains over 4,000 legal forms and precedents covering 93 areas of law. Precedents are drafted in plain English, by experienced practitioners. Introductory notes explain the purpose of individual forms, precedents and clauses, and indicate where and when each should be used.
Forms and Precedents Finder - Westlaw Australia
An extensive collection of forms and precedents. Search by keyword or browse by subject.
Court Forms, Precedents and Pleadings, Victoria - Lexis +
Designed to guide practitioners through the process of preparing and filing of documents in the Victorian court system – from the Magistrates Court to the County Court and the Supreme Court. The forms, precedents and pleadings are accompanied by expert commentary.
Lawyers Practice Manual - Westlaw Australia
A procedural guide which deals with the everyday questions of legal practice and procedure.
Ross on Crime (Legal Writing) - Westlaw Australia
Practical advice on style and grammar.
Australian Contract Law - Precedents - CCH
Contains a large range of precedents.
Australian Contract Law - Drafting tips - CCH

eBooks

Journals in Print and Online

AGIS (Attorney Generals Information Service) - is the leading legal journals database in Australia. Use AGIS to search hundreds of journals for articles about Legal Writing & Drafting.

If you wish to browse, then the journals below may be useful places to start.

Library Guides

Bachelor of Laws: Legal Writing & Drafting

Legal Writing - Templates and Guides for Letters and Memorandums

Finding Precedents

Australian Encyclopaedia of Forms & Precedents

Lawyers Practice Manual - Victoria

Legal Writing & Drafting Resources

eBooks

Foundations of Australian Law and Legal Writing (2022)

Legal Usage: A Modern Style Guide (2018)

Clear and precise : writing skills for today's lawyer (2010)

Plain language for lawyers (2010)

Modern Legal Drafting (2013)

Laying Down the Law

A Guide to Writing in Law School

Journals in Print and Online

Related Subjects in VU Catalogue