Library Guides: Bachelor of Laws: Intellectual Property

Exclusive rights to the results of creative and intellectual effort, protected by common law or statute in areas such as copyright, design, patent, circuit layouts, plant varieties, confidential information, trade mark and business reputation (passing off and trade practices). Intellectual property comprises industrial property (patent, design and trade mark) and artistic property (copyright).
(Encyclopaedic Australian Legal Dictionary, 2016)

On this Page

Ask a law librarian any questions that you have about legal research or AGLC4 referencing.

Zoom meetings are available Monday - Friday between 8am and 4pm, by appointment. Email the law librarians to book an appointment. Please state your preferred time/day.

murray.greenway@vu.edu.au

debra.hutchinson@vu.edu.au

Send an email now

A law librarian will reply with a confirmation of your appointment and a link to the Zoom meeting.

eBooks

Intellectual property in Australia

(2022)

Intellectual property : commentary and materials

(2017)

Intellectual Property Cases, Materials and Commentary

(2020)

Australian Intellectual Property Law

(2020)

Annotated Legislation

Annotated Legislation provides the text of the legislation and commentary or explanatory text about each provision.

Laws of Australia - Legal Encyclopaedia

Copyright
Introduction; Protected Subject Matter: Works; Protected Subject Matter: Subject Matter Other than Works; Duration of Copyright; Requirements for Subsistence of Copyright: Connecting Factors; Rights of Owner of Copyright and Infringement of Those Rights; Defences to Infringement and Permitted Uses; Remedies for Infringement and Other Breaches; Ownership and Exploitation of Copyright; Statutory Licences; Collective Administration of Rights; Copyright Tribunal; Protection of Performers; International Copyright Protection
Designs
Introduction; Requirements for Registration; Registration; Ownership and Exploitation of Designs; Infringement of Rights of Registered Owner in Registered Design; Designs/Copyright Overlap; Offences and Penalties; International Conventions
Circuit Layouts
Introduction; Eligible Layouts; Infringement of Eligible Layout (EL) Rights; Defences to Infringement of Eligible Layout (EL) Rights; Procedure and Remedies for Infringement; Overlap with Other Intellectual Property and Competition and Consumer Legislation
Patents
Introduction; Requirements for Valid Patent; Ownership of Patents; Process for Obtaining and Maintaining Patent; Interpretation of Patent Specifications; Infringement of Patentee's Exclusive Rights; Exploitation of Patent Rights; International Agreements on Patents
Plant Breeder's Rights
Introduction; Registrable Plant Varieties; Application for Plant Breeder's Rights; Application of Plant Breeder's Rights; Plant Breeder's Rights and Other Intellectual Property Rights
Confidential Information
Introduction; Elements of Modern Action; Defences and Exceptions; Procedure and Remedies; Related Actions
Passing Off & Related Torts
Introduction; Goodwill and Reputation; Defendant's Conduct; Damage; Proof of Passing Off and Defences; Remedies; Misleading or Deceptive Conduct; Related Actions
Trade Marks
Introduction; Sources of Protection of Trade Marks; Definition of Trade Mark; Register and Process of Registration; Requirements for and Restrictions on Registration; Rectification of Register; Infringement and Enforcement of Rights; Assignments, Licensing and Recordal of Interests; International Conventions and Treaties; Transition from Trade Marks Act 1955 (Cth)

Halsbury's Laws of Australia - Legal Encyclopaedia

Intellectual Property Law Resources on CCH Intelliconnect

CCH is a legal publisher that produces a collection of intellectual property law resources including:

Australian Intellectual Property Commentary
Provides detailed commentary on copyright, designs, patents and trade marks.
Australian Intellectual Property Legislation
Provides full text of copyright, designs, patents and trade marks legislation.
Australian Intellectual Property Cases
Full text from 1998 onwards

Journals in Print and Online

AGIS (Attorney Generals Information Service) - is the leading legal journals database in Australia. Use AGIS to search hundreds of journals for articles about Intellectual Property Law.

If you wish to browse, then the journals below may be useful places to start.

Related Subjects in VU Catalogue

Intellectual Property Law Web Sites

IP Australia
IP Australia is the Australian Government agency that administers intellectual property (IP) rights and legislation relating to patents, trade marks, designs and plant breeder's rights.
Intellectual Property Research Institute of Australia
IPRIA was established as an initiative of IP Australia to: support & generate development of high-level public policy in relation to intellectual property issues; to optimise the protection, management and exploitation of intellectual property by all Australian stakeholders & to help create an informed environment for, & contribute to, on-going public debate in Australia about intellectual property issues.
Australasian Intellectual Property Law Library - AustLII
Includes databases of Australasian Intellectual Property law available on AustLII