Library Guides
- Library
- Library Guides
- VU Special Collections - How to access and use
- PNG & Pacific Collection (2020)
The PNG and the Pacific collection aims to provide materials for researchers in the Asian and Pacific studies area. It is a historic collection, initially from the 1960s, and then expanded to include material from Pacific regions. In this collection there is material preferencing colonial-settler voices, rather than those of Indigenous experts and holders of cultural knowledge. Some of these books raise questions regarding how we hold such items in a way that is culturally respectful and sensitive to the people of Papua New Guinea and the Pacific
The Collection's strengths are: economics, development and trade, statistical data, governance and administration, language and linguistics, education, culture, society and history.
Themes explored this month are Language and Culture, Regional history, Social Structures, Community and Economic development, and Physical spaces and Places.
Links to information about this collection:
Author: Percy Chatterton
Publisher: Pacific Publications
Date: 1975
Author: Russell Soaba
Publisher: Three Continents Press
Date: 1985
A 1995 thesis titled ‘The work of Russell Soaba’ by Maretta Kula Semos provides an analysis of his work which includes Maiba as well as poetry and short stories.
Author: Ralph N. H. Bulmer
Publisher: University of Papua and New Guinea
Date: 1979
Author: Tom Dutton
Publisher: Australian National University
Date: 1985
The author of this book is also the editor of this 1985 paper Handbook of Tok Pisin (New Guinea pidgin), Languages For Intercultural Communication In The Pacific Area Project of The Australian Academy of The Humanities, Publication No. 1
The ANU Asia-Pacific Linguistics / Pacific Linguistics Press at Australian National University has a large collection of material including Australian Languages which can be explored.
Author: Gilbert Lewis
Publisher: Cambridge University Press
Date: 1980
Author: Ganga Powell (ed)
Publisher: Macmillan
Date: 1987
The 1990 article ‘Papua New Guinean Writing Today: The Growth of a Literary Culture’ by Steven Edmund Winduo (VU access credentials required) explores PNG literature as a “form of cultural expression and identity”. Written in title is described as one of several anthologies written in this time. A similar anthology available at VU is Voices of independence: new black writing from Papua New Guinea / edited by Ulli Beier .
Author: A. Capell
Publisher: Sydney University Press
Date: 1969
Author: Darrell T. Tryon
Publisher: Australian National University
Date: 1987
Author: Robin Anderson, Jennifer Allen
Publisher: Oxford University Press
Date: 1979
Here is the story being read in traditional language from a different publication (Librairie Papyrus, an independent bookstore in Mauritius)
Author: A.H. Schütz
Publisher: Pacific Publications
Date: 1977
Author: Donald E. McGregor
Publisher: Melanesian Institute
Date: 1982
Author: Dennis Haskell, Ron Shapiro (eds.)
Publisher: University of Western Australia Press
Date: 2000
Author: F. Mihalic
Publisher: Jacaranda Press
Date: 1975
Some languages can be fluid in nature including Melanesian Pidgin, or Tok Pisin in Papua New Guinea. While this text may be a worthwhile reference there are also independent websites which provide translation resources including:
Author: David Robie
Publisher: Pluto Press Australia
Date: c1989
Author: Kim Gravelle
Publisher: The Fiji Times and Herald
Date: 1979
Author: Glen Barclay
Publisher: Sidgwick & Jackson
Date: 1978
Author & Publisher: University of the South Pacific
Date: 1993
The University of the South Pacific operates over several Pacific countries including the Cook Islands, Fiji, Kiribati, Marshall Islands, Nauru, Niue, Samoa, Solomon Islands, Tokelau, Tonga, Tuvalu and Vanuatu. Read about their teaching and research program on their website .
Author: Pacific History Association
Publisher: University of Guam Press & Micronesian Area Research Center
Date: c1992
Author: Osmar White
Publisher: Heinemann
Date: 1965
White, Osmar Egmont (1909–1991) is listed in the Australian Dictionary of Biography.
The Papers of Omar White are located at the National Library of Australia and there is a mention of “Correspondence, contracts etc. relating to the publication 'Parliament of a thousand tribes', 1965-1973”
Author: Edward P. Wolfers
Publisher: Australia and New Zealand Book Co
Date: 1975
Author: Sir A. Grenfell Price
Publisher: Angus and Robertson
Date: 1965
Author: Malama Meleisea
Publisher: Institute of Pacific Studies of the University of the South Pacific
Date: 1987
This text is used in several articles including (VU authenication required):
* Regulating Custom: Land, Law and Central Judiciary in Samoa
* Resistance and Colonial Government: A Comparative Study of Samoa
* Beyond Governance in Sāmoa: Understanding Samoan Political Thought
Author: Shirley Fenton Huie
Publisher: Angus & Robertson
Date: 1990
Author: Gabriele Stürzenhofecker
Publisher: Stanford University Press
Date: 1998
Author: James Sinclair
Publisher: Robert Brown & Associates
Date: 1983
Author: Margaret Mead
Publisher: Morrow
Date: 1928
This text is available to be read on the Internet Archive, a "a non-profit library of millions of free books, movies, software, music, websites, and more."
