Library Guides
- Library
- Library Guides
- VU Special Collections - How to access and use
- People, Place & Culture
Please note: First Nations peoples are advised these collections may contain images, voices and names of people who have passed, or be considered insensitive, inappropriate, or outdated. The item/s reflects the attitude of the author/s or the period in which it was written and does not represent the views of the Library.
On this page:
This archival material follows the research and correspondence relating to the publication of the book. Also included are manuscript versions and material on intellectual property. The introduction to the book includes: “In producing this edition, Muecke and Shoemaker have at last righted the injustices done to David Unaipon by the brazen appropriation of his stories and by the patronising editorial changes effected by Ramsay Smith. The stories are accompanied by a substantial Introduction, which gives the historical and cultural context of Unaipon's work, and recounts the complex sequence of events that led to the theft of his book.”
View David Unaipon: Towards publication of "Legendary Tales of the Australian Aborigines (2001)".
Alan Parker founded the Bicycle Institute of Victoria (Bicycle Victoria) with other cyclists in the mid-1970s and was involved in various groups such as the Town and Country Planning Association of Victoria and the Bicycle Federation of Australia. He collected material on activities undertaken including working papers, local planning documents and correspondence regarding bicycle paths and infrastructure in the west of Melbourne.
Links to further information about the work or Alan Parker:
Chain Reaction is the magazine published by Friends of the Earth which had its early life in Melbourne. This collection charts story development to publication including submissions, photographs, and graphics. Correspondence, letters and minutes provide insight into the publication and decision-making processes. The publication is still available today and can be sourced from the Friends of the Earth Australia website including a section on the history of the publication.
Please note: First Nations peoples are advised these collections may contain images, voices and names of people who have passed, or be considered insensitive, inappropriate, or outdated. The item/s reflects the attitude of the author/s or the period in which it was written and does not represent the views of the Library.
| Campaigns | Background Information |
| Barmah-Millewa campaign | This campaign brought together environmentalists and representatives from indigenous communities to save what is now known as the Barmah-Millewa Forest which is a significant large river red gum forest. The Barmah-Millewa campaign as noted in the publication 30 Years of Creative Resistance (p. 63) were: ”1. To achieve a joint management system over Barmah-Millewa as a means to achieving control over land that has been denied the Yorta Yorta through the courts; 2. To sustainably manage the whole forest (both sides of the Murray/Dhungalla) for the protection and conservation of its ecological and cultural values; and 3. To gain real and diverse employment opportunities for the Yorta Yorta people.” |
| Energy campaigns | This material relates to campaigns against the Newport power station, and the Alcoa aluminium smelter at Portland. It includes research into both campaigns, correspondence, and a number of S.E.C reports from the early 1980s. |
| Streets for People campaign | The Streets for People campaign was one of many projects organised through Friends of the Earth Melbourne. To quote from the publication 30 Years of Creative Resistance (p. 58), “In 1999, Streets for People was established as a new transport campaign at FoEM focussing on proactive, positive and creative action.” |
| Transport campaigns | Several specific transport campaigns developed in association with the Streets for People campaign. This individual collection relates to campaigns on lead free petrol, sustainable transport, and a 1985 bike ride known as ‘Critical Mass’. Transport submissions and reports are also included in the material. |
| FoE Publication Material | This material is a collection of material Friends of the Earth (FoE) has published or have received for campaigns the organization is involve in. |
| FOE Anti-Nuclear | Material contains in this include press releases, assorted leaflets, stickers and letters to politicians for the following campaigns: - Nuclear warships in Victorian ports. - PND * [Musicians Against Nuclear Energy M.A.N.E.] - AFP - B.A.S.F. Australian leaflets Uranium Campaign Archives - Jabiluka - Western Shoshone. |
| (Campaign [Coalition] Against Freeway Extension) CAFE Transport | Material contained in these archives boxes relates to Publications from Governments, Organizations and Societies (including Research Papers, Report and Consultation Papers) collected by Friends of the Earth (FoE). Material collected for the Campaign [Coalition] Against Freeway Extension) CAFÉ campaign, including rally against F19, City Link and Upfield freeway upgrades. |
| FOE Trade Campaigns | Material contained in these archives boxes relates to Publications from Governments, Organizations and Societies (including Research Papers, Report and Consultation Papers) collected by Friends of the Earth (FoE). Material also contains newsletters, newspaper article clippings, Press Releases, Public Speeches for the S11 and World Economic Forum (11-13 September) held at Crown Casino Melbourne in 2000. Material also contains in relation to the campaign against the Multilateral Agreement on Investment (MAI) forum held in September 1999. |
| ACE Anti-Nuclear |
Material contained in this archive box relates to Publications from Governments, Organizations and Societies (including Research Papers, Report and Consultation Papers) collected by Friends of the Earth (FoE). Material contained in this include resources against uranium, the movement against Uranium Mining (MAUM), publications and newspaper articles on Uranium |
| FOE Food Justice GMOs | Material contained in these archives boxes relates to Publications from Governments, Organizations and Societies (including Research Papers, Report and Consultation Papers) collected by Friends of the Earth (FoE). Material contained in this include press releases, assorted leaflets, stickers, and letters to politicians, Food Justice Constitution, and minutes for Food Justice/GMF (Genetically Modified Foods). |
| FOE Recycling Container Collective |
Material contain in these archives boxes relates to Publications from Governments, Organizations and Societies (including Research Papers, Reports and Consultation Papers) collected by Friends ofthe Ear th (FoE).Material contains in this include press releases, assorted leaflets, stickers, newspaper clippers, and letters to/from politicians and unions, and material published by Friends of the Earth (FoE) for the following campaigns: - Recycling Action Campaign - Environment Defenders - Milk Bottles Campaign and other Bottles Campaign - BHP / COLA [Recycling] Campaign (1970s) - Glass and Bottle Legislation Campaigns |
| FOE At Ease! Aust. Military | Material contain in these archives boxes relates to Publications from Governments, Organizations and Societies (including Research Papers, Reports and Consultation Papers) collected by Friends of the Earth (FoE). Material contains in this include press releases, assorted leaflets, newspaper clippers, newsletters, and publications for the military publication - At Ease! |
| Shell AIDEX Anti-Multiterm | Material contain in these archives boxes relates to Publications from Governments, Organizations and Societies (including Research Papers, Reports and Consultation Papers) collected by Friends of the Earth (FoE). Material contains in this include press releases, assorted leaflets, newspaper clippers, newsletters, and publications on Shell Aidex Anti-Militarism campaign, and information on Shells involvement in Nigeria and tragedy involving Ken Saro Wiwa and 8 Ogoni People. |
| FOE Anti-Globalization WTO Trade | Material contain in these archives boxes relates to Publications from Governments, Organizations and Societies (including Research Papers, Report and Consultation Papers) collected by Friends of the Earth (FoE). Material contains in this include press releases, assorted leaflets, stickers, meeting minutes, publications, reports, newsletters, updates on WTO activities, and letters to politicians on the Anti-Globalization WTO trade campaign |
| FOE Bioregionalism Water Catchments & Forests |
Material contained in these archives boxes relates to Publications, Organizations and Societies (including Research Papers, Report and Consultation Papers) collected by Friends of the Earth (FoE). Material contains in this include press releases, assorted leaflets, stickers, meeting minutes, publications, reports, newsletters, and letters to politicians on some of the following Corporations, Programs and Campaigns:
|