VU Special Collections - How to access and use: Timor-Leste

Victoria University & Timor-Leste

Timor-Leste conference proceedings documents the biennial conference hosted by Victoria University in co-operation with the National University of Timor Loro Sa’e (UNTL).

The VU Timore-Leste Strategy outlines the University's current commitment.

Timor-Leste in the VU Libraries

Victoria University Library has significant holdings of books from or about Timor-Leste available in the main lending collection as well as the Special Collections. There are also online journals and electronic books (available to students and staff of Victoria University).

Timor-Leste is also well represented in the VU Research Repository.

Australia-East Timor Association

Read about the AETA Archive transfer to Victoria University on the AETAMEL Facebook page (10 August 2022 post).

Timor-Leste Collection [video]

Timor-Leste: History of the collection

To support the VU Timor-Leste Strategy the Library formed the Timor-Leste Collection, beginning with an initial donation from the Oxfam Australia Library in March 2012, and is intended to chart the development of Timor-Leste as an independent nation. The Timor-Leste Collection has been augmented through the transfer of rare and research quality items from the Footscray Park main collection.

The Timor-Leste Collection will continue to be added to by donations from personal and organisational collections. Of particular significance is the donation of Dr. Helen Hill's research collection on Timor-Leste.

In collaboration with CHART (Clearing House for Archival Records on Timor), a digitisation project was completed to make available online the journals Tapol and Timor Link.

Timorese voices in the collection

Cover image: Funu: The unfinished saga of East Timor

Funu: the unfinished saga of East Timor

by Jose Ramos-Horta; preface by Noam Chomsky

Cover image: The political economy of East Timor development

The political economy of East Timor development

by Joao Mariano de Sousa Saldanha

Cover image: 	To resist is to win!: The autobiography of Xanana Gusmao with selected letters & speeches

To resist is to win!: The autobiography of Xanana Gusmao with selected letters & speeches

edited by Sarah Niner, principal translators Jose Luis Perestrelo Botelheiro, Ana Norunha, TAV Project coordinator Palmira Pines

Cover image: 	The road to freedom : a collection of speeches, pastoral letters, and articles from 1997-2001

The road to freedom: a collection of speeches, pastoral letters, and articles from 1997-2001

by Carlos Filipe

Cover image: Timor lives!: speeches of freedom and independence

Timor lives!: speeches of freedom and independence

[ by Xanana Gusmão]

AETA (Australia-East Timor Association) Archive

AETA Archive (Link to box list on VU catalogue coming soon)

This 2022 donation sits within the Timor-Leste Collection

There are seventy seven (77) boxes and a selection of posters. This material was donated by the Australia-East Timor Association (AETA) which was established in 1975, following occupation of East Timor by Indonesia. The archive collection includes AETA material including the organisation itself, their activities and actions, and correspondence. There is also non-AETA material relating to other organisatations and activists. 

"The Australia-East Timor Association (AETA) was established in 1975, following occupation of East Timor by Indonesia, as an information, solidarity and networking organisation to support the struggle for independence of East Timor. East Timor achieved independence in 2002 after 24 years of occupation following a UN-supervised referendum in 1999."(AETA 2021 Annual Report)

The collection is sectioned into AETA and non-AETA material and organised into series:

  • AETA - ACET (Australian Coalition for East Timor
  • AETA - Actions
  • AETA - Admin - Finance 
  • AETA - Admin - Members 
  • AETA - Admin - Misc
  • AETA - Correspondence
  • AETA - Minutes/Meetings
  • AETA - Publications
  • AETA - Realia
  • Non-AETA - Activists - Australia
  • Non-AETA - Activists - International
  • Non-AETA - Articles, Backgrounders
  • Non-AETA - East Timorese
  • Non-AETA - Governments - Australia
  • Non-AETA - Governments - International 
  • Non-AETA - Media - Australia
  • Non-AETA - Media - International
  • Non-AETA - NGOs Australia
  • Non-AETA - Parties, Parliaments Aust and International
  • Non-AETA - Solidarity Groups (Australia)