Exhibition at Footscray Park campus library - on until 28 February 2020
In 2019 the collections have been used by:
Some of this material is on display in the cabinets at the Footscray Park campus library. The material includes monographs, serials and pamphlets from many of the Collections listed above.
The cabinet next to the Library Service Desk displays material used by those researching on topics or areas of interest. Link to the full list of items:
These items include:
|
|
|
The cabinet in the Learning Hub displays works where additional material has been added such as newspaper clippings, or written on the item itself. There are notes in the margins of books and on the front and back covers, some for research as well as dedications.
These items include:
 |
 |
The cabinet close to the IT Kiosk displays a range of individual items requested by researchers. This cabinet also displays information on how to access and use material in the Special Collections, a photo montage of ‘Year in the life of VU Special Collections”.
These items include:
 |
 |
The cabinet near the lift displays a range of individual items requested by researchers and other institutions.
These items include:
|
|
|
Exhibition at Footscray Park campus library - on until 30 September 2019
The cabinet next to the Service Desk contains signed copies of poetry, plays, pamphlets and propaganda, and examples of interesting additions (Ephemera) which were slipped inside items and never meant to be kept. Link to the full list of items:
These items include:
|
|
|
The cabinet in the Learning Hub displays works where additional material has been added such as newspaper clippings, or written on the item itself. There are notes in the margins of books and on the front and back covers, some for research as well as dedications.
These items include:
 |
 |
The display cabinet close to IT kiosk highlights some of the issues which need to be addressed when maintaining Special Collections and archives. Staff who work in any Special Collections or Archive area need to be aware of the many preservation aspects which can affect the material. Issues include:
The cabinet highlights workbooks from the Neville Hill Archive which have rusty binding material that needs to be removed.
 |
 |
The cabinet near the lift displays items from the collections which are not in print format.
These items which have been donated, usually as part of a larger body of material, to VU Special Collections. Consideration needs to be given to format transition both to preserve the content itself but also to ensure that it remains accessible to researchers.
Items in this display include:
 |
 |
 |
 |
To acknowledge International Day for the Elimination of Racial Discrimination on 21 March, 2019 materials from all areas of the Special Collections were on display at Footscray Park campus library to showcase how ‘Race’ and ‘Racial Discrimination’ are part of conversations about various topics, affecting various groups, including:
Link to the event information: Special Display for Race and Racial Discrimination
 |
 |
To mark International Women’s Day (IWD) on 8 March, VU Library organised a special display inspired by IWD 2019 theme: Better the balance, better the world. Materials from the Union of Australian Women archive and the Ruth & Maurie Crow Collection will be on display to highlight collective efforts to improve the life of women and their families in Australia.
Link to the event information: Special Display for International Women’s Day
 |
 |
 |
 |