The author is the subject of this exhibition, Margaret Mead: Human Nature and the Power of Culture at the Library of Congress.
Author: Gilbert Herdt
Publisher: University of Chicago Press
Date: 1999
Author: Roy A. Rappaport
Publisher: Yale University Press
Date: 1984
Read the transcript of the conversation Striving for Unity: A Conversation with Roy Rappaport, from Retrospectives: Works and Lives of Michigan Anthropologists.
Author: R.R. Nayacakalou
Publisher: South Pacific Social Sciences Association
Date: 1978
Link through to information regarding live in Fijian Village:
* Weaving the Community: An Ethnography of a Fijian Village
* Village Life in Savusavu, Fiji
* Rural Village Life – Stepping Back in Time
Author: World Health Organization. Regional office for the Western Pacific
Publisher: WHO/ROWP
Date: 1995
Author: Noeleen Heyzer
Publisher: Open University Press
Date: 1986
Author: Paula Brown
Publisher: Cambridge University Press
Date: 1978
Author Paula Brown spent much of her career in the PNG Highlands with the Chimbu peoples.
This 1976 ANU report Chimbu: issues in development is one of the many reports published by the Pacific Institute: ANU College of Asia & the Pacific.
Author: Maev O'Collins
Publisher: Australian National University
Date: 1993
Author: Cyndi Banks
Publisher: Australian Institute of Criminology
Date: 1993
Author: Maurice Godelier
Publisher: Cambridge University Press
Date: 1986
Author: Jennie Clarke
Publisher: World Student Christian Federation, Asia/Pacific Region
Date: 1986
Author: C.D. Rowley
Publisher: Cheshire
Date: 1965
Author: Andrew Arno
Publisher: Ablex Publishing
DAte: 1993
Author: Elizabeth Durack
Publisher: Ure Smith
Date: 1970
Author: Andrew Mickleburgh
Publisher: Pearson Education Australia
Date: 1992
Author: Timothy P. Bayliss-Smith and Richard G. Feachem
Publisher: Academic Press
Date: 1977
Author: S. Rowton Simpson
Publisher: Australian National University
Date: 1971
Author: Waigani Seminar
Publisher: Research School of Pacific Studies, ANU & the University of Papua and New Guinea
Date: 1972
Author: Dianna Howlett
Publisher: Australian National University
Date: 1976
Author: Isagani R. Serrano
Publisher: CIVICUS
Date: 1994
Author: Margaret Critchlow Rodman
Publisher: Westview Press
Date: 1989
Author: University of the South Pacific
Publisher: Institute of Pacific Studies
Date: 1984
Author: P. R. Hale and B.D. Williams
Publisher: Melanesian Council of Churches
Date: 1976
Author: Waigani Semiar (19th: 1991 Port Moresby, Papua New Guinea)
Publisher: University of Papua New Guinea Press
Date: 1993
Editor: G. Hickey
Publisher: Australian Centre for International Agricultural Research
Date:2013
Author; Anthony Van Fossen
Publisher: Foundation for Development Cooperation
Date: c2005
Editor: E.K. Frisk
Publisher: Australian National University Press
Date: 1966
Author: Colin McEvedy
Publisher: Penguin
Date: 1998
Author: Christina Dodwell
Publisher: Pan Books
Date: 1985
Author: National Census Project
Date: 1981
Authors: R.J. Hnatiuk, J.M.B. Smith and D.N. McVean
Publisher: Australian National University
Date: 1976
Author: June Macpherson
Publisher: Ure Smith
Date: 1971
Author: Alan Lucas
Publisher: Horwitz
Date: 1980
Author: Division of National Mapping
Publisher: Department of National Development
Date: 1962
Publisher: Pacific Publications
Date: 1980
Editors: Richard A. Carpenter and James E. Maragos
Publisher: The Institute
Date: 1989
Author: Alan Ward
Publisher: Australian National University
Date: 1982
Authors: Richard Edmunds and Nigel Hughes
Publisher: Green Press
Date: 1991
Author: Army Map Service, Corps of Engineers, U.S. Army
Publisher: Royal Australian Survey Corps
Date: 1966
Author: D. Lamb
Publisher: Parthenon Publishing Group
Date: 1990
Authors: Robert Thistlethwaite, David Sheppard & Netatua Prescott
Publisher: South Pacific Regional Environment Programme
Date: 1993
Author: South Pacific Regional Environment Programme
Publisher: SPREP
Date: 2005
Author: South Pacific Regional Environment Programme
Publisher: SPREP
Date: 2005