VU Special Collections - How to access and use: Regional Archive

Regional archive

History of the Regional Archive:
The VU Library Regional Archive preserves the records of individuals or organisations from the Western Region of Melbourne. The Library does not hold or collect Student Records or any historical material relating to Victoria University or its predecessor institutions. This material is held by VU Archives.The records and items in the Regional Archive are acquired by donation.

 

The Library Regional Archive

 

Neville Hill

Link to box list on VU catalogue

"Neville Hill was a union organiser with the Amalgamated Engineering Union (AEU) and its successor metal industry unions, a trade union trainer, a pacifist and community activist. The son of Percy Hill, a pioneer of the Sheet Metal Workers’ Union, Neville Hill became a union organiser with the AEU in 1960, following 20 years of shop floor activism as a blacksmith at the Newport Railway Workshops. Hill was widely respected as a skilled negotiator, and a “union official committed to the rank and file.” (Hill p. 293). As a union organiser at the Altona Petrochemical Complex from 1962 to 1982, Hill was a key figure in the campaign for the 35 hour week. After months of struggle, including prolonged lockouts and strikes at Union Carbide and BF Goodrich, a 35 hour week 9 day fortnight started from 1 August 1981. The Union Carbide “sit in” strike was the longest factory occupation in Australian history. This successful campaign led to the 35 hour week spreading throughout other industries. Hill went on to work with the Trade Union Training Authority (TUTA) from 1983-1991, as a guest presenter and resource person for TUTA training courses run for trade union officials and shop stewards at the Clyde Cameron College, Albury Wodonga. Bringing his long industrial relations experience to TUTA, Hill “played a very positive role in courses…and was also a great conduit to a wide range of union officials such that much greater use was made of the College.” (Series 15/2) Neville Hill died on 13 March 1992 aged 76. " - box list

These papers have sixteen series: 1. Neville Hill's daily notebooks and organiser's notebooks -- 2. Neville Hill organiser's documents c.1960s-1980s -- 3. Altona Petrochemical Complex Shorter Hours (35 Hour Week) Campaign, incl. Union Carbide Sit In, Goodrich dispute -- 4. Altona Petrochemical complex, post 1981 -- 5. TUTA course kits -- 6-13 Neville Hill subject/research files -- 14. Neville Hill and Hill family -- 15. Nevllle Hill biographical information -- 16. Artefacts.

Union of Australian Women

Link to box list on VU catalogue

The Union of Australian Women was established in 1950 with its stated aims being to advance the status of women as citizens, workers and mothers, to improve the life of women and their families and the well-being of children in a world free from war. The UAW is a non-party political organisation open to all women who agree with its aims and program and takes up issues of concern to women in an active military way ranging from discussions, letter writing through to demonstrations. The UAW has worked closely with the trade union movement and has been involved in many campaigns around issues including peace, price control, women's health and equal pay.

Kensington Community Archival Papers

(Listing of archive boxes not currently available.)

Link to catalogue

  • Four archive boxes
  • Includes interviews, written histories and tapes documenting the community groups active in Kensington from 1975-1995.

Kensington History of Community Organisations Project documents and videos 1975-1995. The material was donated in 1996 by Lesley Hoatson.

Macauly Community Enterprise Network Co-operative Archival Papers

(Listing of archive boxes not currently available.)

Link to catalogue

  • Seven archive boxes 
  • Includes minutes, reports, financial records and publications of the Co-operative

Griffiths Papers

Griffiths Papers: [Campaign for a University for the Western Region] 1985-89

(Listing of archive boxes not currently available.)

Description: Correspondence files, subject files, media clippings, publications relating to Alan Griffith's campaign to establish Victoria University of Technology as a University for the Western Region of Melbourne.

Alan Griffiths was Member for Maribynong from 1983 to March 1996. He was Minister for Resources 1990 to March 1993; Minister for Tourism December 1991 to March 1993; Minister for Industry, Technology and Regional Development from March 1993 until his  resignation from the Ministry on 22 January 1995. While a backbencher, Griffiths campaigned for the establishment of VUT, including preparing a joint submission, with Ian Baker, to the Commonwealth and Victorian Ministers for Education Joint Federal-State Working party on Higher Education in the Western Suburbs [1989].

WESTDOC

WESTDOC documents: numbers 14 - 1525 (some missing) The seven volumes of the WESTDOC index have been digitised.

Western Region Centre for Working Women (WRCWW)

(Listing of archive boxes not currently available.)

"The Western Region Centre for Working Women was established in 1976, and has worked with women workers in manufacturing industries on areas such as health and safety, union education and identification of priority issues for women workers. The aim of the Centre's work is to develop an overview of the situation of women workers, to identify priority issues, and work intensively with women workers to investigate and take up those issues. The Centre has also developed a process of contact, communication and organization at the workplace and in the community ... The Centre has encouraged women to exercise their rights as workers ... and has worked towards the active participation of migrant women in their unions ... " (Source: "Health and safety: women workers on the shop-floor speak out!" 1988).